We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You are paying for the lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #97 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You are paying for the lobby”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The "poor" rating is in relation to the price as well as the hotel. Whilst the lobby and entrance to the hotel is impressive the rooms didn't come close to competing with others half the price.

It is very close to the subway station and location is good. There was virtually no where to eat in the area on a Sunday afternoon/evening.

The room was tiny, the bed was small, the room was dated, the bathroom looked unclean due to its age and discolouration. The rooms didn't come close to the pleasant appearance suggested by the website.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your helpful comments. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom experience and want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. In the meantime, please accept my sincere apologies for having caused you disappointment. We hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles; we will do our best to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    1,026
    692
    353
    215
See reviews for
422
981
190
726
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Arrived and we wowed by the reception and 1st floor. It went downhill faster than a formula 1 car after that.

We were given a room on the 8th floor which was very tired and dated and could do with a good clean. No safe in the room although handbook in room states all rooms have safes.

Asked to be moved to a room with a safe which the hotel did. 4th floor. Was a bigger room to. Still could do with a clean.

Do not eat breakfast at Smeraldis. $25 each for a lukewarm very basic buffet. Go to Starbucks on the corner.

When we arrived on Sunday night, there was no where open to eat in the hotel. It was only 7pm. We asked a staff member if there was anywhere nice nearby. He suggested Ihop or Dennys. I couldnt believe it.

Positives of the hotel are great location as very close to the underground. Also the bar is excellent and it seems a shame to be located in this hotel. Many of the staff have worked there for over 25 years and this shows. Excellent service and great cocktails such as a Black Dahlia. Very reasonable prices too.

Would never stay here again unless rooms are refitted. Would definatley drink at the bar again.

Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your helpful comments. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom and dining experiences and want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. In addition to award-winning dining options within our hotel, there are numerous restaurants at a variety of price ranges and genres nearby. Please accept our sincere apologies for the incomplete restaurant recommendations and for having caused you disappointment. We hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles; we will do our best to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
376 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I am staying at this hotel. The lobby area is nice and the rooms are nice. The rooms are clean and spacious. I ate breakfast in the restaurant and the food was good. A little pricey but in keeping with the hotel. The location is great. Right downtown Los Angeles and convenient to a lot of things. I recommend this hotel if you are in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreaplace49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Historical hotel with great lobby and other nice places, but rooms need to be upgrade, specially the bathrooms.
When we arrive they didn't have a room with 2 beds for 3 adults as we have booked. They tried to give us a small room where they intended to put an extra bed. Only because we said it was impossible to accept a room like that they tound a room something bigger where they put the extra bed. They give us de access to the internet for free but it was not a good way to solve the problem. Parking very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your detailed comments. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom experience and want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies for having caused you disappointment. We hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles; we will do our best to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I booked this hotel, last minute having a quick stop over at Los Angeles for a very reasonable rate..and was surprised at how beautiful the interior of the hotel was, and how large the rooms were. We actually had a sitting room in addition to the bedroom which was a bonus.
On our arrival there was a film set outside, which was exciting to watch.
For convenience we could not have chosen better, as we were only in LA for a day we opted to do a city hop on/ hop off tour around downtown LA, Chinatown, Hollywood, Beverley Hills and the stop was right outside the hotel.
The rooms were immaculately clean, good shower and bathing facilities and lovely towels!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. My Husband was even given a tour around the hotel by one of the staff all about the history of the place, as in the 20's the Oscars were held there!

Room Tip: Pot luck, we were fortunate and had a wonderful room on the third floor, but reading previous review...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laviniajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

First, I wanted to rate this hotel "good", but the rating system does not allow that, jumping from "average" to "very good".

Every year Self-Realization Fellowship has a convocation at the Bonaventure Hotel in downtown Los Angeles for one week. Since the Bonaventure is noisy and has a restless vibration and small rooms, we like to stay at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel, a few blocks east of the Bonaventure on 5th St. The Biltmore is quiet, mostly. Also, the convocation was originally at the Biltmore when the event attracted fewer people.

Check-in was slow. Although hundreds of people attending the convocation stay at the Biltmore, management decided to have only two or three staff checking in people. Therefore, there were very long lines for many hours, five hours that we know about.

We were given a corner room (938) that was absolutely huge. The room was so big that it had unused space in it. The room was painted peach and white.It was spotless but completely unassuming and unpretentious. There were no mirrors in the room and only one in the bathroom. Very good shower, but the shower had no trays, holders or racks for soap, shampoo and kindred items. (These items we kept on the floor of the shower.) The problem with the shower was that it did not drain well so we were constantly standing in an inch or two of water. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable. The room also had a chest with a flat screen Samsung TV sitting on top of it, two chairs, a desk and desk chair. Lighting was inadequate because the lamp by the two chairs was not working. The carpet was frayed and worn in spots. When you stay in hotel room for six nights, you know it well!

The hotel has a wonderful fitness and center and swimming pool, but you need to climb down many stairs from the lobby level to access it.

Although the rooms are not commensurate with the exquisite lobby, I recommend the Biltmore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeganChela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This building is a part of historical and cultural heritage of California and movie industry. Stunning lobby with great exhibition about hotels history. Pay atenttion to elevators - they are absolutely unique! Unfortunately rooms are quite cramped and old fashioned. Carpets were dirty, as well on the hallway. You can spend hours to make check-in. Forget about quick registration. As I well remeber they charge 30 USD for parking - right opposite side of the front door there is underground parking for half price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacekJakubowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#57 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#36 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#92 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 683
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it's rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original "Oscar" statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and eight Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing