We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst place ever! the local park would be better”
Review of Kawada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kawada Hotel
Ranked #252 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worst place ever! the local park would be better”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed at the Kawada Hotel for 10 days, biggest mistake of my life! From the outside the hotel looks ok for the money, but as you get further in it get worse. Most of the staff are somewhat friendly. Now for the rooms, small and dirty, there is a dirty big A/c along side the bed, the fridge is about a 1960’s model, no tea or coffee making, however they do supply a ICE BUCKET AND 2 PLASTIC CUPS! That’s it. The TV is the size of a laptop screen and the ch drop out all the time. Only wifi in the lobby, no place to get a meal, there is a dodgy little bar around the corner but would not recommend, the café next door closes at 3pm, after 5pm you have to walk 4-7blocks for dinner. The fire alarms go off all night and the hotel porter walks the floors all night banging doors and talking on his phone! The location is great for subway, bus ect but that is the only plus this hotel has!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    92
    144
    79
    103
See reviews for
62
102
74
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

It's surely not the best place you can find if you have the money, but it's cleary an average hotel if you want to stay in L.A. Downtown for only a couple of days.

It's really near the Grand Central Market and you can go around (Hollywood, Santa Monica, Venice Beach) through Metro buses and subway easily.

Sadly when we stay here it was during the E3 and everyone got the "High-speed" Internet connection so it was really slow to upload photos or download video from there during this special week. An alternative (for international traveler who's got a smartphone) is to buy a prepaid SIM card and get a Web daypass for 1,50$ (illimited access and it works better than the Kawada Internet connection).

The kitchenette was ok since it contains only a fridge and a sink.

I have to notice that one day before we leave the room wasn't clean by the maid... but we was able to get new towels from the reception.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bidou1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, QLD, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Sorry, this place was rubbish. The smoke alarm went off twice in the middle of the night because the bar next door was cooking something. I don't cheap and easy places, but we had a horrible stay.

Room Tip: Call any other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SenorSpielbergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

In raw terms, the Kawada Hotel is pretty good. It's in a great location (cabs to anywhere in downtown will run you about $8 max), the rooms are clean and comfortable and the cafe next door (The Cherry Pick) is AMAZING. Seriously good breakfasts.

Unfortunately it's also terrible for business travellers. They advertised "fast" internet as well as Wi-Fi, but sadly, it's quite literally the slowest connection I've ever seen. My associate and I lost a lot of money simply due to the huge amount of time it took to upload, download and generally do anything on the internet, and in an amazingly inconsiderate move, the code that you have to PAY for only works on either the Wi-Fi network OR in your room, using only the same browser. Chrome doesn't work in the rooms.

So, yeah. Until you get it sorted, do not stay here for business.

Room Tip: The ice machines are VERY loud. Ask to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BC01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I had a federal jury summons down in L.A. and I thought about staying at this hotel, since it was blocks from the courthouse, so I made an online reservation. Changed my mind the next day and canceled the reservation with over 30 days until the scheduled stay.
They charged me anyway. I called the phone number in my cancellation email and was told that the confirmation number didn't sound like theirs. I asked to speak to a manager who informed my that "somehow the reservation got duplicated and only one was canceled"
right.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank immolari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Firstly, this place is horrible.I wouldn't recommend it to anyway. I'm a college student and I am in no way used to splendor but sheesh.. This place was so old run down, and reeking of a nursing home I hate that it's the place I chose to stay four nights in. The kitchenette is gross and the mini fridge is not sanitary, cold, or packed with pricey goodies. My friend and I took a trip around the corner and bought a bottle of disinfectant spray and two fleece blankets to take the place of the linens they gave us. The undercover was burnt all over with maybe cigarette burns or something else. Honestly I hate it and i would never recommend it... Ever.

Ps. It is nicely located a block from the Civic Center But the neighborhood is quite sketchy.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Whenever I am in Los Angeles the first and only choice I choose is to stay at the Kawada Hotel,why ?
simple,the rates are low and reasonable,and the amenities are fantastic,cheap internet access,spacious rooms,and hte fact that there are the comforts of a home within a hotel,microwaves,fridges,cable TV,what have you,
and the main part for my staying there,which I have done so is the location,right in the heart of downtown LA, and is within walking distance of the nearest metro train station and metro buses,
put simply,this is the hotel to stay at if you are in Los Angeles,I give it my highest possible recommendation

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonySolomun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#47 of 350 in Los Angeles
715 reviews
The Mayfair Hotel
#242 of 350 in Los Angeles
484 reviews
Metro Plaza Hotel
#138 of 350 in Los Angeles
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#208 of 350 in Los Angeles
84 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawada Hotel

Property: Kawada Hotel
Address: 200 S Hill St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3503
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kawada Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented Hotel situated in heart of downtown, close to government buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kawada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawada Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing