We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC
Ranked #131 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
El Cajon,CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were in for an event at the Galen Center. So, the location was great for us. Safe parking area. The room was clean, but starting to become somewhat worn down. The television was an antique that had picture issues. We did not complain about anything during our stay though. The price was a bit high for the room, but again, parking and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tod_and_Jacque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience with other many travellers.

We are are happy to hear you had a pleasant and safe stay. We are currently working/planning on making changes in our Rooms. We are currently working on changing all of our bedding. Recently we did all of our King Beds. We are starting to make the changes to our Queen beds. This projects do take a bit of time since this is a busy property. Hopefully next time you are in Town you give us another chance and you notice the chages. Once again we Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travellers.

Sincerely, Joana-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    126
    73
    31
    23
See reviews for
131
39
38
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We are USC parents and we visited over Valentine's weekend. While this is not an elaborate establishment, it is very clean and quiet. We were very pleased with the quality of the bed, bedding, towels, etc. Requests for extra towels were met immediately. We appreciate the parking on site and we felt safe in the parking lot and on the premises. Our daily room cleaning was just fine. The donuts for breakfast were delicious! The coffee hot and ready, juice. I'm sure there was other breakfast items, but the donuts simply were our first choice! Access to the freeway and local roads is very good. Thanks so very much for our pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We've always stayed on the second floor. The steps are not an issue. We have always had room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear PamelaRuth,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to review our Hotel.
We are happy to hear you had a great stay and your expectations were met. We hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely, Joana-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very nice, clean place to stay within a couple of blocks, short walk to the USC campus. The staff was very accommodating helping with everything from getting our room ready for us fairly early, changing the room when there was some confusion with the original reservation, holding our bags after check out until we came back later to leave, and getting a taxi for our trip back to the airport. The manager Joana and her assistants Samantha and another whose name escapes me, all did a great job, in fact all the staff was friendly and helpful. Some breakfast items in the morning along with juice, tea and coffee, were a god start. And alot of places to eat for lunch, or low cost dinner within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mike R,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is important to us as we use it to improve the quality of our products and services offered to our Guest's.

I am happy to hear you had a good stay and we met your expectations. I have informed the staff of review and your satisfaction as this encourages them/us to continue working harder and improving each and every day. On behalf of Samantha and myself thank you for recognizing our hard work. Hopefully you return soon and stay with us again.

Sincerely, Joana-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hi. The Staff, Specially Joanna the Manager and Maria from Housekeeping were way above and beyond going the extra step to make our whole experience a pleasant one. I highly recommend Vagabond Inn. There is a great Thai restaurant on property and you are very close to Downtown LA and an easy hop onto the 10 Freeway to Santa Monica. Overall great service and facilities. Thank you for making our stay a great one.

Room Tip: You could ask for a poolside room .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alasdair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Alasdair,

Thank you so much for your visit to our property and for taking the time to review it. Your feedback is important to us as it is used for us to improve on the quality of our services and product. It was our pleasure assisting you and your group. For me personally it was a great experience and I had so much fun. I hope in the future if you need a place again think of Vagabond LA-USC.

Best Regards,

Joana-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked a room in this hotel before coming from India, so I went through reviews as a reference. I find some reviews either over-the-head and childistics or too harsh. The hotel is descent first of all which means cosy and comfortable. It is located on one of the well organized places with good transportation (still, by considering the useless transportation in los angeles) and lots of speciallized places to eat (from macD, KFC, thai, japnenese, maxican, spanish, itallian, subway etc...) and moderate supermarkets (CVC). Breakfast was included, room was clean and tidy always, atmosphere is calm and clean as well. Area is safe, most important thing in LA. Reception was good or ok (you are going to get married with these people, so what you expect from them by saying reception was not kind or warm?). I had work in USC, which is just on 5-10 min walking distance. So for me it was sort of ideal hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek-Vishwanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Vivek-Vishwanath,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear you ad a good stay. Hopefully next time you come back to the USA you think of us for your travel needs.

Joana-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I am not a fussy person. The Vagabond Inn was surprisingly quiet (at least our room was, with the fan running for white noise), the beds were comfortable, and the location was ideal for a visit to USC (the campus is <5 min. walk straight up Figueroa).

On the down side, although the room was totally clean, the best that can be said about the interior of the room is “tired.” I’m pretty sure some of it is older than I am, which at 48 is saying something. Peeling 1950s wallpaper in the bathroom, torn carpeting, etc.

This is not a Hampton Inn, to be sure, but it’s clean, comfortable, and a fraction of the price of the Radisson down the street.

Room Tip: If quiet is a concern, ask for a room on the second floor away from the street.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dkckek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our property and taking the time to review it. We use your feedback for quality and training purposes to better ourselves with the product we offer to our Guest. We are currently working on making future changes to our Rooms. We are on the work of changing all bedspreads to duvets and better quality pillows. This property will be work in progress within the next few months. Hopefully next time you stay with us most of the Rooms will be upgraded. Look forward to an improved better quality Vagabond Inn LA-USC property soon!

Sincerely Joana-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here this past weekend and overall, I had a pleasant experience. They have all the amenities you could really ask for for the price: free continental breakfast, free parking, free wifi, cable tv, fridge, microwave, even a coffee maker in the room. The rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful and welcoming. I want to especially thank the morning front desk receptionist, Samantha, who was very friendly and seemed to really care whether I was having a nice stay. Made me feel very welcomed. The breakfast is nothing fancy, and certainly not healthy (bagels and donuts) but hey, it is free. It was a pretty quiet weekend and with the nice palm trees and pool in combination with the excellent service, I had a wonderful stay. Thank you Vagabond at USC!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back, away from the street if you are a light sleeper. This is L.A. ya know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Ulie R,

Thank you for your recent stay in our LA-USC and for taking the time to review our property.

Your feed back is important as it is used for quality and training purposes. I am happy to hear you had an excellent stay and that we met your expectations. I will let Sam know you were happy and satisfied with her services. This is very important to our staff as it encourages them to keep on doing a great job. We hope to see you around soon.

Sincerely, Joana-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Radisson Midtown at USC
#53 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
#171 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#37 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
#175 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Park Motel
#195 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC

Property: Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC
Address: 3101 S. Figueroa st, Los Angeles, CA 90007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn downtown Los Angeles (USC) hotel is Just one block from the USC campus and the Shrine Auditorium, home of the Emmy Awards, in the heart of Los Angeles.Also within a few miles is Downtown Los Angeles, L.A. LIVE is a one-of-a-kind entertainment campus, L.A. LIVE is a gunuine world-class sports and entertainment destination, Staples Center, LA Convention Center, Garment District and the Museum of Natural History, among other points of interest. Plan a visit to the nearby Universal Studios, Disneyland and Knott's Berry Farm are just miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles-Usc Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Figueroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing