We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in downtown LA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Ranked #55 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great hotel in downtown LA”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great hotel in downtown LA. From the arrival, you notice a great friendly service from the staff. The rooms are very large, quiet with a large marble bathroom. Definitely will stay again. Highly recommended !

Room Tip: choose a room facing the public library courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    446
    202
    74
    63
See reviews for
189
343
90
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

To begin with, downtown was not the most attractive area of Los Angeles, but the hotel itself was nice. Reception was pleasant and the doorman was helpful. My room was very small, with a tiny closet, but I felt secure (travelling alone) and the room was quiet. Bed and bedding were comfortable, the lighting fine and I appreciated the two full length mirrors. The desk was convenient and pleasant for working on the computer, although they charge $10 for internet connection. The bathroom was roomy enough and clean. My room was rather stuffy and although the weather outside was chilly, my room would not cool off. Maybe the A/C wasn't turned on, but I opened the windows and it cooled off enough to sleep. I did eat in the restaurant and used room service. I thought the prices were reasonable and service better than average. If you need to stay downtown, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for business travel for 2 nights. The hotel was pretty standard. The rooms were nice. The restaurant food was good (a bit expensive) and the location was good for work. I wasn't totally impressed with the hotel. The roof was undergoing some sort of construction. It's not in a very good location if you're here for sightseeing.

Room Tip: I would assume the higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agw7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checkers01, General Manager at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We are sorry our location did not fit your needs, as well as the construction disrupting the comfort of your stay. We hope the next time you're in the area you would consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

In a nutshell: Excellent staff (all), clean rooms, spacious bathroom and shower, excellent valet services, and loud at night with street traffic.

Not the best location in LA, to be sure, but this is a lovely old hotel. If I return I'll bring my earplugs.. street noices at night kept waking me up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirty-something72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonshire Parish, Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Immediately upon my arrival I noticed the courteous nature of the staff.

When I reached the front desk I was greeted by my last name which surprised me a bit but I quickly realized that the front desk attendant had read my name tag on my luggage as I was outside settling my taxi bill. Then as a HiltonHonors member, the computer system alerted the attendant to the fact that I prefer rooms on the lower floors and she then proceeded to tell me what was available on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors.
After I had been in my room for approximately 10mins or so I received a call from the front desk checking to see if everything was ok with the room.
The room was ok - my first thought upon entering it was that it was a little stuffy in size and decor. The bathroom was quite large and nicely decorated in marble and granite.

During my stay I found the front desk staff, the bellmen and the waiters in the hotel restuarant to be EXTREMELY attentive, pleasant and helpful.

Access to free WiFi is offered in the hotel lobby and the business center only. You can purchase WiFi for your room if you like at $10 per day. No Free WiFi in a hotel room is becoming a real pet peeve of mine. * After my last Hilton stay just 2 weeks ago in London, it was pointed out to me that Gold Hiltonhonors members receive free WiFi service in their rooms. Guess how many points one needs to become a Gold member - 75,000 or 20 hotel stays a year!! And I was told that number of points required had just been increased

* Most people spend very little time in their rooms during their hotel stays, so a price per day seems somewhat unreasonable to me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a great little hotel with a great location for business or pleasure, spic 'n span clean and great service. Some of the rooms are small, but always nice. This trip, I was placed in a two double bed room and it was very spacious. The only complaint is that the standing lamp did not work over the lounge chair. Otherwise a perfect stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MAssachusetts, USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Don't be fooled by the Hilton name - this does not have the feel of a large hotel. The staff is great, the hotel has an intimate feel and is in a very convenient location. I was in Los Angeles on business with a good-sized group. We actually stayed one night in another hotel and checked out to come to Hilton Checkers - a tremendous improvement!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanghamLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
692 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,114 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#39 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Property: Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Address: 535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing