We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel with Exceptional Service !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #8 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Church Gresley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel with Exceptional Service !”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I chose a long stay at this hotel given it's Tripadvisor rating... I wasn't to be let down by my fellow reviewers here.

From the minute you've booked online until after you've left and returned home, the Omni Los Angeles bends over backwards to accommodate you in every way.

The hotel itself is easy to find, just up the hill from Pershing Square Metro Stn, take advantage of the complimentary car service and request to be picked up rather than face the hill (the Angels Flight funicular doesn't always run). Checking in to this impressive hotel is quick, simple and makes you feel really welcome (after a long 12 hour flight and journey across Los Angeles). The rooms are easy to find and with the biggest bed I've ever had in a room with lovely linen and pillows. Great coffee in the room from the filters, well stocked mini bar, black out curtains, big plasma TV, deep bath, huge shower cubicle, great lighting, multi sound system, WiFi, safe, iron & board, plenty of hangers and loads of drawer and cupboard space, I was still discovering things on my room after 7 days !

Nothing is too much trouble, every member of staff greets you wherever you are, you really feel welcome. The buffet breakfast is a treat, a huge range of American, English or European foods that never run out, copuous orange juice and coffee offered at your table.

The Bell Captains are efficient and courteous, the Concierge always at their desk with the answers you need. There is a useful little shop on the 3rd floor selling snacks, cakes, drinks, magazines and last minute things you may have forgotten to take, if they haven't got it then use the complimentary car service to Macy's on 7th which will have all you need and bring you back again.

A lovely addition of chilled fruit waters (and a brilliant water melon lemonade) in the foyer for the hottest of days, so good when you've walked up the hill from the station and a great choice of food and drinks within the hotel whether it be in a restaurant or bar or delivered to your room at a simple phone call.

My only gripe was that my room was opposite the maids room, my sleep was disturbed at 6.30am every morning when room service started work, their conversations and trolleys were a little disturbing as I lay in bed until breakfast, try to get a room away from these rooms if you want a good sleep.

Room Tip: Try to leave the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on your door at all times you are in your room and at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Iain M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,235
    1,068
    226
    61
    39
See reviews for
736
1,081
216
1,086
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

A great place for service, lovely rooms, and location. We were delighted with our stay and plan to stay here the next trip. The service of the well-trained staff takes service to another level. For example; my husband wanted to have an espresso at the cafe take-off and prefers to enjoy the espress from china rather than a paper cup, the clerk quickly assured him that was not issue within 2 minutes my husband had his espresso from a china cup!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Omni is very conveniently located in downtown Los Angeles conveniently located near the Music Center, the Disney Concert Hall, and numerous upscale restaurants, including Checkers and Kendall's Brasserie. Consistently friendly and professional staff, who made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. Bar and restaurant fare very recommendable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank JIM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here over a weekend of leisure and business. It was a great location. I like that it was right close to the highway. It was easy to get to and navigate to and from. I like that it is out of the hustle and bustle of the tourism in L.A., yet close to some of the best things to see in L.A.
We had a view of the Walt Disney Concert Hall right across the street. That was pretty neat. It was also nice being close to Little Tokyo. The staff was extremely helpful, everyone front the valet people to the front desk staff. I also appreciate the complimentary fruit infused water in the lobby. The hotel is very pretty and was clean. I liked the bathroom a lot as well.
I would definitely recommend for a good value and nice stay. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaughingD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are so glad we could exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the attractions that are nearby. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Really clean hotel which has one of the best mattresses and pillows I have slept on! The staff were friendly and the location was really easy to walk every where in downtown. The shower head had great pressure and there was never a shortage of hot water. A really cute hotel that I would be happy to stay in again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy90291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are so glad you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to being of service when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed the Omni for 3 nights and I was extremely pleased. I'm the kind of person that doesn't like to have to explain to people what good service is supposed to look like, and there were zero issues at the Omni - everyone was excellent!

Check in, valet, housekeeping, everything was just perfect. The hotel is extremely well kept and all of the staff are meticulously trained. As a bonus the restaurant Noe on site is so much more than I hoped for... My first night I walked a couple of blocks to a local steak house and it was very disappointing.

I opted to eat the second night at Noe and it was perfect, just perfect. Right out of the elevator on the third floor, great area for relaxing and drinks, nice bar area, and a really quiet dining room area - but the food was awesome. I had the sauteed scallop appetizer and it was delicious. The vintage ribeye with carmelized shallots just melted in my mouth - seriously, it was that tender and flavorful. I grew up in New Orleans and don't rave about food often.

I have to return next year and I will absolutely stay at the Omni and wouldn't consider anywhere else. Also, something that was unique. They evidently had a few large groups staying at the hotel and they actually had guests checking in sign an acknowledgement form stating that no excessive noise would be tolerated after 11:00 p.m. Love this!

Thanks and job well done!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honokaa Hawaii, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Friendly staff and knowlegable about the area Location great Noe an excellent restaurant Fire pits made it pleasant to sit outside in the evenings. Use of Town Car very helpful not more than a twenty minute wait.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are so glad you were able to enjoy the relaxing and beautiful atmosphere of the Noe patio and the surrounding view. Our associates will be glad to hear you had such an enjoyable experience and appreciated their service. Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
659 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,085 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Property: Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing