We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good accomodations and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Ranked #53 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Culver City, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good accomodations and location”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Well maintained rooms in an old school hotel. Centrally located in downtown Los Angeles which made it very convenient to visit Santee Alley and the Jewelry District as well as attend concerts in Fremont Park and California Square. Lot's of very good restaurants in the area. The staff were very friendly and efficient. I prefer the Hilton chain and our stay here confirmed that preference will continue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank TheDaveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    443
    201
    73
    60
See reviews for
182
340
90
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia MD
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Older smaller hotel in downtown LA. At the bottom of a large hill so don't expect a view or a grand lobby. That said, the room was well appointed and up to the level I expect from Hilton. The restaurant offed a very good breakfast selection. The bar was cozy and suitable for quiet conversation. Check in staff and valet were friendly and service oriented.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parrotheadpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Checkers for 2 weekend nights. So much to see and do in DT Los Angeles on the weekend. The staff was so helpful. We kept our car in the hotel parking and liked the convenience. You have to "open the hand" (spend a little extra) on a vacation. I enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Its a nice hotel in a great location - but thats about it, nothing special. the views were disappointing, rooms were smaller than we expected. We checked out 1 day earlier than planned. It misses the hilton touch, thats about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TusharBhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed for a Saturday night when going to ballet at Dorothy Chandler. Originally booked at $144 per night not including internet or parking ($10 and $38 per day). On morning of check in I looked at rates again on Hilton website and found that I could get same rate with those items included. I called hotel and they happily confirmed the new rate ( had to hold about 10 minutes, but manager was very apologetic). They also arranged for complimentary car service to theatre. We left a bag behind in the lobby the next morning and Melvin, the bellman called my cell within 10 minutes so we went back to pick it up after brunch. Rooms nice, on the smaller side but had a sort of corner so seemed more spacious w/more windows. Outstanding bed!

Room Tip: Ask for corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rb20165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were looking for a low key, small feel hotel feel in downtown Los Angeles to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and selected Checkers based on location and good reviews. We could not have been more pleased with our selection.

The outstanding features...excellent staff, convenient location, hidden gem on penthouse level with spa area and modern/efficient guest rooms The check in staff at the Hilton honors desk was fantastic. On our reservations, I had asked for an upgrade if possible for our anniversary. She not only wished us a wonderful anniversary and stay but upgraded us to a corner, quiet room with a nice view. She also offered us a complementary bottle of wine or champagne which we had delivery later that afternoon.

After checking in, we enjoyed the penthouse level with spa and seating area. They are hard at work to improve this area and we took a peak inside to see a nice lounge area that was being constructed. We understand from a guest that there had been a pool on the PH level but that was concreted over to make room for more seating and fire pits in the future. While this guest was disappointed, it sure seems like a better use of the space and would offer a really neat evening spot to relax and have a drink while enjoying the city lights.

Getting back to our room, we found not only the bottle of wine we had selected but a cheese and fruit plate and a Happy Anniversary card from the staff. What a nice, unexpected surprise!

We look forward to a return trip to Hilton Checkers and really appreciate the excellent service and attention provided from the entire staff but most especially the Honors Check in woman who went out of her way to ensure a special and memorable trip for us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spi-kids_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very, very disappointed. I stay at hundreds if Hiltons, this is not a Hilton. Had to drive around city block four times waiting for valet to park car (cost $38.50). Water temps in showers not controlled and scalded several family members. Broken elevators wasted over 20 mins every time you want to go up or down. Pool is gone. Diamond breakfast vouchers were worthless. Yes Hilton, you "got caught".

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnfmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checkers01, General Manager at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback. We truly hate to disappoint any guest-especially our valued rewards members. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant events that led to a negative experience during your visit. We are reviewing your comments about the parking delays, inconsistent water temperatures with the appropriate members of our team for resolution. The elevators unfortunately were responding to the initiation of a life safety device and also apologize for the delay in resolving this alarm. We hope that we can restore your confidence in us and invite you back for a much better experience. Please feel free to contact us if you have any additional concerns. We're here to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
660 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#35 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,131 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#92 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Property: Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Address: 535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#51 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing