We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding weekend in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #7 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

this hotel is located in the downtown Los Angeles. I would not typically select a hotel in downtown LA but we were attending a wedding which had a block of rooms here. We arrived early but the desk staff was able to assign us a room. The Omni surprised happily me. Room 810 - large with a california king, separate seating area with sofa and chairs. Linens were comfortable and ventilation (A/C) was good. Bath included large tub with separate shower. Upon reservation, signed up for the guest program which included coffe and juice delivered to the room each morning. We ate breakfest in the dining room chosing from the menu one time and from the buffet another. Both had a varied selection of items which we found to be good. The lounge was good with a wonderful outdoor seating area. All staff we encountered were pleasent and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metuken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

We appreciate your complimentary feedback and will share it with our associates. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,652 - 2,658 of 3,863 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because my wife is has a GHA Black membership which entitled us to a double room up-grade. The hotel honoured the upgrade automatically which was good. We enjoyed our 3 nights stay at the hotel. I find the Valet services excellent and the upgraded room very satisfactory. We liked the tasteful deco and good quality bed. There were free ice fruit teas and cookies in the hotel lounge. As a "Select Guests" we were entitled to 2 beverages per person each morning - a definite PLUS!

We didn't walk the street as we had the car but the Disney Philharmonical Hall is just a few minutes walk away. It was easy enough to drive from the LAX airport to the hotel and from the hotel to the major LA attractions.

The hotel concierge was very helpful to us especially in organising our LA plane flight experience. They rang us the day before to remind us that it was booked for us.

Overall: Great room and services. I would recommend this hotel to other however it is just a bit expensive especially without the free room upgrades.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snails1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your feedback! Your comments will be shared with our staff to recognize their excellence in service to you. We are happy to hear your stay exceeded your expectations, and we look forward to having you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel is attractive in a downtown, businessy sort of way. Rooms are large and pleasantly appointed. Lobby area was very cold (well, cold in a Southern California way), and when I mentioned it to the front desk clerk, he did not really respond. I was psyched to see hot apple cider to warm me up, but found the dispenser empty. Not a big deal, but when I mentioned it to the (same) front desk clerk, he seemed completely uninterested. The parking is fairly outrageous ($40) and there are really no abundant/safe options nearby. Because it was raining, we bit the bullet. Also because it was raining, we chose to eat in the hotel restaurant, which we never do, but the food was delicious! Truffle mac and cheese and fish and chips and all reasonably priced (except for the wine). The ambience was lovely, too, with dim lighting, comfy chairs and a fireplace (never mind the flighty waitress).

Room Tip: We were on the seventh floor, which was quiet until I was awakened at 3 a.m by what sounded like som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mocksee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments, and are disappointed at the level of service you received. We pride ourselves on our service, and have discussed this with the appropriate department heads to ensure our staff are all on the same page. Your patronage is very important to us, and we hope to have an opportunity to show you the stellar service we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Location is in business district, far from decent shopping and most sights, but good if you are visiting a nearby business. Concierge was average. Front desk staff poor. Club level staff excellent. "Sunday" is the woman's name up there and she is very helpful. Rooms are average. Food is okay. If it wasnt for the woman at the front desk in the morning, this hotel might have gotten four stars.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRJRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your comments, and would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you had with our Front Desk and Concierge staff. We pride ourselves on the quality of service we provide, and we have obviously failed you in this regard. Please know that we have discussed this with the appropriate department heads, and will be re-training our staff on proper service protocols. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back, and provide you with the service we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed in Omny hotel in downtown L.A. It's is just excellent. Great room, huge bad, very high (they should consider to put an in room ladder to climb it). Breakfast is great service is very good.
As it's a working/office area there are many places to eat on lunch time. They are all closed by 6-7 P.M (except one bar-restaurant) and on week ends. Very close to Disney concert hall.
Otherwise, it's downtown L.A, not the best area to hang around in the evening although I did and felt ok.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanni17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This property is in a great location, only 5 mins walk to Pershing Square train station which we used to go to Universal Studios Hollywood rather that hire a car. The rooms in the hotel are very spacious and the beds are soo!! comfortable. If you are a Select Guest coffee or tea is delivered to your room each morning, so sign up for this programme - it's free to do so. Overall a great hotel would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneMaureen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the amenities that we have to offer to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We booked the Omni after receiving a discounted rate offer via email. On arrival we were given an upgraded room and as we had a birthday there was even a card and slice of cake. The room itself was spacious and comfortable with a view of California Plaza. The bar is open until 2am and has a late night food menu.

We will certainly stay at Omni on our next trip to LA!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdslight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear rdslight,

Thank you for sharing your comments! We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable birthday celebration. We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 355 in Los Angeles
796 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,195 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,854 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $217 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splitty, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing