We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older, smaller, but great price and area”
Review of Kawada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kawada Hotel
Ranked #249 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed at the Kawada hotel as part of an extend stays program. Yes, the rooms are small, but they were clean and the area that the Kawada is in is very nice. In fact, it's up and coming. If you're looking for a crash pad or a place to save money while still being in Downtown Los Angeles, I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 453 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Everything in this hotel seem to date from the 1980s or 1970s if not earlier, including the furniture which is very basic and of very poor quality. Besides, the staff can't care less about customers needs. As there is no tea bag provided with the kettle and I had a call and needed a jot tea late at night I called front desk 4 times and they hung up on me. I had to go down and they would not even give me one tea bag while every hotel in the world always provide this for free in their rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globesurfer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Called to confirm we will be a day late. They cancelled our booking, I was told that we were a no show. Offered me a single room when I had pre booked and paid for a queen. The room stunk like someone had been smoking in there for 20 years with out opening a window. There were dirty used band aids (plasters)on the floor, along with bottle tops. The bed spreads had holes in them. The staff did not admit their fault with giving away our room and no compensation. I stayed else where. I'm still waiting on a refund.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tipratnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I had read some reviews and was worried about staying here. However flight centre had it on their list and it was close to the railway station. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is very central easy walk to the railway station in down town LA. The room and ensuite very clean and tidy. Really it is the carpet in the common areas/ hallways that needs to be renewed. The decor is older style but that adds to the character of the place and in keeping with many parts of LA. Lots of travelers coming and going.

Room Tip: I forgot to ask for a non smoking room - but they staff happily moved me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieKate13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Value for money. Old style but if it is refurbished they should keep some of the old fittings. It would lose something if it were to be "plasticised". I was amazed to see how close we were to the Los Angeles Philharmonic Hall so a good venue for theatre goers. One stop on the Metro to the wonderful Union station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I booked Kawada thru Booking.com and got a good deal for 4nights, sept2-6/2013, and as usual I would read reviews from tripadvisor before making any final decisions.
Room was small and got a kinda strange smell once I entered, I guess it came from the carpet just underneath the aircond which I cud spot some stains on it. Opening the window helped a bit but found it noise as my room was on the fourth floor facing 2nd avenue. Room looked old and need refurbish, tiny kitchen needs to be replaced and didn't find it useful since tourists don't cook.

the plus side, staffs were very friendly, most of them are nice latin guy, good location with the subway station 3mins walking, grand central market is a block away and close to jap town if you walked down 2nd ave .

Room Tip: top/4th floor is a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel294229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

neat and clean bed, located in down town of los angels. rooms are not big. japaneses like to gather there. perfect choice for travelers looking for the international experience in Los Angeles.within walking distance of public transportation.All of Los Angeles - from the beaches of Venice and Santa Monica to the rich culture of Hollywood and Highland to the thrills of Universal Studios - is available through the Civic Center Metro Stop and Union Station.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TOUFIQUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#49 of 355 in Los Angeles
746 reviews
Metro Plaza Hotel
#144 of 355 in Los Angeles
393 reviews
The Mayfair Hotel
#242 of 355 in Los Angeles
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#34 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,205 reviews
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#214 of 355 in Los Angeles
88 reviews
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#97 of 355 in Los Angeles
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawada Hotel

Address: 200 S Hill St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3503
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $135 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kawada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented Hotel situated in heart of downtown, close to government buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kawada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawada Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing