We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good downtown Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #7 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very good downtown Hotel”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very nice hotel Downtown. Everything worked as you would expect from a high class hotel. We were on a Family tour and enjoyed the Los Angeles Omni a lot. Very nice staff. Nice rooms. Clean and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,235
    1,069
    226
    61
    39
See reviews for
736
1,082
216
1,086
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We went to LA (from Toronto) for a wedding and stayed just 2 nights (Fri/Sat).

The valet staff were very nice and helpful, We paid $ 30.00 per day for the parking. We did not mind paying because our stay was very short.
The front desk staff were very good and nice. The room, beds/pillows were comfortable
.
Very few items were in the breakfast menu, but it was very good. We enjoyed the breakfast.
Very lovely hotel and located in a convenient place to LAX and Hollywood.

We normally do not stay in a 4 star hotel. So this was little expensive for us, even though our stay and the purpose was fulfilled. We enjoyed and loved their service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suerama13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for letting us know that you had such a lovely stay during the festive wedding weekend. We're glad we could exceed your expectations and provide you with a relaxing and pampering environment during your visit. We hope you'll try other Omni hotels during future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My stay was very comfortable and I joined the Select Guest program just prior to arrival. Benefits promised during enrollment were fulfilled without a hitch by the hotel staff. Door key card was problematic but minor in the grander scheme of things. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, Antigua and Barbuda
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I would certainly stay there again, and recommend it to my friends and family! The hospitality and attention to detail was evident from check-in to check-out. HFTP accommodation bureau must be commended for choosing the OMNI AT CALIFORNIA PLAZA as one of the Hotels for HITEC 2014. It was a great place to relax after the conferences and walking the floor and viewing the exhibits.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Norma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure hosting you and the HITEC 2014 attendees. We look forward to welcoming you back for buiness or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Another stay at the Omni, another great week. Comfortable rooms, nice bars, excellent service. Located close to the convention center with shuttles run regularly and a 5 minute drive to LA Live area. Great restaurants and shopping within minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Erin,

Thank you for loyality! We're so glad we could exceed your expectations. We look forward to being of service when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Grist location, across the road from Bunker Hill metro,which is a relatively new clean and safe terminal. Local volunteers walk the streets to help the street people to make sure tourists aren't bothered. Had no trouble at all.
Walking distance to Union, Chinatown, Staples Centre, and 1 minute away (at the intersection at the base of the hill it sits on), the local bus which takes you past Rodeo Drive to Santa Monica Pier.
Joined their rewards scheme, and had a free light room breakfast every day!
Gym was rather small pool was reasonable size but not a lap pool ie full size.
Gary the driver was a great feature. He'll drop you off within 5mns for a small tip, and pick you up for same!
Only problem was if you walked downtown, you'll burn a few calories getting back to your hotel, as it's uphill!

Room Tip: Don't pay extra, all rooms are great quality and this hotel is not cheap anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We're so glad you found our location so ideal for exploring Downtown Los Angeles. Gary will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed his service. The complimentary transportation within a three mile radius of the hotel in our town car is a convenient way to visit the area. On your next visit, you may want to stop by Noe Restaurant for appetizers or dinner. There is a nice outdoor patio with fire pits where you can enjoy the view of California Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Omni is a truly excellent, first-class hotel and it should be for the price! I was in Los Angeles for the premiere of one of my films and picked the Omni partly because it was a special occasion and partly because of the hotel’s proximity to the theater where the screening was being held. The Omni’s rooms are extremely attractive, ultra modern and comfortable, and the location is great, with a variety of L.A. attractions nearby. I upgraded to the Club level and am glad I did because the view from the executive lounge on the 17th floor is stupendous at sunset. Club level guests also receive a superb complimentary breakfast, as well as evening cocktails with delicious light buffet in the lounge. I would have liked the Omni even more if my one night there hadn’t cost $400! If you want to treat yourself to a memorable stay in a beautiful hotel (or if the company is paying) this is a fine choice. My only gripe with this otherwise exemplary property is that they have the nerve to charge for internet access. Really? $400 a night and you’re going to charge me an extra $9.95 for internet? I find it amazing that a $40/night Motel 6 will provide free WiFi, while the Omni — at ten times that amount per night — is tacky enough to charge for something all modern travelers consider to be a basic service. Why not charge for showers as well? That very poor management choice cost you one star and you really deserve five, so I suggest you re-think your position.

Room Tip: As other reviewers have noted, the corner rooms are large and the higher floors have excellent views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhatWasAndWillBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We greatly appreciate the detailed review of your stay with us and are glad that you enjoyed your accomodations as well as the amenities of the Club Lounge. We sincerely value your business. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Wi-Fi access. We are one of the few upscale brands that offer complimentary internet access based on enrollment in our Select Guest program, for which there is no fee. Membership offers various amenities including complimentary morning service delivered to your room. We hope you will consider returning to our hotel as well as staying at other Omni Hotels & Resorts during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
660 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,086 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Property: Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing