We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luxe City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luxe City Center Hotel
Ranked #25 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Convenient location..I thought the exterior of the building and lobby maybe oversold the quality of the rooms slightly. Nice size room though which I was slightly suprised by. Their bath products I really like; smell amazing :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennicat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    264
    103
    32
    29
See reviews for
141
177
53
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here in August 2013. Am normally a Marriott devotee but the Live and Ritz were completely booked.

Luxe room is nicely appointed with modern finishes. Bed was not too firm, nor too soft. Didn't notice the "think walls" that other reviewers complained about. Room was quiet after 9:30pm. Checking and Checkout were seamless. Overall an excellent stay. Would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank offthewalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am in the hospitality industry. It is difficult to surpass my expectations as far as this hotel has done. EVERYONE from the greeting by the parking attendants - to the front desk - to housekeeping - and restaurant and lounge personnel were extremely friendly, helpful and willing to go above and beyond at every opportunity. I would steel all of them if I did not work 3000 miles away. The hotel itself is very clean - clearly newly renovated - maintained impeccably – I could not be more pleased to write a positive review! Someone from above has clearly imparted to the staff the need for not only efficient but Friendly service - kudos to that person! This is, in my experience, very difficult to maintain at every department level – but it is done here! The Bellservice staff, fantastic – went above and beyond in retrieving a package for me that was shipped to a wrong address, the Concierge assisted with tracing and tracking it down, the front desk – check in – check out and every interaction in between was terrific! Housekeeping and turn-down service (also unexpected but a nice treat) were perfect! The attendants out front were a welcome site both in the morning and upon returning each evening. This hotel played as backup rooms for the hospitality conference I attended and did itself proud. Everyone that I spoke to during the conference had the same experience and all were more than happy to recommend it perhaps even more than the original host hotel (a Marriott). Great job and congratulations on a superb staff and product!

Room Tip: It appeared they were all good, however I was on the 9th floor and found it quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUXECITYCENTER, Director of Operations at Luxe City Center Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you Gayle S for taking time out to recognize our staff. In reading your comments, I couldn’t help but smile. Our entire staff does a great job and for you to take the time out to write about it is the greatest compliment of all. I appreciate your kind words and hope you’re able to make it back in the near future.

Thank you again,
Ryan Block
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highstandards1034
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was at Luxe b/c of overflow at a conference as some of the reviewers. While not 'right next door' as the conf. organizers had said, it is a short walk to Marriott and right across street, easily crossed from all of LA Live. Had a great stay. Staff friendly and attentive including room service, housekeeping and even maintenance when I could not operate the fantastic rain shower! (Which was a joy each day-twice a day!). Bed was super comfortable. Would definitely seek out a Luxe after this stay! This place is posh, modern and sophisticated. Bellman welcome you back each night and you are happy to be home!

Room Tip: My room on the upper level on side next to LA Live was great. I could lie in bed and see the Hollywo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highstandards1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUXECITYCENTER, Director of Operations at Luxe City Center Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you highstandards 1034 for your thoughtful review. We appreciate the opportunity to surprise our guests with a combination of attentive, friendly service and a beautiful property. I see that you’ve reviewed quite a bit of hotels and we are thankful you took the time out to write about ours.

Thank you,
Ryan Block
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

GREAT customer service! From the moment we drove up to the hotel we were treated with warm and friendly greetings. They immediately gave us cold bottles of water before we even went into the hotel! It was so refreshing, considering it was a very hot day and most hotels gouge you with a $4 or $5 charge for a bottle of water. Every person we had contact with, from the bell boys to the bartender, gave us excellent, friendly service. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are very comfy. It is right across from the Staples Center where there are several nice restaurants and it's within walking distance to other places. Their patio is wonderful right off the restaurant/bar area. I've stayed at the Westin and other big name hotels in the downtown area and out of all of them I prefer the Luxe. They make you feel welcomed and go out of their way to be helpful. We have stayed there a few times already when we go to the Dodger games and plan to return.

Room Tip: We bought our reservations through AAA Auto Club and got the best price. It was half of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was overflowed to the Luxe when the room block for a conference I was attending sold out at the host hotel. Very glad it happened! I was there for 6 nights, and was being addressed by name within the first hour. Room was spacious, pretty, and very comfortable. Bed was terrific. Spa experience in the bath - down to the high-capacity rain shower head. Very friendly and helpful staff at all levels - concierge, front desk, f&b, housekeeping . . . . free bottles of water and apples in the lobby and water with chocolates at turn-down. Ordered room service the first night - delicious and very reasonable for a big city hotel. Loved the outdoor dining area and bar - and had opportunity to compare prices with the host hotel's f&b. Again, very pleasant and reasonable. The host hotel was immense and impersonal, and the Luxe, one block away, was friendly and intimate. I had to juggle debit cards and credit cards upon check-in due to fraud-detection policies with my bank, and there were no double - charges on the folio. The only reason I don't give it a 5-star is the lack of a pool. Otherwise, 5-star all the way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights when I was in la for a conference.
The hotel is nice. I had a quiet room which made me happy.
There is not much to eat around this particular hotel besides espn zone and the hotel restaurant so I recommend eating somewhere else before heading back to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrsygrl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#27 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#52 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#35 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxe City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe City Center Hotel

Property: Luxe City Center Hotel
Address: 1020 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#43 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe City Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the rush of the city and enjoy the relaxed comfort of Downtown L.A.'S newest boutique hotel. Our swanky urban oasis provides travelers the ideal locale for work and play, and is a refreshing recent addition to the Downtown hotel scene. The Luxe City Center Hotel is perfectly positioned steps from STAPLES Center and Nokia Theatre at L.A. LIVE, and justa few blocks from Downtown's Business District. Our 178 guestrooms, including 16 suites, are among the most spacious in the City, blending smart refined decor with a residential feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Luxe City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe City Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing