We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for reunion of friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #8 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2014

9 friends were treated to a most welcoming trip back to the Los Angeles we knew long ago. Hotel staff, location, amenities were perfect. We used the Dash bus for local transportation and/or walked to many places of interest. Hotel courtesy cars filled in the gaps.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

It sounds like everyone had a wonderful time at your reunion. We are honored to have been able to be your host, and help make it a memorable one. We hope you will remember us for your next reunion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,867 - 1,873 of 3,821 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

The staff is incredible - professional and extremely friendly. The food in the restaurants is delicious and the service friendly and timely. Loved the fitness center. Great concierge services. Spent 10 days there and it was comfortable and homey. Centrally located hotel in the downtown area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My first stay in this hotel and I had a wonderful experience, excellent service and staff! I got the best value for my money, the accommodation was superb, no hassle check-in check-out. The room I stayed was on the 15th floor and I got the very nice view from my room overlooking the business district. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my business acquaintances, relatives and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Evelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

We are delighted to hear your overall stay exceeded your expectations. We appreciate you sharing that with your circle of friends and family. It is through word of mouth from our guests that help us be successful. We look forward to welcoming you and all of them in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Attended conference. Nicestest staff and accomodations ever. Soo clean, comfortable, cared for. Lots of attention to detail and efficentcy. Really enjoyed the location lots to walk to and enjoy in the area. Best ever!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Perfect location for our trip to see the LA Symphony play at Disney Concert Hall. The staff was great and we found the hotel to be clean and well appointed. Had lunch at the Grand Cafe, nothing special about that. Noe restaurant however was excellent. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

the hotel is nice and the plaza is amazing. all the water elements gives a great feel. breakfast was good, rooms were good and staff was nice. the parking is a bit expansive. location was good i walked in the morning and it was very connivance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank yarinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My family stayed in Omni Los Angeles in August 2013, but somehow, I was too busy to write a review for it.

The hotel is one of the best we had stayed in. I will probably get to write another review on the hotel itself some time later. But first, I would like to update readers on the public transport facilities nearby as this is a rather tricky matter. Why this is so is that the roads surrounding the hotel are on undulating ground. The front of the hotel is served by Olive Street, and buses to and from downtown can be taken there. The nearest subway station, Pershing Square, is on Hill Street. This is one street to the east. BUT, there is no easy road connection between Olive Street and Hill Street! You would need to walk south from Olive Street (a rather steep slope downhill) and turn left at Fourth Street. Easy to go to, but a hefty climb up when you return. Towards the north, the roads are on more or less even ground, but there are no road connection to the east until probably one or two kilometers away.

For first timers, it is not easy to take the bus. They do not stop at every stop unless there are passengers alighting, or waiting to board. So, it is not a good idea to count the number of stops to your destination. Buildings along the road are not of much help, especially at night, because their lights are turned off, and it is not easy to make out which building is which. Furthermore, there is no street lighting. The bus stops are just one vertical pole at the kerbside, and are hard to make out, even in the day.

We found it easier to take the subway. But, as already mentioned, the subway station is not readily accessible by road.
The hotel staff, even the travel desk, could not shed light as to how to access the subway station, which is actually very near by, as the crow flies. This is perhaps due to the fact that in America you move around by car. Only tourists, who do not wish to drive for whatever reason (left-hand drive, got to read road maps, few parking options downtown and it is expensive to park, etc), use public transport. And cost-conscious tourists don't travel by taxi.

The only other option, other than to take a cab (which is pretty expensive), is to take the hotel courtesy car. But, they have only one car, and you need to make a booking for it. For the trip back to the hotel, again you are on your own.

Fortunately for us, we found out on the second day of our stay that there is an easy way to access Hill Street. There is a cable driven vehicle called the Angel's Flight. This is next to the hotel. To access it, you go out of the hotel at the Third Floor on the south side, which houses the restaurants. It is a 50 cent ride one way per person. You get a 50% discount if you have a subway travel card. (Incidentally, the travel card can be bought at ticketing machines at the subway stations, something that is not even mentioned on the Internet). The subway station is a very short walk as you exit to the right of Angel's Flight.

Happy moving around LA.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AlanTham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to educate our guests on our public transportation system. Our concierges are always available to provide assistance with information of the city. We look forward to hearing your feedback on your stay with us, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 353 in Los Angeles
771 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,184 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $235 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing