We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Ranked #51 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel was selected for me to stay at during a business trip. This hotel is rather large with a huge lobby/retail area and guest rooms situated in different towers. My room/bathroom were great--clean and well kept. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the shower had excellent water pressure. The biggest drawback was the walls--I don't know if they were "thin" or if my "neighbors" were just loud (they were morning people raring to go at 5 A.M.).

I also ate breakfast at the hotel, twice, which is unusual for me. I chose the "ultimate" breakfast buffet which included the buffet, coffee, what tasted like fresh squeezed o.j., and an omelette with 3 fillings. The buffet items (sausage, bacon, egg whites, etc) were fresh and constantly stocked. The omelette I had was perfect--fluffy eggs and fresh vegetables. I also need to note that my server was very pleasant and attentive.

While I am referring to staff, everyone from receptionists to concierge to housekeepers seemed sincerely happy to help.

The biggest drawback to this hotel is the area in which it is located--Downtown LA. It is conveniently near the Staples Center and LA Convention Center, but other than businesses, restaurants, and hotels, this area has nothing to do. However, the Metro subway is very close to the hotel and is easy to use--and I felt safe the one evening I travelled on it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hbaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czarcinski, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for your stay while in Los Angeles and taking the time to post a review. It is nice to get from Downtown to Hollywood and Universal on the Metro. We will share your comments with the team and thank you again.

MC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,491 - 1,497 of 2,942 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

Was in Los Angeles for a wedding and stayed here for two nights with my daughters. The hotel is not new, but we felt very well cared for and the views were outstanding. If you are thinking about this as a discount hotel, look elsewhere, but see below for my tips on getting a cheaper rate.

Restaurant is expensive, but is on the top floor and rotates. The food was really very good. I, had a great time and would return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: I was able to get rates reduced by half by doing the online bidding thing at Priceline. You will ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czarcinski, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Westin Bonaventure. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff. Thank you so much and we appreciate your choice while staying in Downtown Los Angeles.

MC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times, each for work but also with my wife. the first few floors hold parking, reception and bar, shopping and conference rooms and the lifts don't go to all floors.

layed out with 4 sets of lifts (coloured differently) the lifts look out onto Los Angeles. a great idea however if you are in a room by the lift and don't close your curtains at night everyone in the lift can see into your room. and those in rooms facing the swimming pool, the glass isn't mirrored on the outside, you wandering around your room naked can be seen by all outside.

the rooms are nice but you get a lot of road noise no matter which floor you are on. and it does have a rotating restaurant at the top. parking really expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Trish_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czarcinski, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Westin Bonaventure while in Downtown Los Angeles. Tip you can use any elevator to get to any tower just go to your numbered floor and follow the sign for room numbers. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.

MC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Westin Bonaventure is a very iconic Los Angeles landmark having been featured in countless films and the sitcom It's A Living because of its futuristic architecture. In some angles however, the spectacular cylindrical building is dwarfed by the skyscrapers that have grown around it. The parking is very expensive! Do not rent a car if you can help it. Once inside, the lobby is enormous, and it may take you time to find the front desk. The fountains are sometimes on, or off, depending on the time, and for some people the noise may be annoying.
I liked having the feel of being in a busy hotel where you can hear the sound of water, music from the club, different events going on. Check in is easy, but finding your room may be a challenge. There are several towers, but you will find your way eventually. It is mind boggling how this building was conceptualized and created into a functioning entity.
They charge for wi fi and it doesnt always work. The rooms itself are nice and afford you a great view of the city, but the hotel needs updating. The lobby feels like it is stil in the 70's around the time it was built, but the scenic elevators are the best part if you have no fear of heights! (Remember Towering Inferno?)
The hotel is very centrally located, and there are skywalks that connect it to the street or nearby buildings. It is a short distance from the Disney Concert Hall, the MOCA, the Cathedral, Olvera Street, Chinatown, LA Live, Staples Center, Nokia Theater etc.
I still would stay here for the SPG points and for the love of beautiful architecture, but it can use an update that would still respect it's place in LA history!

Room Tip: High Floors offer great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czarcinski, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for the review and for choosing The Westin Bonaventure when you come to Los Angeles. The fact that you are a SPG, Starwood Preferred GUest is greta to get feedback from our members and we appreciate that you stay at The Westin Bonaventure. Thanks again for the feedback we will continue to impprove and share the praise where given..Thank you.

MC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife recently had a conference in LA and we stayed at the Westin Bonaventure Hotel for 6 nights. Let me start out and say that it is a beautiful hotel and has every amenity that you could imagine and the staff goes out of its way to accommodate your every need. My son (2 yrs old) loved the all glass elevators and the heated pool, and the food court was not that bad as well. The last night we were there and the view from the 35th floor was amazing. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: The way the hotel is setup with four columns elevators are accessible from every room in a matter of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czarcinski, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. Our Convention guests stay hear over 140,000 times per year and we appreciate your fedback. Thanks for Choosing The Westin Bonaventure.

MC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I travel all the time and I have NEVER had the experiences as I had here. Tried to check in on a Sat night. No signs outside the hotel, no bellman, no doorman, no valet. Drove around the corner and found a doorman and informed him we were checking in. Instead of offering to help with luggage, he directed us "50 ft forward" to the valet WHICH WAS FULL, even for guests. We were directed to the parking lot across the street where there was no one to help with bags. Had to go up and down elevators, escalators and stairs with bags to check in. When I complained, was given validation cards for the parking which, when I tried to use the next day, had expired. There was a party at the pool that provided extremely loud music, eventho we were on the 26th floor, till after 11:30 pm. I spoke to the mgr who admitted communication problems and told me she hoped we'd consider the Westin the next time I'm in LA. I don't think so. There are far better options in downtown LA than this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the absolute end of a longish vacation.It served our purpose of being well located within walking distance from the train station and buses which connect you to most attractions (in case you are not driving).
The hotel interiors are a bit dated but they have a food court and a cafe for some quick bites.
The rooms are comfortable and decent.They could do with more people sitting at the concierge counter during peak hours.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayhem79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,201 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#111 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,274 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#47 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $208 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly presiding over the City of Angels, The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites provides the ultimate urban oasis in the heart of the business district. An international symbol that has come to represent the beauty and sophistication of the city itself, this famous Westin Los Angeles hotel is one of the most photographed destinations in the world. Stroll through our atrium lobby and you'll immediately see why. Whether you're visiting for a leisurely weekend getaway, business meeting or special event, our downtown Los Angeles accommodations define the essence of modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing