We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property - good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #7 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a very nice property - rooms are especially nice. Great customer service from everyone I encountered. Used the restaurant for breakfast - quality food and excellent service. Located in a nice neighborhood with the modern art museum right next door.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russ b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing about your experience with us! Our restaurant and kitchen staff will be thrilled to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,606 - 2,612 of 3,866 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

Overpriced 3 star hotel.We have paid 1034 dollars for 2 nights.Badly overpriced.I have booked in advance and asked for the highest floor.I was given 8 out of 18 floors.Room is small.Double bed is rather single bed,one robe,no flipflops,no showers in health club.Lousy shower in rooms-water is merely oozing.On way from the LAX airport to hotel you drive through slums area.People living in sheds and trailers,cage on each window,rubbish all over the streets,thugs.Do not stop there,not even for gas station,just drive through.Scary stuff.Looks really horrible. Good sides are : location,nice food at buffet lunch

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

We appreciate your feedback, and want to sincerely apologize for not being able to accept your room requests. We do make every effort to accommodate the requests of our guests if it is possible, but sometimes we are not able to due to the occupancy of the hotel or the requirements of the group that is coming in.
We also understand that the environment traveling to the hotel may not be the best, but please rest assured that we take the care of our hotel guests very seriously. There are measures in place to ensure the safety of our guests while on our property. If there is ever any concerns while you are staying with us, our staff is more than equipped to assist you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stay here regularly when in L.A. because it is consistently awesome. They always have a lovely stand with fruit-infused water and sometimes cookies in the lobby when you arrive. The valets are always helpful with directions, etc. The rooms are always clean, and the beds are super comfortable. The gym is very nice, and I like their salt water lap pool. When you bring kids, they provide an activity package with toys and send up cookies and milk to the room. For an additional charge, you can request access to the Omni Club on the top floor for snacks, beverages, and breakfast. The hotel bar can be pretty fun sometimes and has a good wine selection, snacks, nice fireplace. All the staff are extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay with us! Our staff enjoys knowing that they were able to make your stay so memorable, and will be delighted to hear they have found a loyal guest in you. We look forward to your return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Service just doesn't get better than this. And just when I thought no OMNI could do it the better than the impeccable service at this hotel chain, this OMNI Los Angeles hotel proved me wrong. Spent a girls only weekend here with my girlfriends from work/school and came back for New Years.

1) Accommodations: Outstanding, Outstanding. Upgraded to an awesome suite as a black level guest with two rooms, two beds, two bathrooms, for a great bargain.

2) Service: Top notch as usual for OMNI but even better! Sweet welcome. yummy cider in the lobby. always welcoming doormen. free bottle of wine and goodies to welcome me as a black level guest. free morning beverage (everyone gets this!). free internet (everyone gets this!). well it just doesn't get any better.

Extra perks: free courtesy car service within a 3 mile radius for everyone. Saved us a ton of money in cab rides around downtown. Are you serious? free cab service till midnight?! Beats all hotel brands in the area! And every driver was just so kind and pleasant! What a joy it was to meet employees who just loved their job! Saved us lots of money on cab rides.

Room service: extra points for DELICIOUS FRIES delivered at 2am that hit the spot after a night of partying. Oh, and they forgot to put them on our bill. I brought it to their attention. No problem they said, Fries on Us! lol. Best fries ever!

Lovely lobby with beautiful Christmas tree!

I could go on an on. Not a single flaw where I could deduct any point.

My most memorable stay at an OMNI which always does it right anyway!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malakeh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for the opportunity to share this special girls' weekend with you and your friends! Our staff will be delighted to hear that they could be a part of making your stay so memorable. We look forward to your future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Have stayed here in the past on business only traveling with two or three others. The Omni has always been very good to us itch clean rooms with very comfortable beds and amenities. Very close to the Walt Disney Music Hall and other entertainment choices. When traveling with ladies from he office my first concern is their safety and the Omni gives me and them a sense of being safe. Other places in Los Angeles do not have a safety presence at all. The lounge at the Omni is inviting and warm. Highly recommend this place for business travelers and families.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! Our guests are our top priority in all aspects of their stay, and it is good to hear that our efforts have been successful. We always welcome any feedback that will help us be able to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I usually stay at Westin/Sheraton properties because of my platinum status and dread having to stay at other hotel chains. Not anymore! This hotel far exceeded my expectations and in my opinion has a much better hotel room for business travelers. I base this on the following: 1) electrical outlets in convenient places, such as on the side of the bed side table and desk. No need to risk a back injury moving large furniture to find an outlet. 2) Awesome mini-bar. You need a key from front desk so ask for it when you check in. 3) Great toiletries- shower gel etc.
These may seem like little things but when you travel weekly, it's the little things that count.
The service was top notch and I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ac1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to exceed your expectations, and are happy to hear we were able to do just that. Thank you for your loyalty and commitment, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I work in the hotel business and was very impressed by everything at Omni. This is a well designed hotel with excellent staff, great room service, and a great restaurant. It's the closest hotel to the Disney Concert Hall, which is why we chose it for this one night away. I will stay here again the next time and I'd certainly recommend the hotel to all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FineF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 355 in Los Angeles
799 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,197 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,861 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $218 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing