We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel; needed some maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Ranked #58 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I like a room temperature of 68 degrees (approx) while sleeping. I set the A/C for 68 degrees, but it shut off automatically around 2:00 a.m. and was obviously programmed to remain off (in spite of my efforts).

A leaky faucet in the sink was repaired, but thereafter there was no hot water at all in the sink.

The room smelled of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaLewis1, Director of Sales at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your candor regarding a recent stay.

Based on your comments, it appears that you stayed with us while a maintenance project was occurring. In an effort to cause the least impact to our guest enjoyment, we conduct many projects in the overnight hours when most guests are sleeping and will suffer the least impact.

We truly hope that if your travels bring you back to Downtown, you will give us another try !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Checkers to attend a show at the Conga Room. We rode Amtrak up from San Diego and connected to the subway to get to the hotel. It was only a short walk from the Pershing stop to the hotel. We found several excellent bars and restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. The staff was attentive and polite. The rooms are a little smaller than other Hiltons, but the architecture and location more than made up for it. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was quick and satisfying.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

From Universal we moved to this hotel and Richard checked us in -- we were early for check in but he still found a way to get us in which I was very happy with. As well he pointed us in the direction of a awesome restaurant called Bottega Louie which is located about 2 blocks down the street. I found the restaurant at the hotel in the evening to be too pricey

Room was spacious compared to reviews that I saw in the past. Decor was modern and very luxury based ... the only question I had about the decor is the curtains which kinda reminded me of Shower Curtains including the pocka dots. Otherwise the room was perfect

The next morning we checked out but prior to that we had a chance to eat breakfast in the restaurant attached to the hotel. Omar was very good to us and overall I was very happy with this experience. I would ask a favor-- please go in the restaurant and sit in the seats next to the wall -- when you look straight up there are AC vents that need to be cleaned-- this is not something I would want over my food when eating but otherwise I found everything equal to the price charged.

Young lady at checkout was very nice -- she was asian but I failed to get her name and the doorman/valet throughout my stay were very professional and great from a service point of view

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Checkers for a recent business trip for 3 days. Check in was smooth. The room was as advertized - small. Bathrooms are redone but poorly lit. Hot water was in short supply. For the price and class of this hotel, would expect some standard room amenities - mini bar and on-demand movies. This hotel has neither. For business travelers it is nice to be able to unwind in the room on arrival with a movie and not have to call room service for a drink. There was a coffee machine and a few snacks.
The bar downstairs is billed as an LA hotspot but was quiet and closed early every night I stayed. Hotels closer to the convention center seem like a better choice. All these issues are minor, though, compared with the construction noise which began early AM and continued above my head, unabated, making impossible to use the room for work, sleep, or anything else. When reported to the desk, told there was "nothing they could do." I received an email from the manager and gave him a description of the problem but never received a reply. Very poor service overall. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dj93496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Was attending an event in downtown LA and found this excellent historic Hilton hotel. Very nice rooms and friendly staff. Cozy bar. Good breakfast. GCheckers is a great choice if you need to stay in downtown LA.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

As we arrived the valet person walked right away to our car to take out our luggages. We arrived early but the lady at the front desk was very friendly and kind and let us check-in early. Every employee we saw around the hotel was so nice and friendly always smiling and kind. The hotel is very beautiful and clean everywhere. Our room was huge and our bathroom was big and nice as well. We had amazing views of the city from our room. We booked our room for a weekend getaway to just party in Hollywood. Which catching a cab right in front of the hotel was not a problem and it was just a 10 min drive from downtown LA to Hollywood. The rooftop pool was beyond amazing. We enjoyed spectacular views of downtown LA! We really felt as valuable guests and thanks to every employee who made us feel welcomed and at home. We will stay here agin when visiting LA.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moskiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

It is what you expect. Smallish rooms overpriced lounge. Pretty good location. Walking distance to Grand Central Market. About 6 blocks to convention centre and Staples Centre. Room service menu is only "meh". Nothing really wrong but not outstanding. Worth the price of the room

Warning Wi-Fi charges are per device not per room.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Rakesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 353 in Los Angeles
768 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#62 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Address: 535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $217 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing