We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Ranked #55 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great hotel in downtown LA. Had a room on the 8th fl facing Library since the building is not that tall views from the room windows are not that great. Roof top pool area was very nice with great views of some of the down town skyline. Hotel bar and Checkers restaurant were very nice. Hotel staff were very professional and friendly. Would recommend this hotel to any one and plan to stay here when I get back to LA.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    447
    202
    74
    64
See reviews for
191
344
90
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Hotel itself is very good. Rooms are clean and nice, location is great if you plan to stay in downtown but the best they have is the staff. Superb helpful and welcoming, especially the from desk guys. I was not impressed with the LA but the people who live there are extremely interesting, charming and seem to enjoy the city very much. Also liked the bit where you walk out of the hotel and walk straight into the film set with all the actors and film crew. Not to forget the best restaurants around and food places. I guess I just did not stay long enough to enjoy the LA as the city residents do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My opinion generally of LA is not great; however the staff at this hotel changed my mind! They were super helpful and went out of their way to answer all of my 76 year old father's questions with kindness and patience.

The beds were super comfy and the spa was great!!

I got an amazing massage but the price was a bit steep and the hotel pool on the roof was small and has no sunlight after noon so if you were planning on getting a tan, dont!!

Overall though the hotel was great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anamaria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

1st let me say that I was very fortunate 2 go on this trip. My fatherNlaw travels & we were able 2 stay here with him. It was my fatherNlaw, husband, myself, & my 5 year old. We only stayed here b/c my FNL paid for it. If I were paying I would not have chosen this hotel. He & my husband both went to the Weftec convention which is why we stayed at this hotel. At the time I was around 5 months pregnant with my son. when we arrived everything was fine with hotel but location stunk. My plan was to take my 5 year old to Walt Disney Land but that didn't go as planned. That evening we arrived we were hungry so we walked to an atm and subway. While at the ATM we saw a homeless lady talking 2 herself so we quickly hurried 2 subway. While N Subway a homeless man came N and started talking 2 my daughter which made me very uncomfortable. It was a complete culture shock for me. i didnt want 2 eat there so we took food back 2 hotel. I thought I had done enough research on getting around LA w/o a car but apparently not. I read you can take the metro train to hollywood so that was the plan after eating. We walked a short distance to the train station which is underground and once again I WAS FREAKED OUT. there was a homeless man on the floor & another homeless man begging 4 $. Being 5 mths preg. & emotional & w/ a 5 year didn't help the situation. My husband was also freaked out. Getting a train ticket was really confusing as well as trying to figure out what train to take. it also didnt help we had to keep an eye out for homeless man that was begging for $. We left outta there as fast as we could. Not wanting 2 waste the rest of the evening we took stinky cab to Hollywood. Spent about $40 maybe more for round trip. while N HW we did the bus tour & they allow ur ticket 2 B good 4 24hrs. We did the bus tour late at night so it was still good the next morning. My husband had the convention the next day so my daughter & I took cab back 2 HW and did the bus tour N the daytime. the bus dropped us off at the grove and I saw extra. snooki (yes I know booo) was there but whatever it was interesting 2 watch. I found myself on the extra tv commercials when snooki is on, ITS HILARIOUS. I didnt do WDL cause i would have had 2 go alone w/daughter and the train station experiance scarred me. I read i would have had to take a cab to union station then take amtrak/ metro to wdl but i was too freaked out going alone with 5yr old. When my husband had extra time we took metro bus (also scary) to santa monica. that trip took FOREVER since they stop every 5 seconds and of course the day we went it was dreary out :(. We felt out of place on metro bus. Once again location of this hotel stinks if your taking public transportation. If U do have to use pt then DO RESEARCH and make sure to have plenty of extra money for cab fare. if we ever take trip back to LA we will make sure to rent a car. We also didn't take into consideration all the money spent on cab fare because I told husband i was confident on getting around LA using train. boy was i wrong! Hotel was nice, no problems, just location

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel met and surpassed my expectations. It is directly across from the street from hotels costing two to four times as much money. The rooms are beautiful. The pool and workout room on top of the hotel has the most amazing views. The lobby and dining areas are first class.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaglecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Overall this Hilton hotel was good, we stayed there for 4 days and inside the hotel was good. About 5-7 minutes walk from Metro station. Inside of the hotel is in very good condition and staff are very helpful. Windows are well sound protected so you do not hear much.

Bad things:
Although locality is within financial district with lots of high rise buildings, there are many beggar who approach you unexpectedly. Sometimes they stand outside the hotel as if this place is beggar's shrine. Slightly expensive.

If I had a choice to stay there again will I stay maybe yes!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main road since it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I really enjoyed staying downtown at this particular Hilton. The staff was exceptional, the restaurant food very good and lots of nice restaurants and sights to see within walking distance including a large mall with Macys. Parking is a bit steep - I think $38 per day but everyone is steep. Hilton still has the best beds and pillows in my POV.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFInow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
695 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,116 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#41 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,165 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Property: Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Address: 535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing