We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for a conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Ranked #55 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location for a conference”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently for a conference which was held within the actual hotel. The conference rate was very, very low so it isn't fair to compare my stay with normal experience. The conference facilities were excellent and the organizers had negotiated for WiFi to be included for all conference attendees. For some reason though, it was not accessible from the conference rooms just from my room and the lobby. Due to the way the hotel is designed, it isn't always easy to move around the lower levels. For example, the elevators don't stop at all of the floors so you may need to exit one floor above or below your destination floor. I asked to be moved to a lower floor once we realized that the elevators were glass and this was accommodated. There are a some excellent restaurants and cafes close to this hotel (e.g. Cafe Pinot is right across the road next to the library). The Metro is also close by which is great for traveling to attractions such as the California Science Centre and Universal Studios.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyMachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    1,110
    573
    197
    124
See reviews for
365
636
212
1,083
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have used this hotel for 15+ years for anywhere from overnight to a week or so at a time. Generally get a great price under $100/night on priceline and it rarely disappoints. The hotel itself is made of four circular towers, has a beautiful giant lobby and generally speaking is clean and pretty quiet. Parking is steep at $45/night but it's LA and you really can't get it much cheaper without walking 6-7 blocks.

Bonaventure Brewing Company is on the 4th floor (as are a number of other fast restaurants for pizza, chinese, etc.), the Brewing company brews their own beer near the pool and has a great happy hour where you can definitely spend a little money and get a filling meal and a couple of micro beers that are quite tasty for around $20.

Great access to downtown, galleries, LA Live and events at Staples Center. When in the neighborhood definitely stop by Bottega Louie for at least a drink and pick up some deserts, if you have dinner, the pizzas are wood-fired and amazing, their chocolate soufflé is to die for, give it an extra 20 minutes but worth every minute's wait.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Visited the Hotel during the Salsa Congress. Didn't realize that the conference would monopolize the amenities (pool, elevators, etc) so we couldn't enjoy the entire hotel. Like others have mentioned, the breakfast buffet was about double the cost of other similar places we have stayed. Two bagels, coffee and a single shared plate of fruit was over $16 per person, Full buffet was $22 each unless you just wanted cereal, breads & fruit ...Seems kind of expensive. Beds were nice and although a little dated, the room was wonderful but no choice of PPV or rental movies nor any movie channels. Nice bathroom (marble) and premium linens.

Room Tip: Our room was right next to one of those external elevators and anyone using it could see right into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milehighflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Once again this Westin lives up to the expectations of the brand. We enjoyed 4 nights here (booked through Hotwire.com) with large, clean rooms with a view of LA. The only disappointment I had was the charge of $13.00 per day for Wi-Fi (and only one device can use). To me this is a free service that even a 3 star hotel offers.

Overall a nice hotel and friendly staff, I would stay here again :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prolifix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice hotel but a bit old and expensive. The buffet breakfast was too expensive. There is a number of restaurants on site but did not try them. The elevator is impressive as you can see city view.
There is small mall across the road and some restaurants around the area which is nice. The Staples Center is not too far but you will need to take a cab or the bus.

Room Tip: Choose a room with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great beds; staff and location. Everything was great - very clean and comfortable. Was there for the international salsa congress -and everything was first class.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone - you will not regret staying here. Swimming pool on roof top at 4th level which offers lots of privacy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleopatraLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

we were there for a conference and stayed for 4 nights. The room was clean and the staff awesome! The only issue I had was that when I used the hair dryer and plugged in my hair straightener it tripped the breaker. I called guest services and the issue was fixed within 15 mins.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AltonGM1790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#57 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#36 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#30 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#92 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Property: The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#48 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#53 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly presiding over the City of Angels, The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites provides the ultimate urban oasis in the heart of the business district. An international symbol that has come to represent the beauty and sophistication of the city itself, this famous Westin Los Angeles hotel is one of the most photographed destinations in the world. Stroll through our atrium lobby and you'll immediately see why. Whether you're visiting for a leisurely weekend getaway, business meeting or special event, our downtown Los Angeles accommodations define the essence of modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing