We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Angeleno a better option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Ranked #15 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I should begin by acknowledging that some of our complaints about our stay (see below) resulted in an adjustment to our daily rate by the Operations Manager at the hotel, Sherwin Banda. The General Manager, Reginald Archambault, seen defending the hotel in numerous posts on TripAdvisor, was not at the property when I inquired.

I also can echo comments made by other guests that the location is extremely convenient if your plans include visits to the Getty Center or Bel Air, Beverly Hills or Hollywood. The valet service, while expensive and your only parking option, was very efficient and courteous. The housekeeping was generally very good although they frequently left all of the lights on in the room (not our problem but not very energy conscious). In general, the staff at the front desk was well-intentioned.

Having said all of the foregoing, I can think of no circumstance where I would recommend to anyone that they stay in this hotel. First off, the structure is poorly suited physically to be a luxury hotel. We were told by hotel staff that the property started life as student housing for UCLA in the 1950s. As noted by others, the rooms are contained in two unconnected, two-storey buildings separated by a steep hill others have estimated as being 200 meters. The front desk, underground parking, “business center”, restaurant and some guest rooms are located in the lower building while the balance of the guest rooms, the “gym”, pool and spa are located at the upper building. As other reviewers have noted, the walls apparently are paper thin as you can hear your neighbors talking, coughing and using their toilets.

Upon checking in, we elected to avail ourselves of an upgrade to an Executive Suite for an additional $40 per night. The room was larger as was the bathroom with a double sink; however, the bed was immediately in front of the door allowing any passerby a view of the occupied bed if the door was opened which would make most women, in particular, quite uncomfortable. There was a seating area located in an alcove in the room but there was a pillar in the middle of it suggesting that perhaps the area, at one time, had been part of another room or an outside patio that had been enclosed. The bathroom lacked sufficient counter space and had only a single towel bar.

There was a single rather than a double connecting door with the next room. For room security, rather than the common swinging latch seen in most hotels these days, there was an old fashioned chain lock but only a single screw held the mounting in place on the door frame. Also, in the hallway leading to our room, a service door to the outside was repeatedly left ajar further adding to one’s sense of insecurity.

One morning a roach appeared on the bed (fortunately, no bed bugs). After killing it, I showed it to management whose defense was that it wasn’t a roach but wasn’t really sure what kind of bug it was. We were also told that when it rains, insects find their way into the rooms. My view is that this would not be the case if (a) the sliding glass doors in the rooms were properly fitted and (b) the hotel had regular service from an exterminator.

There were repeated problems with hot water in the shower. On two days, only one of us could take a shower as the hot water ran out. On another occasion, the water kept getting hotter and hotter suggesting that there was no scald protection in the plumbing fixture. In addition, at all times, there was weak water pressure.

On two of the four days of our stay, there was no paper delivered to the room. They “ran out”.

The entrance to the hotel restaurant is a sliding glass door leading from an outside courtyard. The restaurant is effectively “land locked” with no interior entrance for guests (inconvenient to uncomfortable if it is raining or cold outside). The floors are uneven in both the rooms and in the restaurant. The sliding glass doors in both leaked when it rained. One restaurant patron complained his feet were getting wet because he was seated near the windows. Workers from the hotel put up a makeshift barrier outside of our room by placing a sheet of plastic film along the sliding glass doors and pinned it in place by moving the plastic patio chairs close to the doors. The carpeting in our room appeared to have been recently “restored” (but still stained) following likely flooding from torrential rains in Southern California the previous week. Further evidence of poor attention to detail was the fact that light fixtures, a/c vents, mirrors, etc. were rarely level or square.

The workout room or “gym” was located in a converted small guest room with limited equipment. The walk up the hill on several cool mornings was quite “brisk”. The “business center” was the size of a modest, windowless closet where one of the two computers available was out of service during our entire four day stay.

Finally, for breakfast one morning in the hotel restaurant, I found that the milk on my cereal had soured and curdled. Because the regular coffee was awful, I ordered a latte but the milk in it had also gone sour. Both items were readily replaced by the attentive wait staff.

Based on reviews on TripAdvisor and comments from some local residents, it would appear that the nearby Hotel Angeleno (a former Holiday Inn) would be a much better alternative to the (mis-named) Luxe on Sunset.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ptesche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuxeGM, General Manager at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2011

Luxe Hotel Sunset Blvd. has always been a hotel. Originally, it was the Bel-Air Sands and was under the Radisson flag before becoming an independent upscale property. I am not sure where the UCLA housing rumor generated but I will follow up with staff to make sure we are giving the right information. Perhaps our proximity to the campus is the reason.



Regardless, it is an older property and was completely renovated in 2007-2008. Sound proofing was not addressed during renovation and we are addressing this with post construction remedies that are available to us. Door closures, flashing and connecting doors will all be fitted by the end of 2011. The locking system on the doors themselves is very good, although all service doors should be closed as you pointed out. I have addressed this with our Housekeeping and Maintenance departments.



We do have a regular extermination service that covers the entire property. Due to our hillside location we do get flying insects at times but no reports of roach or rodent activity. We continuously replace any door or window that is compromised in any way. I do not know the nature of the insect that was in your guest room but I am certainly sorry it affected your stay and overall perception of the hotel.



The hot water tank at the Spa level was in need of service and since your visit we closed that section of the hotel for three days and repaired and relined the tank. Pipes leading from it were also replaced.



Newspapers are generally plentiful. We order 10% more than our forecasted occupancy. I am a newspaper reader too and can imagine your disappointment. We should have simply gotten more papers when the supply was depleted. I will make sure this does not happen again. Restaurant doors do require refitting and water proofing. We will undertake this project in February. As you know, Los Angeles received six months worth of rain in five days the week of your stay. A huge amount but our facilities should and will be able to withstand heavy rains.



I do take your comments to heart and will take whatever steps are necessary to improve our shortcomings. I hope you consider staying with us again. We offer a unique setting and our employees are very genuine, service oriented and friendly. You mention the Angelino in your Trip Advisor review. There is no question their rates are consistently lower than ours but I believe the overall product and experience is superior at our hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to join us again and I will personally see to it you have a memorable stay for all the right reasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
There are newer reviews for Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2010

I just got back from a weekend at the Luxe Hotel Sunset Blvd. I've stayed in LA many, many times and love the location of this property in relation to all the neighborhoods, restaurant centers and shopping areas I like to frequent while I'm there.

All in all, I would stay there again, but my experience was a 6.5 out of 10. This hotel has a lot of potential and does many things well, but a few inconsistencies--like some front desk agents asking how departing guests stays were and some not even bothering to ask the question---stuck out to me during my stay. Details listed below.

High Points:
- Deborah, the hotel's Concierge is wonderfully helpful and all her suggestions and tips were bang-on
- Most front desk staff were very helpful
- All valet staff were friendly and fast
- Restaurant staff were lovely
- Bed and bed sheets were very comfortable
- Towels are soft and plush
- Outdoor areas are beautiful

Low Points:
- Getting a call at 6.30am telling us our car was ready (but we never scheduled or called for it)
- Free Wifi was shotty at best, it worked one second and not the next for the entire 4 days we stayed
- Room was great, but a little rough around the edges. The bed and bathroom vanity had significant marks and chips all over them. I mention this because this was not the case in any of the multiple hotels I've stayed in this year.
- Finally, you'd walk down the hallway and you'd see empty room doors open, maintenance doors open, etc..

Good to Know:
- Design - Hotel has a modern, beachy-chic decor that's carried throughout the property
- Room - I stayed in a room with a king bed and nice sitting area, the room was very spacious
- Hotel room doors are far from soundproof. You can hear every hallway conversation through the closed door
- Parking is only valet and $25/night
- Hotel is just off the 405 hwy under the Getty {very central location}
- Pool area is nice. I read a review from someone else that mentioned only 3 guest could be in the pool at one time which is preposterous

All in all, I'd stay there again, but in some ways, this 4-star felt like a 3-star. Maybe I hit the hotel in an off time?

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripstyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuxeGM, General Manager at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2010

Dear tripstyler,
Thank you for your thoughtful review of your recent visit. I appreciate your positive comments and take your constructive critism to heart. As follow up, we certainly missed the mark on basics such as contacting the proper room for rental car confirmation and room readilness. I make sure these are addressed immediately with the relevant departments. We do have a rotating program to catch chips and marks but housekeeping needs to report any shortfalls more vigorously. We recently upgraded our wifi service and this week there were issues with connectivity. These have been resolved but I am sorry they affected your stay. Lastly, doors should not remain open during service unless absolutely necessary. This will be remedied as well. We hope to see you again on your next trip to LA. I assure you every effort will be made to provide you with the experience you expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I am actually still checked in, so i will make it brief, i looked at 6 rooms, all of which were extremely stuffy. I think its the detergents they use on the carpeting, if you're allergic like me, beware!

Now location is great, and the staff are extremely helpful and patient.

Yet the stench of the rooms, even the fact that my room overlooks the XXXXX is not what bothers me most. The windows are disgustingly dirty!

Walls are paper thin, and connecting doors are made of steel, working on this desk, i could literately hear's my neighbour's conversations!

Why should i wake up to a dirty view of LA!! Finally, the beds are catastrophic!!! Who uses springs on mattresses any more!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaouhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Posh boutique hotel in Bel Air, just off the highway I405. Easily accessible when You know where it is, but hard to find when You only have the adress, as it is very well hidden behind the bushes along Sunset Blvd and there are hardly any signs at all indicating where to find it.
Rooms are ok compared to the US hotel standard - in other words don't expect too much if you are used to asian hotels... Clean and tidy rooms everyday, free wlan available, rather expensive dining options. Although it was one of the less expensive alternatives in LA, the fairly high prices did make us expect a little more. Roomsize is ok, but the view is poor (we stared right into the hillside and bushes). Pool is available, but this is not where You want to stay to spend time at the pool; three persons in and the pool is full. Better suited for business than pleasure - think twice if You are travelling with children.
Note that there are two separate buildings, some 200 meters apart in the hillside. Valet parking only, so remember to add an extra $30 ($25 +tax+tips) to Your room pr night if You arrive by car.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stordalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

The shower head didn't work. The air conditioning didn't work. The Front Desk was indifferent.

Our room was updated and spacious. Although, others in our group had smaller dingy rooms. The valet staff were very courteous.

For the money spent I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iwillgo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuxeGM, General Manager at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

I am genuinely sorry about the shortfalls you experienced during your recent visit and would like to follow up directly to prevent recurrence and make necessary adjustments and reparation.

Please contact me at the hotel and thank you for bringing your observations to my attention.

Sincerely,

Reg Archambault
General Manager
Luxe Sunset Boulevard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed at this LUXE for three nights mid week for business travel the last week of September . We usually stay in Santa Monica area but deceided to try a change, this LUXE was close to Santa Monica and close to just about everything else we needed. We loved the walk up the small hill to the workout room and found it to be the perfect start for our day . Didn't have time for the pool but we wished we had. We also did not have time to try the restaurant but we did settle in for some cocktails one evening. The hotel staff was always very attentive and the decor was beautiful. The lushness of the landscaping was tranquil to us and we enjoyed driving in each night after working all day to this pretty place. Very relaxing and had good night's sleep. I travel with a small electric air diffuser anyway, so if there is any noice around I rarely hear it wherever I go. This place feels like a healthy place. The night we checked into the hotel , there were about 200 people in line to get their cars from valet, ended up it was a local fundraiser in the Brentwood area. A lovely group of people to see , all dressed so nicely, it was exciting for us to see this as we had been traveling airports all day. . We suppose the area residents choose this hotel for their own out of town guests. I think Valet parking was 30 dollars a day . I just kept a bunch of $5. bills handy for tips when valet brought our rental car around and to leave on the bed for housekeeping each morning. Just figure it in your hotel price and don't let it ruin your day that the parking isn't including in the room rate.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockportTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed at this hotel early July 2010 with our two children (8 year old and 1 year old). We arrived extremely exhausted a couple of hours before our check in time after flying 14 hours and another 5 hours in airport customs/transfers to hotel etc. Reception staff could not have assisted us enough in arranging a room for us as soon as possible - room was ready within 45 minutes. Room we booked was the superior double room which was clean and big. Everything we asked for the reception or housekeeping was on to it, even providing a microwave for the 4 nights we stayed at no extra charge. As it was our first time to the US the staff were extremely helpful in arranging a hire car and provided us with easy to understand directions. Used the pool only once as it the weather was cold - but pool was nice. Ate breakfast a couple of times in the restaurant and again food was great and staff was amazing.

It was a great start to our holiday and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTGLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,948 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,752 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,703 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Address: 11461 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90049-2031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#17 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $273 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxe Hotel Sunset Boulevard is an in-town boutique resort, situated on seven secluded and beautifully landscaped acres in one of Southern California's most accessible and exceptional locations. Located at the entrance to the exclusive suburbs of Bel-Air and Brentwood and just below the famed Getty Center, and minutes from UCLA, the hotel is at the gateway to Los Angeles and its surrounding communities. The hotel offers a stylish and supremely comfortable California-modern look and welcoming, professional, personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing