We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Service-Convenient Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Ranked #59 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Personal Service-Convenient Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is a "boutique" hotel. It's a great little find. Rooms are comfortable and well-kept. Some rooms have a funky layout, but overall they are all functional, clean and quiet. Comfy beds and nice bathrooms - that's a MUST!

The bar is small, but really nice. I ate in the restaurant for the 1st time (have stayed there many times), and they have a wonderful breakfast. Great, fast service and the yummiest bacon I've had!

The location is great as it is only a few blocks from two different METRO rail stations - one being the main 7th Street station. Easy to hop on and get to Staples Center, USC, Hollywood or even the airport. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance also.

This is our "go to" hotel when we visit LA, and each time we visit, it is like coming home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliGeorgiaPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    393
    186
    62
    52
See reviews for
159
296
78
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Awful service!!! Drove around the parking lot trying to find the parking.....front desk staff was rude!!!! Rooms are terrible!!! Would never stay here again!!!

Over priced and the staff is incredibly rude!!! I paid for a double room and they have me one bed and said there were no doubles available!!!! Not worth the money at all!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uclagrl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checkers01, General Manager at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I appreciate your candid review of your recent stay with our hotel. I apologize for the room assignment not meeting your expectations as comfort and safety is my highest priority for our guests. While room type requests cannot be met every time, I have reviewed your comments with our front desk team to ensure we're handling situations such as yours in the kindest way possible. I invite you to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I'm not going to dun the hotel because a tour company's driver got stuck in traffic--how absurd. I'm going to rate the hotel on..surprise..the hotel. Hilton Checkers is a very nice hotel in downtown L.A. Now, that's not near Disneyland or Santa Monica or Malibu. It is downtown. The rooms are spacious and the staff is professional. They give a continental breakfast to HH members; dinner was quite enjoyable. I didn't look for scratches on the nightstand--as if people actually make their decision to stay at a hotel based on such foolishness. The staff is knowledgeable and professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAGuy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabruck, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Hilton Checkers.
The room had a perfect size for 3 persons. We enjoyed the room, the service and the breakfast (especially the french toast).

BUT:
The Front Desk recommended VIP tours of California for a sightseeing tour through LA. That company is horrible.
Some facts about our tour:
- 6.5 Hours instead of 4.5
- sunset boulevard was closed and the driver said that he did not know... of course... he should get information before starting his route
- i came to get some facts about LA and its history and not latest updates about stars and their drug and girl problems. therefore i can watch mtv. it is cheaper
- when we came to st monica, it was dark, not worth to see. At venice beach we made a stop at the seafront. all shops were closed and there were gangs and junkies around. so not a very safe area for tourists
- when we paid, we complained at the cashier. that guy was rude and was only asking for our credit card. He called my dad a bro. He said:' You owe me money, give me the credit card, bro.'
- on the way back to the hotel, VIP tour provided a shuttle. the driver was speeding and texting the entire time. He did not see that he was moving between lanes. DURING RUSH hOUR. I asked him if he wants to kill us and told to put the phone away or i ll call the cops.

Back at the Hotel we told the front desk about our bad experience and they showed only a little interest. They said they would work on your problem and talk to us later. Nobody ever did.

Dear Mrs. Lewis,

you might earn the prepaid amount per ticket, but think about the high standard of service you want to offer to satisfy your guests.This company(VIP Tours) is not equal to your standards and not interested in their customers.They only want their money. We felt ripped off. This bad Tour ruined our 2 day stay in LA. We could have seen so much more with a competent company.

If I were you I would think about finding a better buisness partner. I think you do not want to clean out a guests room because they were killed by a bad skilled VIP Tours Driver. Read the review about that company here on tripadvisor. It shows how they really are.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was expecting small rooms and old elevators, but was pleasanlty surprised by size of the rooms and the overall condition of the hotel. The rooms were open and had plenty of space to move around. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable.

The front door was attended by two guys who made you feel welcome on the way in and out of the door, every time you went in and out.

There was also a nice looking bar and restaurant, although I didn't sample either of them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Checked in late evening for a one night stay. I wanted a place near the Dolby Theater, but the prices were very high in that area because of the Oscars. The Hilton Checkers turned out to be a great choice for the price and wasn't a bad drive over to the theater area. Check in staff person was uniquely pleasant. Complimentary bottles of water recognizing my Hilton status were appreciated. I would love to have had complimentary wifi, but no luck. Room was nice and comfortable. Skip valet parking if you don't need in and out privileges. It is $24 instead of $42 and is in the same garage they use.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleJoPeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience an great rest! We were in town to see a Lakers game and found the location to be perfect! It was a $6 taxi ride to Staples Center and the LA Live restaurants. We passed some inviting restaurants on our way to Staples too. We're Hilton members and we arrived around 7 pm. They had turned down the bed with chocolates, left our complimentary water on ice and a wrapped snack...we were impressed with the details and customer service we felt from all the staff. We're already planning to return and try the wine bar/restaurant down the street.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Clparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#10 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#34 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#96 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Property: Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Address: 535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing