We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding night bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #7 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding night bliss”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our wedding night (wedding held elsewhere). I checked in the morning of the ceremony, somewhat early. They had no problem storing our luggage all day and arranged for it to be moved to the room when available. They also said that a friend could pick up our key, or it would be waiting for us on the side of the front desk. When we got there that night after dinner and celebrating we found out we had been upgraded to a huge suite. Our luggage had been moved to the room. In the room we were greeted by champagne on ice, bread/fruit/cheese, and flower petals on the bed laid out in the shape of a heart. Breakfast was thrown in, and they even comp'd our valet parking. The staff at the Omni went above and beyond to make the night (almost) as memorable as the day it followed, and we thank them. We live locally so not sure we will have opportunity to return, but we are looking forward to trying other Omni properties.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Congratulations again on your marriage! We were honored that you chose to share this special occasion with us, and it was our pleasure to be able to help make it even more magical at the end of the day. We hope you will remember Omni as your friend as you embark on this new journey together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,239
    1,069
    227
    61
    39
See reviews for
737
1,084
216
1,088
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Felingwmuchaf, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Now back home,after a few weeks in a Greek island (kos).. I didn't have enough free time to leave a comment .
We have stayed to Omni in July.

Such an amazing place... Everyone very friendly. There is so much attention to detail that it is really difficult to describe. I stayed there with my wife and my daughter.. Everything was perfect,very well organized.the view and the sunset indescribable .the food was awesome and room service very fast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay with us in July. We are happy to know we could exceed your expectations, and that your visit to Los Angeles was an enjoyable one. It is nice to hear you and your family arrived home safely, and we look forward to having you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

First time staying in downtown LA. I have always had great luck with Omnis in other cities and the Omini Downtown LA did not disappoint. The staff made me feel so welcomed. The room was so clean and well-appointed. The bathroom was very nice and I love the space and the separate shower and tub. The fitness center has bright and cheerful and it had all the equipment that I needed. The pool is rather small but other hotels I looked at downtown didn't even have one. I would look forward to staying at this Omni should I need to stay in downtown LA again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Your care is of our utmost concern, and we appreciate knowing that we could exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back here in Los Angeles as well as at our other Omni Hotels & Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had to be in Downtown LA for a two-night business trip, and this was perfect. I don't love Downtown for much other than business, so the Omni was a great choice. Staff is spectacular, rooms are gorgeous, and have plenty of well-placed outlets for all your gadgets. Great mobile phone reception (I have AT&T) and good wifi.

The Noe restaurant and lounge were wonderful -- very classy -- and I ended up just eating there both nights with clients and friends. The bartender made me something special when I said I felt like some type of martini with fresh juice, and it was lovely.

The few blemishes during my stay were regarding some things overlooked by the staff, which was surprising. When I checked in, the guy at front desk was so nice.... I think it was William... but I realized later he never asked me if I had an Omni rewards #, which I do, so I had to remember on my own later and give to them at checkout. Also, I had to ask for a key to my minibar... it was never offered to me while I was checking in, which was odd. I only realized to ask once the person next to me was handed hers.

The first afternoon I was there getting settled in and changing for dinner, someone from housekeeping tried to open my door without even knocking, just yelling "housekeeping room check". She would have barged in on me if I didn't have the security bar in place. I was right near the door and definitely did NOT hear her knock first. Also that night I asked for some pillows and extra towels and they brought me towels only, so I had to ask again.

But overall, everything else was great and I'll definitely keep this on my list for travel to LA when I have to be Downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view. I didn't, and my room (1224) was looking out over low-income housing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sologirltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will share your experience with our management team to ensure we make improvements in the areas you mentioned. It was an honor to be of service and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is awesome! I'm so glad that I picked this hotel to stay to celebrate my birthday. The staff was great, the rooms are clean and the location was perfect. When I come back to visit LA I will absolutely stay at the Omni Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are so glad we could be part of your birthday celebration. It sounds like you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Los Angeles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as it was in the area for a wedding we were attending. Couldnt fault the room - modern, clean and comfortable bed wii-fii was not free however we joined the loyalty scheme which gave it complimentary - worth it! Fruit water in the lobby was a nice touch and welcomed after a day's sightseeing. I would recommend this hotel only downside for me being a typical tourist was it was a bit far out from the main tourist areas of Hollywood, Beverley Hills etc. having said that we got a tap card and took the red line underground which was very easy and straight forward!

Helpful?
Thank DebC28
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are glad you could enjoy the various amenities that we offer, including those for our Select Guest members and that your stay was comfortable. We hope you will consider returning when your travels bring you to Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the end of September. Our booking, via Navelar, had been cancelled following the agency's going into administration. Fortunately, the Omni matched the offer I had received from Navelar when they were under no obligation to do so. They also provided free wi-fi and complimentary coffee/juice. They also run a limited, but complimentary shuttle service to local destinations that we took advantage of. The hotel is well located for downtown eateries and conveniently located for metro bus and train services. There's a coffee shop on site and a well stocked deli adjacent to the property. The room was clean, modern, spacious and well appointed. Not sure that down town was the best location to stay as it took an age to get anywhere but maybe that's just the nature of LA. Whilst I wouldn't necessarily stay at this omni hotel again, given it's distance from the 'sights', I'd certainly look to stay in an omni again given the high standards and service levels of this hotel.

Room Tip: Had a room high up with a view of the Disney concert hall. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salfordladsclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
661 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,090 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Property: Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing