We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel- just missing something” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #7 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel- just missing something”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at the Omni Hotel from the 21st to the 23rd of December and was very pleased with the service and the size of the rooms. I booked the double queen size bed and for the price of the room during Christmas, it was great value for a newly renovated 4 star hotel in the middle of downtown. Our baby was not used to sleeping with us in the same room so we upgraded to the one bedroom suite the second night and was pleased with the discounted room rates.

We didn't even bother using the pool as looking down from our hotel room, the pool didn't seem inviting at all.

I would have given it a 5 star for rating if they had paid more attention to detail and that I didnt stay at Pelican hill resort straight after which is truly a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaRealJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,065
    1,011
    200
    57
    31
See reviews for
686
1,001
201
986
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london, england
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We got a great deal from the Omni website for this comfortable, up-market hotel in LA. The rooms were very good - large and comfortable with air con that was easy to control. The restaurant has a great breakfast buffet - with fresh fruit, eggs any way, and fantastic "artisan" breads.
So why not a rating of 5? - Well, the pool is very small, and parking is $40/night for weeknights. The location is in the financial district, so you are limited in nearby restaurants. On the plus side, there is easy freeway access, and the nearby Walt Disney concert hall is fascinating. I recommend a tour.

Room Tip: Some rooms are close to the road, on which buses run 24/7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank x229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked two rooms for our stay at the Omni over the Christmas holidays. check in / check out was a breeze. we arrived at the hotel at 1030 am and both rooms were ready....it was really nice not to have to wait until the official 1pm check in time. I had signed up for the omni loyalty program on line (which is free) and it includes free wi-fi and free beverage service in the mornings. rooms were large and very comfortable. easy walking distance to most locations....staples centre is about a 15/20 minute walk. the hotel is in a business district and the area was fairly deserted over christmas. there is a complimentary car service offered within a 3 mile radius but when we called the front desk to ask for the car to staples centre, we were told they don't drive to staples because it's too busy. so we took a cab. i complained at checkout and they waived one of our parking charges to reimburse us for the cab fare and said that we had been given incorrect information. overall the service was great and we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. would stay again. my only complaint would be the ludicrous $40 valet parking fee....this is the most i've ever had to pay for guest parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shadi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Hotel looked nice when we pulled up for the first time, but I was quickly irritated upon pulling up into valet. I was behind a couple other cars who were checking in as well, but the valet looked at us then completely ignored us and walked back to the hotel; very disappointing! I decided to pull up right in front of them and only then did they make an effort to "greet" us. For $40 dollars a night to park, I expected A LOT more. The front desk was nice enough, but after we got to the room I went online to the hotel's website and realized that they didn't tell us about the kids' package. We did indicate that our kids were coming so they should have told us about it, but they didn't. I had to call the front desk to inquire about it before they sent up the amenities, which included complimentary activity bags and snacks for the kids. Then, as if this wasn't already annoying enough, when the cookies and milk were finally delivered, I was handed the tray at the door and had to bring it in myself! What kind of service is this?! Trust me, I am not one to shy from hard work, but when you're on vacation (and at a supposedly nice hotel like this) it is important to create a great experience for the guest....that's what the whole hospitality industry is all about. Pretty much a fail in terms of service.

On the plus side, the hotel's appearance is very nice, our room was bigger than expected and the housekeeping staff is great! We travel quite a bit and have been to many different hotels...overall, a below average experience and we will likely not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodLife15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the lapse in services experienced. We take great pride in the service we provide to all our guests, and we have obviously failed you during your stay. Your concerns have been addressed with all the appropriate department heads, and we are hoping that you will provide us with another opportunity to show you true Omni service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My 3 week stay at the Omni Hotel was excellent. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and willing to take the time to help plan your 'route'/method of travel to see different sights in LA. The hotel also has a complimentary car service that is free to travel within 3 miles of the hotel. The drivers and bell boys were all very friendly and welcoming.
The rooms are very clean and have sufficient space, making you feel at home in the room.
I made great use of the gym on Level 4, which had plenty of equipment, towels, water and healthy snack bars provided.
The location of the hotel is pretty good - right in the centre of downtown LA. It was 3 blocks to walk down towards 7th St/Grand Avenue, where there are many restaurants and take-out food offerings along 7th street. Even though it gets quiet at night time, it was safe enough to walk on your own, and there are always other people walking around as well, as well as film crews which often film things in Downtown LA.
Overall, I had an excellent experience at the Omni and I would recommend it to anyone who is staying in LA. Though, I would warn them that it is quite expensive, but definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Being just across the street makes Omni an amazing location if you're in town to see a concert at Disney Hall or Dorothy Chandler, or a show at the Music Center.

As a first-time guest, I found the online reservation system was clean and easy to navigate, and I'm really happy I clicked to upgrade to a "Club Level" room from my "Deluxe Accommodations." That included access to the 17th floor lounge with cocktails and a mini-buffet that easily counted as dinner (I had chicken and mashed potatoes, had just missed the tuna on golden beet slices, and the martini was first-rate). In the morning, the continental breakfast was scrambled eggs, bacon, salmon, many kinds of bread and muffins, and a complete array of fruit. When they cleared breakfast, they brought out chips, cookies, and sodas. I'm familiar with the Downtown area, but the Club server was very helpful to some folks who were asking about where to go and what to see during their stay.

They have a "Select Guest" program, free to sign up, that allows you to customize your preferences at Omni. I requested a room on an upper floor with a view of Disney Hall, and to my delight that's exactly what I got. Too, they had an extra blanket as I asked, and there was a hand-written card in my room welcoming me.

Do also take advantage of the on-line check-in system - It lets you pick the hour of your arrival and confirm your credit card. When I arrived my room key was ready on a board off to the side of the check-in desk so I didn't have to wait in line.

So, the room was beautiful and classy, there was both a shower and a tub, and the bath products were yummy. I appreciated the small operable window to have some fresh air. On Saturday nite in the Noe Bar they had the fireplace going, and fire pits outside, with a live piano music. Very nice.

Next door is California Plaza, which hosts free concerts during the summer. When attending those concerts in the past I wondered how the sound was in the hotel rooms, so you might want to inquire about that.

Overall, it feels like a luxurious space. And it was pretty great to leave my concert at Disney Hall and walk across the street instead of having to fight traffic.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Club Level!! For a few dollars extra you get access to a breakfast and dinner spread...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammyloans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Harcourt
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

I was on a tour of some cities in U.S with my family and LA was a city of choice for us to visit. Omni hotel was our hotel of choice. The staff were friendly right from the entrance everyone seem to want to be of use to you. They had porters at the entrance to assist you. Check in was brief and quick and professional. Considering that it was my first visit to the city, the staff were amiable to be of assistance to us especially where to go and what to do. Hotel is very neat and well kept. It has modern and classy looks and there are cabs readily available to move you anywhere. It's a great value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#8 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Property: Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing