We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and lobby but beware...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #94 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Santa Barbara
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and lobby but beware...”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

LA is back (almost)! And this hotel is an example of the ongoing revitalization of downtown LA.The Biltmore is a beautiful hotel with a storied history. However, they didn't go far enough when they renovated this property. The rooms and bathrooms are so dated and not in a charming way. The beds are terrible: Small and uncomfortable with linens and pillows that must have been borrowed from a youth hostel. The windows not only don't open very far but they also don't close all the way either. The air conditioning is noisy and in need of replacement. The walls in the rooms are completely unadorned. A few of the great black and white pictures that are displayed in the lobby would have been a start. Or, even some pictures of downtown Los Angeles when it was once a vibrant location. The staff was very nice, however, the management was, at best, indifferent. They can and should do better.

Room Tip: 11th floor is better. Make sure that your room does not face the street because the windows don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom accommodations. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised.

In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for our performance and for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    1,068
    712
    362
    220
See reviews for
441
1,020
195
757
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Yes, as already mentioned this hotel obviously used to 'be' something and the staff still think it is! On arrival from the airport by taxi, there were 5 staff standing outside and not one of them even attempted to come over and help with our luggage or even open the hotel door for us. Obviously we were of no interest whatsoever as we hadn't arrived in a fancy car which they could valet park. I have stayed in many hotels which don't need to pretend to be 4 star and have never experienced such a lack of service. Later, on going to the Concierge desk we were greeted by a sour faced female who went out of her way to be unhelpful, screwing up her face and saying she couldn't understand what we were saying! We felt the staff in this hotel think they are something special and believe you me they are anything but - they could take lessons from someone in a 1 star hotel.
Now that my rant is over, the hotel is clean, although the room did not have a fridge, which is very unusual. It has an indoor swimming pool and gym which is good if you have been out and about all day, although the pool closes earlier than the gym. The back of the hotel is in Pershing Square where you can get the subway/Metro, but they tend to lock that door at night so you have to walk round the block to the front of the hotel. There isn't a lot going on in the vicinity of the hotel and it felt more like being isolated in a business district.
Like Lyn C I would never recommend this hotel and will definitely never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom accommodations and team member service. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken.

In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for our performance and for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here.
This hotel was clean, big rooms and well priced. The hotel is old but beautiful. There are a couple of restaurants attached to the hotel, with cafes and Starbucks nearby. It is close to Pershing Square metro train station which was extremely handy to exploring LA.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nichpa2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We booked a room for one night following a cruise, when we arrived our booking wasn't on the system, so we were asked to check our bags in and to get some afternoon tea and come back in 2 hours.
When we came back the booking was entered, but they refused to give us the breakfast that we had paid for when we made our booking 6 months earlier, and clearly noted on our itinerary. The manager refused to even talk to us about it and told the receptionist we would have to prove that it had been paid for, we were visiting from Australia, an 18 hour time difference and extremely difficult to contact our travel agent to confirm the booking, he walked away while I was talking to him and closed the door behind him, leaving the receptionist with us.
Our room was a corner room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about team member service and your previously reserved breakfast promotion. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken.

In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for our performance and for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had a big room, clean and well decorated, with a fan outside running all night. The TV faced across the room and didn't swivel much, so we had to move the chest of drawers it was stood on, at an angle, in order to watch TV from the bed. Three coffee sachets to serve two of us - two or four would have made ore sense.

The shower plumbing was a bit dodgy and you needed a PhD in plumbing to work out how to use it.

Very good croissants and omelettes for breakfast.

Concierge parking is convenient and $42 a day. Use the car park diagonally opposite for $16 dollars instead. I suspect that is where you car ends up anyway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidbsmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about the services you experienced and the fan noise outside of your guestroom. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken.

In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel obviously has been fabulous in the past. You only need to look at the location, decor and historic photos to know that...

Now it's a fairly budget offering masquerading as something much more upmarket. The room was clean and well presented (although did smell like someone had covered the bathroom in bleach...).

Facilities were ok. An offering of restaurants, although the one we wanted to go to closed at the weekends?!

My main complaint is the lack of free wi-fi anywhere in the hotel. After staying in ten different hotels over 17 days in the US this was the only place that we couldn't get online. Not even in the public areas or restaurants...

Also be aware they'll charge you $42 per day to park!!

Ok but I'm sure there are better!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahnorthants82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months. While our rates are relatively consistent with other downtown Los Angeles hotels, your comments relative to parking and Wi-Fi will be addressed with the relevant managers.

We hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The entrance to the hotel was very grand but that is where it ended. Our room was shabby and situated above a small roof housing the hotel's air-conditioning generator. The noise went on until about 10.30pm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom accommodations. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised and restore grandeur to our rooms. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken.

In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for our performance and for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 350 in Los Angeles
724 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,132 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#56 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,276 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 683
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it's rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original "Oscar" statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and eight Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing