We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Industrial-strength conference hotel in downtown LA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Ranked #57 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Industrial-strength conference hotel in downtown LA”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed twice at Westin Bonaventure this past week for total of five nights. Came back from a nearby hotel because Westin was markedly superior at comparable price. This Westin is a huge property (1300+ rooms) geared to BIG groups... so not intimate by any means, and missing certain amenities like in-room minibars. Carpeting and furniture in my first room (a junior suite) was a bit tatty but everything worked so no complaints. External soundproofing could be improved -- my sleep was disturbed occasionally by street noise and helicopters. Fitness center is reasonably large and well-equipped. Wifi worked well both in room and public areas. In my experience, all staff were extremely courteous and eager to please... and the main reason I'd book here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence M, Director of Sales at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased to learn that your time with us was well spent and that you encountered great service while here. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    1,130
    585
    202
    125
See reviews for
372
643
214
1,115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

As I write this we are on a 3 day stay here at the hotel. There are 5 of us and two beds which ment someone was on the floor since roll away beds in a 2 bed room are a fire hazard. We always have an air mattress in the car for such occasions but the room is soo small there is no where to put it up. WiFi is extra unless your a platinum prefer member, breakfast is $25 a day per person...makes that $125 for breakfast for our family..I don't think so. We are staying in the red tower which is nice the kids enjoy finding the different elevators to get around and the elevators are fast. Food on the 4th floor is just ok. I wish they were hotel owned so you could just charge it. They are separate and some are cash only or $.50 to use your card. The korean bbq is your best value and was decent. The fish and chips. .blah..pizza..blah. The hotel does have a brewery that looks good maybe dinner tonight. The kids enjoyed the pool (wish there was a spa). There is also an indoor running track and a decent size workout room. The bathroom is my favorite part it's huge, free robes to use while there, oversized make up mirror, and waterfall shower with a detachable sprayer. The lobby is amazing with water running through it. If I was traveling alone or with my husband I would be happy..but with the kids..eh it's ok.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence M, Director of Sales at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. Traveling with a big family on a budget can be difficult, but it seems like you are making it work. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Review intended for SPG Elite members.

THE GOOD:
* Hotel was oversold for a convention (Wella Professionals so hallway was full of great looking ladies). Managed to force through a reservation on corporate rate for multiple nights - last room availability respected.
* Platinum status duly respected and upgraded to a high-floor corner suite with great view @7pm checkin. It seems to me they gave me the best view ("Green Tower") as judged from the view from the revolving restaurant
* In-room fitness facilities (!) - see photo. Welcome to LA...
* Everything in room respect Westin brand promise
* 2 bathrooms in the suite - comes very handy for a peculiar reason (see THE UGLY)

THE BAD:
* Nearest 7-11 is quite a walk away so make sure you run your errands at the small souvenir shop on G/F before it closes
* Yes, you can clearly hear traffic noise even on high floor if you want a great view (like me)
* Check with the friendly concierge before you walk off to your office block if you are out-of-towner (like me). The foot connection of this hotel with neighboring office blocks is often through the 4th floor bridge (no way through from the ground floor entrance!)
* No Club Lounge, but continental breakfast buffet coupon upgradeable to full buffet @ 6$. Very busy restaurant though.

THE UGLY
* Guess I am not the only corporate soldier staying at this downtown hotel. But the weird fact for a corner suite: NO DESK FOR WORKING... even though there is this office-style chair in the suite. I don't need 2 big flat TVs...
* See attached picture for the makeshift computer desk. Credits to housekeeping for keeping that guest toilet squeaky clean...

CONCLUSION
Will stay again on SPG Plat status. I actually prefer this hotel than the Hilton a few blocks away (as Diamond). Would appreciate a small computer desk in the room though!

Room Tip: Nice sunset view from Green Tower if you don't mind the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank accident_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence M, Director of Sales at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments and the excellent discription of your visit. It looks like you stayed in our Westin Workout Room based upon your pictures. I will check again regarding the work area. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

On a vacation with family during the summer, we decided to splurge in LA and basically tour the city and its landmarks. We were looking for a hotel in downtown and stumbled on an offer from Westin and gladly we took it.

The hotel itself is towering and the lobby is very spacious so you immediately sense good comfort and great views. The room was a bit tiny, but the comfort it provided was very relaxing and the view just breathtaking. Parking in downtown can be a hurdle, once you surpass that, the rooms and the service will pamper you good.

A large number of restaurants, pubs and eateries are conveniently available plus good landmarks around the block that you can explore. Since we got a good deal on this hotel, our stay was satisfactory and comfortable.

Tip: Parking fees are exorbitantly high, look for alternate parking around downtown.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tina_elsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron H, Marketing Team at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon! We are constantly improving our guest’s experiences and appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed me 6 night stay here during July 2014. The hotel is very nice, clean and safe. The staff is extremely accommodating and efficient. Our onsite meetings went well. The hotel is close to many restaurants and lots of shopping. Overall I had a great STARWOOD experience as usual.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingJenJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron H, Marketing Team at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

It was fun to stay smack dab in the middle of downtown L.A., and you get some fun views from the rooms and the upstairs revolving restaurant/bar.
But other than that, this place is pretty ho-hum. It has absolutely NO atmosphere, it's almost like staying in a business skyscraper with a small business mall downstairs, really strange.
The floor to ceiling windows in the rooms would be cool, except you can't open any windows at all, so the whole room smells musty and makes it seem a bit claustrophobic. And you are looking straight into other skyscraper office windows, so there is no privacy unless you shut the curtains.
The revolving view restaurant is a neat concept, but it revolves so slowly you can be there for over an hour and barely move, plus the food was very expensive and very average.
The best part of this place was the brewery downstairs. They brew their own beer and it's pretty good, and the food was better there.
They need to do something to improve the ambience at this place for tourists. Otherwise, I suppose it's decent if you are traveling for business and need to stay downtown.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from banquet hall parties, the night we stayed there was a high school...
See more room tips
Green Features: Not impressive, I would not have guessed they were making an effort to be environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simple M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Pefect hotel, perfect staff, perfect room view, perfect breakfast.
Only parking is quite expensive, but it's LA downtown, can't be lower.
Minutes walk from Staples center, perfect for Lakers games ;)
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sayan747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron H, Marketing Team at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon! We are constantly improving our guest’s experiences and appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
695 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#55 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,264 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#41 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,165 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#90 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Property: The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#47 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly presiding over the City of Angels, The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites provides the ultimate urban oasis in the heart of the business district. An international symbol that has come to represent the beauty and sophistication of the city itself, this famous Westin Los Angeles hotel is one of the most photographed destinations in the world. Stroll through our atrium lobby and you'll immediately see why. Whether you're visiting for a leisurely weekend getaway, business meeting or special event, our downtown Los Angeles accommodations define the essence of modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing