We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #6 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Omni Los Angeles as part of our honeymoon in June 2012. This Hotel is just beautiful. The entrance is amazing and everything is so clean and tidy. We stayed in a Deluxe Room which really nice and modern. It was also very clean and tidy and a really good size. The bed as really comfy.

We had breakfast a couple of times at the Grand Cafe which was really nice with really good service.

Very handy to Downtown Los Angeles and the metro station for travel out to Beverly Hills/ Universal Studios / Walk of Fame etc, etc.
Also very close to one of the stops for the Hop on Hop Off Bus tour which took us around the rest of LA which was awesome.

Would definitly consider staying here again as it is such a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC0llins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are honored that you chose to celebrate such a joyous occasion with us. Our staff will be delighted to hear they could help make your honeymoon such a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,094
    1,024
    201
    60
    34
See reviews for
694
1,021
204
999
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Quick courteous check in,changed room at front desk,15 th floor corner room, much larger.....front desk "glad to assist you"
King bed, nice side bathroom, shower and tub,would have rather had larger shower than both.
Third floor bar, great atmosphere, inside and out seating.Everyone I came in contact were extreme accommodation and pleasant.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for such complimentary words! Our staff will be delighted to hear that they could make this stay so enjoyable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I said here with my partner for a conference followed by a holiday.

Positives:
Central location <5 mins from Pershing Square metro stop.
Receptive staff.
Fresh fruit at reception.
Large rooms.

Negative:
Poor lighting in room.
Pool is on the 4th floor surrounded by buildings and so does not get a long of direct sunlight.

Helpful?
1 Thank Manchester_UKSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We appreciate your comments, and are happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Los Angeles. We hope the conference was a productive one for you, and we look forward to your future visit back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night following a performance at the Disney Concert Hall. I requested a high level floor with view of the concert hall and got it..also got a view of the Hollywood sign in the distant hills. Upon check-in we were greeted with cookies and milk at our door as a welcome snack. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the shower head was heavenly! The outside windows were a bit dirty but we saw window washers when we ventured outside (we were informed to keep our curtains drawn for privacy as window washing was taking place that week). It is ideally located to the Disney Concert Hall (a short 5 minute walk), a Starbucks and a great French Bistro (Botegga Louie is about a 10 minute walk). We were 3 women and did not feel unsafe at all walking in this area. Valet brought us cold bottled water when we were leaving.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frau88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are so delighted to hear you and your friends enjoyed your visit with us, and to the Disney Concert Hall. Our hotel does offer complimentary town car service on availability, and would be more than willing to take you within a 3-mile radius of the hotel for dining or shopping trips. We hope you will return and take advantage of that benefit offered to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 night before I was due to return to Manchester from LAX. The hotel is conveniently located in Downtown LA and is within walking distance of the restaurants and bars.

The one thing that stood out for us was the Breakfast Buffet in the hotel that we had on the Saturday morning. The food was excellent quality for a buffet and the service was exceptional.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of staying in here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrPaulJarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! Our staff will be thrilled to know that they've exceeded your expectations. If your travels ever bring you through Los Angeles, we hope you will remember the Omni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston, uk
Level Contributor
97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The last two reviews cover most of the major points.
The hotel is well located and the rooms and facilities are first class. The staff go above and beyond the call of duty to make your stay a success. We had a couple of trivial problems in the room and they were mortified. They more than compensated for the "minor " inconvenience.
The hotel is two blocks from Pershing Metro Station. This connects Union Station, the transport hub of the city, to Hollywood. Please allow a bit of time when using for the first time. The ticketing system requires a Phd in clairvoyance and there are no staff to help. We were helped by friendly locals.

We had breakfast in the hotel. It was first class and substantial but not cheap. If you are not so hungry, try the Starbucks style cafe next to the restaurant.

If the weather is nice consider breakfasting on the Plaza next door. Plenty of seating in pleasant surroundings and several cafes. You can even purchase breakfast from the local convenience store to eat there. This opens 7am to 10pm and sells just about everything including reasonably priced wine and beer.

Also on the Plaza is the Blue Cow Bar and Kitchen. The staff here are of the same high standard as at the Hotel. It has alfresco and indoor (if somewhat noisy dining.)
This bar caters mainly for the local Banking fraternity and the overall prices are high average for the city.
From 4.30 to 6.30, Monday to Friday it does good Pub Grub and beverages at excellent prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for such complimentary comments! We are happy to hear that you were able to find and enjoy the little gems of our hotel as well as our surroundings. We hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and were pleased with our stay here. Location is excellent as it's literally a 3 minute walk to the underground/subway amd is on the 'red line', which has all the stops for tourist attractions (including universal studios). 5 dollars for a card you can use all day on bothe the subway and buses (only time we used the bus was to get to Weho and it was very easy).
Neighbourhood did not seem 'seedy' as mentioned by others, and as 2 girls we felt perfectly safe walking to local restaurants and shops (of which there are plenty cool places if you go towards Chinatown and Koreatown).
Room was massive and immaculate. Bed big and very comfy. Bathroom big with good shower. Swimming pool was free to use and also very clean.
There is a free car service within 3 miles of the hotel but we only used it once to go to the fashion district....but there if you need it.
Can't comment on food as we did eat at Omni.
Staff professional and polite.....appears to be a hotel that caters to buisness people more than tourist but it was perfect for us and would highly recommend it as a hotel to tourists.

Room Tip: We were on floor 14, on a corner room overlooking the pool and it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaJ154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Your comments are very welcome and appreciated. We are delighted to hear you and your friend had such a memorable trip and stay with us. We hope you will remember us again the next time your travels bring your through Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#10 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
The Garland
#12 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Property: Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing