We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omni LA -What a great view and wonderful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #8 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Bronx, New York
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Omni LA -What a great view and wonderful staff.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have stayed in a number of hotels around the country, and I found the Omni to be one of the most responsive and customer centered hotels. When we arrived, the valet took great care of our car and it was always available. The front desk was very helpful and provided a plethora of information. The restuarant was outstanding. The waiters brought you samples of exotic things on the menu to whet your appetite. The room had a great view of the Arts Center. When in LA,
you must visit the Getty Center and the Observatory and stay at the Omni.

Room Tip: Please ask for a high floor and book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Our staff takes great pride in the service they provide to our guests. They will be delighted to hear they were successful in exceeding your expectations. We look forward to your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,266
    1,080
    233
    62
    40
See reviews for
749
1,093
219
1,099
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Omni during MLK holiday weekend. Got a corner room with 2 double beds. Room is spacious for 2 adults and 1 child and most importantly clean and modern.
I have noticed the staff at Omni was wonderful and attentive.
They brought cookies and milk for my son on the day we checked in. That was a nice surprise.
I also joined the select guest program and received complimentary daily beverages for 2 people delivered to our room in the morning and free wi-fi.
In the past we stayed at Marriott LA. But now we are going to stay at Omni whenever we visit LA.
Valet parking is a bit expensive $40 for weekday and $20 for weekend. But it is safer than parking at other public places.

Room Tip: Get a corner room with double beds for extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate your loyalty, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We loved this hotel. We had theater tickets for the Ahmanson and hotel was 2 blocks from there. The staff was extremely friendly and professional. We joined their "select" club. With that you get free morning beverage for 2. You fill out a card, hang on the door and in the morning they bring you the beverages. Nice touch. Everything clean. Only negative was the beds. No comfortable at all. Bumpy and lumpy.
Otherwise great hotel especially if you get AAA rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was really great with very nice rooms and facilities. I especially liked the fact that there was a grocery store and a Starbucks in the complex right below it. But don't expect to be in the middle of everything. The only landmark around is the Disney Concert Hall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara_Yang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife, son, and I had a great visit staying at the Omni. We were traveling to Southern California for the Rose Bowl, and the Omni was one of the "fan hotels" selected by the travel agent working with Stanford fans. It was a great choice!

Our room was very comfortable and impeccably clean. More important, however, the staff at the hotel was terrific. Everyone smiled and said hello, which made us feel at home. We utilized the free town car service several times, as there were Rose Bowl-related activities at the LA Live area, about a mile away - it was super easy and convenient!

I would definitely stay here again when visiting LA.

Room Tip: Our room faced Olive Street, but we did not notice any noise - this might mean that street noise wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BowlderMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We end up here from Priceline usually when we bid low on a 4 star hotel and include Downtown as an area. If you include Downtown with any other combination of geographic locations, Downtown will always be the winning bid. I like Downtown and think it is hip and fun. Little Tokyo, Chinatown, the arts district, and many cool shops are all close to the hotel. The hotel itself is nice. The rooms are modern and the beds are comfy.

BE ADVISED: Downtown LA might sound like a nice place to visit to an uniformed foreign visitor but it is not a tourist destination. It is quite safe during the day but after dark it can be easy to take a wrong turn or walk 1 block in the wrong direction and find yourself swarmed by unsavory characters. It is perfectly safe for young adults that observe basic safety protocols. But if you are traveling with small children or a group of single ladies that want to have fun at night consider staying in one of the many safer nicer neighborhoods of LA.

Room Tip: Higher the better (my universal advice).
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeMichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Packer land
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in December, 2012. I could not have asked for a nicer place to stay.
The room was nicely appointed, the bed was extremely comfortable, pillows were top notch.
Best of all, it was quiet. The bathroom had both a shower and a tub, and was well appointed. There are three different restaurants on the third floor, and we ate at two
of them, food was quite good. The service from the staff everywhere was excellent.
The rates were great , I paid 127 a night. I was highly pleased, and would stay here again.
Tip: become an Omni Select Guest and your wi-fi is free.
I did not use the pool or spa, so I can't comment on those, except to say they are available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldfoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
694 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,114 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,989 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Property: Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing