We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Omni”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #6 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the Omni”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

This hotel was central to all of the attractions we wanted to see in LA. There were free nightly shows downtown for my teenage sons. They both loved the shows. I think Sesame Street World was showing. The hotel staff was very helpful. The beds were so soft I did not want to leave. My only complaint is the extra cost for refridge(pay extra) and no microwave. Other than the 30.00 per day in/out parking, I was very satisfied. By the way, you may be able to walk 1/2 block up Olive and get in/out parking much cheaper if you don't mind the 1/2 block stroll.

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Cost for parking
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rjboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,181
    1,053
    213
    60
    37
See reviews for
714
1,060
210
1,055
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

The front desk service and the hostess for the Grand Cafe were rude. Simply posed questions easily confused the staff who responded with arrogance. Really, 80% of the staff could use a lot customer service training. The valet staff were the only decent people. The pictures are good but inaccurate. The room was simple and small. AND the water smells like sulfur. I would never stay at an Omni hotel again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LuciMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed here 4 nights in the beginning of August 2008.

Room on 15th floor was spacious and light with all what we needed. Very clean.
View at MOCA and Disney concert hall.

Several places to dine close by in downtown LA but we used the bar at the hotel a couple of times. Great food.

We didn't see much of downtown LA but with closeby metro we reached Hollywood, Universal Stuidoes etc in 15 - 25 min.

My suggestion is to leave the car at the hotel when your going for Hollywood and Universal Studioes. Metro is great and cheap.

Friendly staff. Nice swimmingpool and fitness are.
Only minus was that the pool area ws in shade all afternoon but thats a minor deatil.

Would definitely reccomend this hotel to other people. Also for leisure travelers.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MadsCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

I stayed here during Siggraph 2008 and enjoyed it. There is an outdoor pool which was really nice. It was outside the fitness center. I really enjoyed going in for a dip after a work out.

You can get free Internet access if you sign up to be a member of the Omni hotel guest program. That was definitely a bonus.

I had a room on the 16th floor with a King sized bed. It was very comfortable and quiet. Nice views from the windows and a comfortable visit all around.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank catwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

I loved being here. This is a 4 star hotel, and it was a great experience. Everyone was very accomodating.

Our first room had a view of the fountain - unfortunately in the afternoon I smelled cigarette smoke coming up through the air vents - it was not in the hallway, so it was not neighbors.

I phoned the desk and we were immediately moved to another room. That room did not have a great view, and still had a sort of stale cig smell, so we moved again, back to the original floor, but, a corner suite, with fantastic views, and no cigarette smells whatsoever.

From the moment we arrived, Charlie helped us out (make sure you tip everyone btw, bring dollars and fives, or more if you wish), we were treated like royalty.

The maids were super sweet, the receptionists were great, the staff was amazing. Chocoalates and ice came in the afternoon as well as turn down. WiFi (make sure you sign up as a Select Guest on their website so you can get that free).

There's in and out service with the parking system, so you are only charged for parking once a day.

The bathroom is big - separate shower and bath. I asked for extra towels daily from the maid, she did this daily, without us asking which was great. BTW, the maids that we had were wonderful.

One night we were at a restaurant and called for the courtesy car to take us back.

Couldn't be happier! Great place to stay!

Oh and the manager sent us up fruit and an apology about the other two rooms, so we were very very happy.

Almost forgot this, we asked for a refrigerator for some of our personal things, and we had that in the room - no charge.

There was also daily shuttle service to the convention center.

Can you beat that? Nope!

  • Liked — service, cleanliness, views, great buffet breakfast, great buffet lunch
  • Disliked — no negatives
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelreviewer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

We just got back tonight and I just wanted to tell everybody that this hotel was a great pick for us. I picked the Omni in L.A. after reading the user reviews from tripadvisor and it was right on the money. Our room was on the eighth floor overlooking California Plaza and featured two beds with thick down comforters. The beds was comfortable, the room was quiet and smelled nice. The staff was really friendly. I needed to make change and a staff member went and got her purse and made change for me out of her own money. From the bellman, to the waiter in the cafe, to the front desk clerk everyone went out of their way to make sure our stay was great.

We ate in the cafe for breakfast. It's expensive but the waiter was really nice and professional. the food was outstanding and the coffee tasted excellent.

The view overlooking the plaza gave us great views and on Saturday night we were treated to a concert in the plaza directly below us.

It's walking distance to the Disney Concert Hall and the Museum of contemporary Art and a 2 minute drive to the 110 freeway. We went to the Santa Monica Pier in about 15 minutes and made a trip to Sunset Blvd and West Hollywood one day and a trip to Beverly Hills another day.

We went on a weekend but I expect the area is entirely different during the week. I could see huge traffic problems during the week. Also, It's just minutes from the Staples Center, the jewelry district and the convention center.

I used to work at the Four Seasons Hotel and this hotel reminded me of it, the decor, comfort and staff friendliness. I thought it was a great choice and I highly recommend it to anyone.

Here's my tip. Join the select guest club (free) and get free wireless internet and a view room upgrade for nothing.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vaj1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

We stayed at the Omni for 2 nights in August.
Overall the stay was OK. The rooms were really big, felt like an apartment, but the location is terrible.
If your in town to work in teh CBD, then fantastic, but if your a tourist, then there is NO point in staying downtown as everything is at least a 5-10 minute drive away and you have to pay for parking.

I found the Omni dated, and felt like something more suitable for the elderly. It was old fashioned and the decor really out-dated.

I wouldn't stay here again. We ended up forgoing out last night's prepaid accommodation and stayed in Beverly Hills, simply for the location.

  • Liked — The rooms were really big
  • Disliked — The location and old decor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy5034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Property: Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing