We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Hospitaliy, Beauty and Grace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Ranked #14 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We enjoyed an amazing experience recently at this beautiful oasis. Off the 405 freeway it might as well be in quiet little corner of the world removed from the chaos of Los Angeles. Finding this gem of a hotel is a true joy! From the moment we drove up the secluded drive to the entrance we were treated like royalty with out- standing service and warm hospitality. Our room was beautiful, large and comfortable with a Zen like atmosphere that was so relaxing. We had a wonderful dinner under the stars with great food and attentive service in the garden with twinkling lights. The bar has a very intimate feel and warm ambiance. Everything was perfect and wished we could turn our 2 night stay into many more before returning to reality. This is the
ideal hotel for a romantic rendezvous or just a weekend getaway! Make it a must!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dale91377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear dale91377,

It was certainly a delight to read your review about your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your description of our property and service was very eloquent and paints such a lovely picture. It will be a pleasure to pass on your comments about your experience in the restaurant to our Chef and his team.

We all eagerly await your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Fantastic place to stay. Turned up hot and completely over traffic and was greeted by a gorgeous, smiling, very helpful and competent girl on the front desk; Kayla - yr beautiful. Relaxed straight away. Close to hollywood and easy to get to malibu also. Staff are fantastic, the front desk especially are most helpful and cheerful, its reasonably priced, like an oasis in the middle of a concrete jungle. The restaurant is quality as is everything about the place.
Next time in LA will be going back. Twice the hotel at half the price compared to other places there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyd817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear tonyd817,

It's such a pleasure to read about your experience with us! Especially from someone who had traveled so far to get here. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and for specifically pointing out Kayla. She is a pleasure to work with and I know that she will be elated to hear how she affected your stay. I will also pass on your description of the restaurant to our Chef who prides himself on producing quality cuisine. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were suppose to stay across the street at the Hotel Angeleno but it was booked because of some sort of Medical Convention. Saw the sign at the Luxe as we were driving out the driveway and I remembered seeing some pretty good reviews. As soon as we drove up the driveway we were in a realm of class and accommodation . We had just spent the day at California Adventureland and fought traffic for an hour to get near the Getty Center so we were pretty wiped out and a little grubby looking but the Manager (Chris) actually went out of his way to come outside to the car to welcome me and make sure to point out how to drive up to our room at the top level. We quickly freshened up came downstairs, had a glass of wine and ordered a superb appetizer before retiring. Quiet evening and pretty comfortable beds, which I'm pretty picky about. The next morning we dined outdoors to an incredible breakfast and heard about the chef who is French. We didn't eat anywhere else for the next 2 days. This wasn't cheap but we loved all of the extra care that went into making our stay first class. We will be back to enjoy this hidden gem. I guess this used to be the old Bel Air Sands Hotel. The charm is still there even though there is congestion and cement surrounding this oasis.

Room Tip: We stayed up the hill near the spa because I enjoyed the exercise . Maybe for someone older or not q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank specedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear specedu,

On behalf of the Luxe Sunset Boulevard team, thank you for your thoughtful narrative about your stay with us! I will most certainly pass on your comments about your arrival experience to Chris and the Chef (who is indeed French) will be delighted to hear about your dining experiences as well. This property was indeed the Bel Air Sands at one time and carries a lot of history that we are proud of. It has always been know as a "hidden gem" and we are so pleased that you feel the same way.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here because of a wedding that was nearby. The room and bathroom were both very nice. The best part about this room was the bed and the pillows. They were so comfortable. It is rare to be so comfortable in a hotel room The only negatives were poor lighting in both the bathroom and the bedroom, and the charge for parking. You can only valet park your car which added on about $25 a day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindyfromphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear cindyfromphoenix,

We are so pleased that you were able to stay with us due to the event you were attending. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our bedding. We recently replaced the mattresses and upgraded the linens so it's great to hear that you enjoyed them and that you felt so comfortable. Your comments about the lighting in the room are appreciated and noted. Also, please know that our parking rates are some of the lowest in this area. We do not offer self-parking as we need to protect our parking spaces for our guests and visitors. In addition, our Valet parking team is always ready to assist and are available 24 hours a day.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We booked a room at Luxe on Priceline at a fabulous rate and the experience only improved from there. Upon check in, the lovely gal at the front desk offered us an upgrade to an Executive Suite on the spa level, which turned out to be larger than our NYC apartment back home with a patio looking out on the heated pool! The bathroom was incredible, with a huge deep spa tub and separate shower + dual sinks. The valet was a little hyperactive, but every other element was fantastic. Oh, the person upstairs was audible in terms of footsteps and use of bath facilities, but frankly surrounded by that kind of luxury, we just didn't care. :-)

Room Tip: Choose the 'spa level' if you want to be close to the spa/sauna/pool - we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Kyra S,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel! We all appreciate your time in posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Loved this hotel. Had a Deluxe suite, it was large and spacious, and breakfast (room delivery) was very tasty. The food was great. Nice pool, friendly staff. The only drawbacks are the very inconvenient and steep walk up to the pool/second hotel room area - they really should construct a shortcut of some sorts that didn´t require you walking on a road up there (private, but anyhow) so you don´t feel like you are walking to a different hotel. Also I think the bathroom was waaay too dark with the brown walls, felt very depressing. Still, if this is all I can complain about, it means that my stay was way above average, and I would highly recommend staying here. But bring taxi money!

Room Tip: Ask for the upper level rooms to get the balcony rooms with the view of LA. I had a lower level room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Sylvia R,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your description of the property and will note your suggestion about the bathrooms. I will happily pass on your comments about our In Room Dining to the staff and the Chef. Please know that our staff is always available to take our guests between the buildings and we also provide a complimentary house car that will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. This includes such venues as the Getty, UCLA, Brentwood, and Westwood where you will find many restaurants, shopping, theaters, etc.

We hope you will take advantage of these services the next time you visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here because of my work at the Getty. The Luxe has a free shuttle (first come, first served basis) that will transport you to the Getty and other destinations that are in close proximity to the hotel. This was a huge plus for me, as I didn't have a car during my stay. Even my basic room was quite large, with comfy bed, huge TV, etc. I noticed in other reviews that people complained about the noise, but I didn't have a problem with it. Southern California walls aren't going to be insulated like Fort Knox, but I still slept quite soundly. Among the staff there a lot of young hardworking individuals. I was totally impressed by their willingness to help me out with my shuttle needs, buying stamps, shipping a UPS package, etc. They also have a business center which allows you to print things on a complimentary basis (a nice service). The location is the reason that I chose this hotel, but it is also its biggest challenge--it's difficult to walk anywhere with the 405 edging up next to you! But all in all, I would definitely stay here again for my future work at the Getty. The Luxe does it right.

Room Tip: There are two sections in this hotel--the main compound, and then one up the hill a minute or two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelogue1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Travelogue77,

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. We have many guests that visit and/or work at the Getty and we are always pleased to welcome them. We are happy that you took advantage of our House Car service while you were here and we appreciate your complimentary comments about our property and employees.

We all look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Los Angeles area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,069 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,367 reviews
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#63 of 355 in Los Angeles
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Address: 11461 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90049-2031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#17 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $215 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxe Hotel Sunset Boulevard is an in-town boutique resort, situated on seven secluded and beautifully landscaped acres in one of Southern California's most accessible and exceptional locations. Located at the entrance to the exclusive suburbs of Bel-Air and Brentwood and just below the famed Getty Center, and minutes from UCLA, the hotel is at the gateway to Los Angeles and its surrounding communities. The hotel offers a stylish and supremely comfortable California-modern look and welcoming, professional, personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing