We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great service, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Ranked #52 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great service, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I am an SPG platinum and stayed in this hotel for the first time over Christmas. The suite we were upgraded to was really nice. The location was very convenient - in the middle of downtown and walking distance / short cab ride from Staples Center where we went for a game. The staff was outstanding (including Josh at the front desk - who went out of the way to accommodate our requests). The breakfast was also very good. Our kids loved the heated pool and the opportunity to swim surrounded by tall buildings. Given that this is a refurbished old hotel, you can tell the hotel age in some areas, but rest of the factors and the service definitely make up for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    1,027
    539
    190
    119
See reviews for
338
610
207
981
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I typically stay in West LA when in town for work, but I chose to mix it up and stay downtown. Its easy enough to get to in the evening when there is no traffic from the airport. There is not much in walking distance from the hotel, but a very short drive away will get you to the fun shops and excellent restaurants of Little Tokyo.

Its a large, if some what dated hotel from what seems to be the 80s. The lobby was cavernous and from it you could see the many stores and restaurants that were accessible from the internal mall. The gym is also in this mall, and it was quite spacious and well appointed.

It is somewhat confusing in the fact that there are 4 elevator banks and towers, but all are connected so regardless of which you actually take you can get to your room. The rooms are a bit smaller than the typical hotel, but they were not uncomfortably so perhaps due to the wall of glass on the exterior wall that in my case provided for a nice cityview. The rooms were appointed in a manner typical hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Westin Bonaventure. The room had floor to ceiling windows looking out to downtown LA and the bed was to die for. The bathrooms were also well appointed and brand new. While there are a lot of restaurants on site the building is a little large for my tastes. It can take awhile to get down to valet and get your car since it is such a big hotel. With all of the one way streets this one was hard for us to get in to. Parking and Internet were also pricy. This room is the best I have stayed in in downtown LA though and the service was very friendly as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquagaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed there a couple of nights. The lobby is big a beautiful. Loved the elevators. The rooms were clean but small. I did not have to pay for my stay but for the money the rooms seemed a little small. Service was great. We didn't use the pool since it is outside and it was cold out. No hot tub which is kind of a bummer. The location was great for downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Washingtonmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in Days Inn that are nicer and offer better customer service. Never again! When I arrived about 10 people were standing in line to check in with only 2 people working the front desk. About 5 other employees were standing around and chatting. When I realized I forgot my iPhone charger, I was told they don't carry any extras and their gift shop is often out. They do ave some accessories for blackberry users. 1500 rooms and not one iPhone charger to support their guests. I will stick with Kimpton Hotels moving forward. They have definitely out-classed and out-served the mediocre Westin.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lkwtraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Hotel with superb architecture in downtown Los Angeles, good breakfast, modern rooms. But as European I dont understand why not exist flexible shower and bidet in the bathroom and also I can not open any windows to have fresh air from outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
248 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

had a great room overlooking city, well maintained, decent restaurants, many sites are close including Disney Concert Hall, LA Cathedral and financial district, clean and classy place, hotel was filming location for a number of movies, comfortable beds and spacious bathroom/shower

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DVE11044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#59 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#10 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#96 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#34 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Property: The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly presiding over the City of Angels, The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites provides the ultimate urban oasis in the heart of the business district. An international symbol that has come to represent the beauty and sophistication of the city itself, this famous Westin Los Angeles hotel is one of the most photographed destinations in the world. Stroll through our atrium lobby and you'll immediately see why. Whether you're visiting for a leisurely weekend getaway, business meeting or special event, our downtown Los Angeles accommodations define the essence of modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Starwood, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing