We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Needs Updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #106 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs Updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Old beautiful hotel with ornate wood and cooper type ceilings. The guest rooms are very outdated with no modern conveniences like iphone/ipad charges clock, clear cable television, refrigerator, bottled water and many of the electrical outlets didn't work. Thankfully, I paid a discounted price for the room or I would be really upset. The biggest problem was that only 1 of 6 elevators were operating and every floor had up to 20 people waiting. I will not go back unless they remodel and upgrade.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    973
    667
    349
    215
See reviews for
405
942
185
695
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

If your on a business trip, this hotel I'd probably in a great location for you. If your traveling for fun, try another area of LA. While the lobby, and restaurants are opulent the rooms are lack luster, the bathrooms could use a major update. We took the stairs down to the lobby... Big mistake, we ended up having to walk through a creepy basement floor with exposed electrical wires to get to the actual lobby. Overall, I would pass on staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as I had already stayed here a few years ago and had a good experience. The rooms are definitely outdated, but you have to kind of expect that from an old hotel with a lot of history like this one has. There was nothing wrong with the rooms though. The bathroom fixtures were fine, the beds were fine, the service was fine, the bar was fine... Everything was fine. The only issue is the location of course, which I knew going in was a bit sketchy, but then again, it's downtown LA. Don't go out looking for late night food, it's not safe and you won't find anything!
Would stay here again if I was looking to stay in downtown LA again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West US
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel once a year, for the last three years, for an annual business meeting. The public areas, such as the lobby, are grand and full of character. The rooms, however, not so much. My room, this last time, was spacious. But like the others I've stayed in previously, it was not very well-lit and the room furnishings were tired and in need of an upgrade. Since this was the conference hotel, I'm sure my room was pretty generic. There must be others that match the beauty of the public areas. But alas, that wasn't the kind of room I was assigned. I hope they will move the conference next year. I'll miss that impressive lobby, but nothing else. Hats off to hard-working staff who keep the big place running, though. I'm sure it's quite a job.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

There are many hotels in Los Angeles that are more modern and reflect the lastest in technological features, but this well-maintained marvel of a century gone by remains my favorite. I like the classic features of the public facilities and guest rooms (some very spacious reflecting the standards of the era). It is not unusual to see easy recognizable celebrities and movers and shakers in Los Angeles in the hotel for a meal or meeting. I have always found the staff to be very helpful. Some very good places to eat are within easy walking distance. It is about 5 minutes away from major LA freeways (highways) to access other areas of the region or state.

Room Tip: Considering it is in downtown LA, ask for a quiet room off the main streets, if ensuring no sounds c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoGuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had to stay there for my Global Sales Meeting from Sunday to Thursday. First I must say the Lobby is Beautiful, but the rooms are dumps. I saw several rooms b/c I was hanging out with co-workers and they were all the same Gross, Old, VERY DUSTY, and the worst LOUD. The pillows were awful as well.
I stay at Hilton Properties for my business travel and let me tell you that the Hampton Inns rooms put this hotels to shame.
I had to go through several shower heads to get hot water, and a new shower curtain b/c mine had red stuff all over it.
The Food was OK since i had to eat it three times a day, I have had way better.
I went running every morning with a big group since I was on East Coast Time and its very dangerous from what I saw, so if your a women do not run alone.
The only good thing was that the bartender at the Gallery Bar gave a VERY generous glass of wine!!
I had the biggest room from what I heard from my other co-workers, so ask for 2 double beds and room 933, but I must warn its a loud room cause you hear everything outside.

Room Tip: Ask for 2 double bed rooms, mine was 933 and it was double the size of my friends. If you have alle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

nashville
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Biltmore has been refurbished. The lobby and adjoining areas look marvelous. The bar is a happening scene. The rooms are clean but small. The bathrooms likewise. However, for the price for someone needing downtown accommodation this represents excellent value. The beds are comfortable so you will get your sleep. It ain't fancy but it gets the job done and the value makes one feel good about this selection. Louie cafe nearby for breakfast is an added attraction.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank resbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#57 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#76 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#96 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 683
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it's rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original "Oscar" statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and eight Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing