We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but pricey.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC
Ranked #128 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent but pricey.”
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Good place. Small rooms through. Location-wise it is very good. 10min driving distance from the convention center and Staples center in downtown LA. Amenities were good. Free wi-fi internet.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoom2anil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    131
    74
    33
    23
See reviews for
136
40
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2010

I've stayed at this Vagabond Inn now twice, and I just love it. The location is sort of far away from parts of LA, but it's ok. It's a great little hotel for the price. The staff if super nice, and good at their jobs. They have complimentary breakfast, internet access, a pool. For some reason the rooms feel surprisingly roomy. It's not the Four Seasons, but for it's staff, price, and room size it's really a great option.

I wish they had more of them in different sections of LA. The only other one is in Hollywood, and while the staff is nice, it's nothing like this one.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KikiStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Great location, close to downtown LA. Tons of places to eat and right next to USC campus. Fast check in with friendly and efficient front desk person.Had a quiet night's rest. The only bad thing - they ran out of bagels at the continental breakfast and I had to settle for a donut.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBeltee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2009

I'm on vacation with my girlfrind. Ignorant guests come and are booked to the right and left of us. Seems like mr employee at the front books all look alike bad gusts in one crner and Anglo white I. The quiet closes to office and nice rooms. We are stuck between some cadillacs and impala with loud bumping music. I called employee to call them to do something about th noise and said he would and waited for him to no avail. Employee cares more about resting his eyes. Ridculous I called at 11:00 sharp and it's 1:30 am and I'm writing a review just shows how obnoxious these ppl are. I think this employee pinpinted as ppl who would be obnoxious but we were just here to takae vaction. I know how hotels work based o. Someone appearance they give you q certain room and rate occasionally. I k ow this for fact brother use to work for 25 hrs at different hotels big n small. You know I'm really wait g for th manager to reply because I am disaapoited. 190 for 2 nites to have some obnoxious loud music on Saturday ridiculous. Will not recommend it to anyone for now. I hope to get a phone number I can rach th manage directly seriuolsy
So one last thing I forgot to mention so I went to the front on Friday to the desk n ask for a do not interrupt. N couldn't find one but the grossest thing o saw was a rat outside the door running literally by fron desk. Why did I stay here?stay tired of driving n girlfrind wanted to sleep. It's 2:00 am n still partin will not comback till I hear a response from manager n will not recomend ruined the nite. Will make a post on LA county consumer affairs also. For the r ord employee did not want to give us another rooom n did not do anything about loud guests pathetic sevice

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Circa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

My wife and I travel a lot, This trip to the USA from Australia, In LA we stayed here, We could not fault our stay, none of the bad thing people wrote we witnessed, It is clean, very safe, and according to the Police, its the safest part of LA!, close to lots of things, the Fashion district is not far, it has a huge market, great value. buses at the door every 3mins cost 50 cents, this is a good place to stay, staff go out of their way to help.
Allowing for the culture differences, NO WORRIES!, when in LA next, we we be back, Greg from OZ.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieGreg4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The only reason why I stayed at this hotel was due to its proximity to USC. There is another hotel that's closer, but that one is double the price. The staff can only handle basic check-in and check-out job. Service is poor. I recently used their 10th night free promotion for the 1st night of my 4-night stay. When I checked-in, I told the front desk person specifically that I've reserved the other 3 nights with a different agency, so please make sure that the room he would assign me to is one that I can stay for all 4 nights without changing rooms. He said that it was done and I can stay in the same room for all 4 nights, but I would have to come back the next morning just to check-in again. So, I did that the next morning, only to be told by the morning front desk person that I have to switch rooms!!! She kept saying that this is not the other staff's fault (implying that it was mine) and her attitude was bad. At the end, she did let me stay in the same room, but it was as if she had done me a big favor. If the night front desk staff had done his job to check me in properly, there would have been no issues. Very bad customer service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vita614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

los altos
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

This is a basic motel. It's old but has had some updated furniture and rugs over the years. There is a pool that is fine. The rooms are quite large with a separate area for the tub/shower and potty wtih a door and they a sink outside so two people can use the facilities at a time. The air conditioner is old and noisy but works fine. Free internet connections. The towels are thin and the soap is basic hotel. There is good parking and they don't charge for it which is unusual in LA. They have a basic free breakfast but I would skip it. There is a Denny's type diner next door which will give you a 10% discount if you show them your room key. It's food quality is on a par for Denny's It's fine for breakfast but I would skip it otherwise.

Location is the reason you stay here. It's about a 10 min walk to the USC campus and maybe 25 min to the Coliseum for football games. So you don't have to worry about finding a place to park and all the hassle that goes with it.

The rooms out by the Figueroa do have some road noise. The rooms in the back are usually quieter unless some of the students in the apartment house behind the motel are having a party after a game, like they were last week.

I give it 3 stars due to its location. Otherwise, it's a 2 or 1.5.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1anlosaltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Radisson Midtown at USC
#52 of 351 in Los Angeles
547 reviews
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
#176 of 351 in Los Angeles
178 reviews
Central L.A
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
#180 of 351 in Los Angeles
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
240 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Park Motel
#196 of 351 in Los Angeles
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC

Property: Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC
Address: 3101 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90007-3737
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn downtown Los Angeles (USC) hotel is Just one block from the USC campus and the Shrine Auditorium, home of the Emmy Awards, in the heart of Los Angeles.Also within a few miles is Downtown Los Angeles, L.A. LIVE is a one-of-a-kind entertainment campus, L.A. LIVE is a gunuine world-class sports and entertainment destination, Staples Center, LA Convention Center, Garment District and the Museum of Natural History, among other points of interest. Plan a visit to the nearby Universal Studios, Disneyland and Knott's Berry Farm are just miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles-Usc Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Figueroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing