We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great size”
Review of Metro Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metro Plaza Hotel
Ranked #139 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, great size”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good for an overnight as it has union station, convenience store, Chinatown and Mexican district so close.
Room was large, everything worked in the room and breakfast was simple.
Also contained a mini fridge and ice machine on each floor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aussiegal1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    145
    140
    27
    25
See reviews for
68
95
83
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The three best things about this 4-floor hotel are its location - an easy walk (just about 2 blocks) from Union Station, in the center of Chinatown and close to downtown. Right next store is a convenience store selling coffee & gelato, plus the usual fare. Check-in was easy. There's free wi-fi, but be sure to ask the desk clerk for the password. The helpful desk clerk provided good restaurant recommendations for dinner. Our room was spacious. It had an in-room safe that cost 50 cents to use and a fridge. The hotel is definitely dated, with a 1950's feel to it. The halls have a musty feel to them, but our room was clean. I especially liked that I could open the window to get fresh air; that's almost unheard of in hotels. If you are looking for a sterile chain motel, this isn't it. But if you are looking for an interesting experience in a very reasonably priced hotel close to Union Station, you can't beat this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scullyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

this hotel is very close to union station (you have to walk through entire station though when arriving with the flyway bus) walk over the road and hit right, at the gas station you see the big sign on your left side. checkin went quick. if I had any question the staff helped me out.

Hotel is nice, my room was ok. breakfast was ok. nothing to complain about really.
the chinese area is close, and since the subway and local buses are everywhere you can easily get to the other parts of LA without any problems.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gurtol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I spent 5 nights here in May and it quite possibly rates as the worst hotel I've visited (and I visit the developing world heaps)!!!!

Rooms are like you have stepped into a time machine and are hugely dated. Bathroom wasn't clean and even though serviced I think all they did was pour some bleach around for the smell of cleanliness.

Paper thin walls mean your neighbours have an impact on your sleep..... Unfortunately it sounded like the room next door was a brothel for 3 nights running.

The continental breakfast isn't worth the effort..... Go to subway next door!

The location didn't feel safe but there was a shooting near by during my stay.

I went as far as checking out 6 hours early and getting a shuttle across to LAX and waiting 5 hours to fly back to Australia.

All in all I would recommend if you want value for money in LA avoid this place like the plague and spend some extra cash or check into an upmarket backpackers

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

If you want a low hassle visit to downtown LA, Metro Plaza is the place. I was on Amtrak and the Metro Plaza is a block from Union Station. It is also across from Chinatown and Olvera Street. The place is solidly built and the rooms clean. I really like the spacious and tiled bathroom. A great value in a perfect location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlanDOHashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Please read my whole review!!!! I just spent the worst seven days of my life staying at THE METRO PLAZA HOTEL DOWNTOWN LOS ANGELES one star rating is too good. After booking online and trying to get confirmation the only thing I received was an email from MR WOO saying what a great choice I had made? Details of my booking were never sent to me and when I arrived I was charged a higher rate. When I demanded to see my original booking I was told by Mr Woo he couldn't find it when it was "FOUND" the rate had been changed from original to higher. I then had to deal with Mrs Woo? who demanded I pay the extra. Next day I asked to use the internet "sorry its not working, then it was working but had only dial up and took 5 minutes to load a page. Six times the elevator broke down. There seemed to be a woman constantly sitting on the couch in the foyer I don't thing she was waiting for a ride?? No in-room tea / coffee or microwave as suggested on booking sites you need to go to the foyer of the hotel if you want such luxuries. Honestly I could go on and on about the bad things at this hotel but the worst thing by far is the staff. I went to check out of the hotel and said I intended to dispute the extra charges this made them angry so when I asked were to store my luggage the attendant said you can't "YOU ARE A THREAT TO ME" I laughed and said pardon he said and I got him to write it down.. I quote " HOTEL DOES NOT AGREE WITH DISPUTE, YOU MAY NOT STEP BEHIND THE COUNTER (baggage area)FOR MY SAFETY CONCERNS I DON'T KNOW IF YOU HAVE A WEAPON" he then signed Daniel stood to attention and started singing at the top of his voice GOD BLESS AMERICA. I suggested he get help and left the hotel. Although I laugh about it now at the time I was very upset and have lodged a complaint with the local Authorities. I also stayed at other 2 ** location around Los Angeles and had a great time see my review for Travelodge Santa Monica *****

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Bonita I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We didn't expect the Ritz, for what we were paying, but everything we needed (proximity to Union Station, good parking, courteous staff, cleanliness of room) was provided.

The room maid went out of her way to meet extra requests. The staff were very helpful and security conscious for our parking needs.

For price, proximity to Union Station (-3 blocks), convenient parking, and courteous staff, we couldn't expect more.

Room Tip: Assigned room on 4th floor was fine. Everything worked and was clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#48 of 350 in Los Angeles
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#175 of 350 in Los Angeles
368 reviews
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Plaza Hotel

Property: Metro Plaza Hotel
Address: 711 N Main St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3357
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metro Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Metro Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Plaza Los Angeles
Hotel Metro Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing