We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a downtown getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Ranked #60 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a downtown getaway”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The suite room was great. Clean, modern design.. you name it. Staff were friendly and best part of it all, it was in the downtown area. about 8 blocks away from Staples Center, a couple of blocks away from Angel's Knoll park.

I'm sure the building is old and iconic, but the lobby gave a warm and welcomed feeling.

Beds and linens were very clean and comfortable and the pantry provided ample variety of tea and coffee.

GREAT LA city view

The down side of it was the valet parking where they will charge you $40 a night.

Overall it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardhi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    1,116
    578
    201
    124
See reviews for
366
637
214
1,099
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We arrived late and they had no kingsize bedroom anymore (this had been reserved), we therefore got a 2 bed bedroom which was great and really big. Phantastic view. They got us free wifi and removed the parking costs for the inconvenience. Breakfast was no the cheapest one but absolutely phantastic! All around a wonderful stay there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Last night I spent the night at the Westin in a suite. I payed over $300 for one night.
Overview:
- no blankets were brought to me after calling twice
-parking fee is $40 a night
-my suite didn't include complimentary breakfast (had to pay $22 a person for buffet)
-sheriffs kept coming into the hotel
-no privacy at all
-rude staff and manager didn't "have the time" to speak to me
-didn't know if I got the room for sure, until the day before

---HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE---

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NovaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We liked the Westin Bonaventure. Once you've checked your car in at Valet for $40 a night you walk through a corridor to the escalators that show you all the movies that were filmed at the hotel. A who's who of actors, DeNiro, Depp, Cruise and many more have shot scenes in this hotel. Once you're up in the lobby you understand why...one of the biggest lobby's I've ever seen. Rised up about 8 or 9 stories to a glass ceiling and 9 glass elevators that bring you up the different towers. The revolving rooftop lounge gives a nice 360 view of the city all the way out to Hollywood. The room is tiny but has floor to ceiling window to allow for the best possible views. We were on the 21st floor of the Red Tower and it was very nice. The red tower glass elevator is the only one to bring you to the rooftop lounge so was very convenient. Two double beds was a drag but as with most of our family trips we spend so little time in the room it doesn't matter. Very clean and modern.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here after getting a great on line deal for a 2 night stay. There is a certain "groovy" 80s factor, but it is a full-service and then some hotel. Plenty of food options, a nice bar in the center. The beds are the super-comfy Westin signature Heavenly Bed. Walking distance to the Metro station and close to Staples Center/LA Live. It is a fun place in a safe area with all the bells and whistles of a large scale hotel. Have stayed 2 times, so it's a keeper!

Room Tip: High floors afford you a great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliGeorgiaPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I work nearby, and we have begun using the Westin Bonaventure for our events. My last review last year, was fair as they needed to remodel and have consistent customer service. I hosted a recent event for our company for approximately 500 people with about 160 people needing a hotel room. Wow - I am a critic when it comes to excellent service and cleanliness and what a difference in the past year. I feel that the Bonaventure has taken leaps and bounds to improve the quality of their guests stay. Our needs were attended to with urgent response, their accomodations for our event were excellent and our needs were met.

Regarding the room. It was the same type of corner room I had which was good for comparison. My first impression was when I checked in at the desk and met Joshua. It was very late at night as I had been setting up and rehearsing sound check in the grand ballroom. He sensed I was tired and was speedy, courteous, and offered a room service credit after asking if I had eaten that day, which I hadn't and I think he was worried I would faint. Wow service. My last review said the rooms were outdated and the bathroom smelled. This time, the bathrooms had been remodeled, with the Westin style bathroom, with the simple, beautiful slate tile, very clean tub, new toilet, new marble flooring and new cabinetry. The amenities such as the safe in the night stand and the niches of cabinetry were accomodating in a small space. The carpet looked new and clean. The bed lived up to it's name as heavenly.

The room service was excellent, timely and every person I interacted with whether on the phone or in person all were genuinely sincere. No scripting, but "real" converstations. Jackie who I spoke to on the phone, asked in addition to my order, would I like housekeeping at a certain time? She made suggestions on food and was just friendly!

My trip couldn't have ended so well. I was checking out and needed a receipt, every person at the front desk consistently comes around from behind the counter to hand you your invoice or key card etc. I was looking for the elevator to go down to valet which is the only "opportunity" I would suggest, is adding a more clear cut elevator down to valet. With a lot of luggage, going down two sets of escalators is a safety hazzard and incidents waiting to occur. I got lost, asked someone who worked there walking by. Calvin - should get the Service - above and beyond. He could have pointed in the direction, but he said, I will take you with a smile. He helped me with my luggage, got me in the cramped elevator, went down with me, and opened the door escorting me to valet! Wow Wow Wow! Thank you Westin Bonaventure for listening to your guests comments and feedback. What a difference for business travelers, tourist travelers and anyone wanting to stay in a diverse hotel with restaurants to choose from, shops, spa, gym, plenty of conference meeting rooms and a great central location!

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit small, but the way the hotel has placed the cabinetry, desk etc and the usage of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDCNECSCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is a bit dated with its concrete lobby architecture, but for me it was part of the fun of the place. The rooms are quite up-to-date and very nice. Service was very good. I enjoyed the whole five circular column thing and futuristic elevator. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0-Excelsior-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#57 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#30 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#94 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Property: The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#48 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#53 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly presiding over the City of Angels, The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites provides the ultimate urban oasis in the heart of the business district. An international symbol that has come to represent the beauty and sophistication of the city itself, this famous Westin Los Angeles hotel is one of the most photographed destinations in the world. Stroll through our atrium lobby and you'll immediately see why. Whether you're visiting for a leisurely weekend getaway, business meeting or special event, our downtown Los Angeles accommodations define the essence of modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing