We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Ranked #44 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Solid hotel”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night and I would say that the hotel is very adequate. It's not a luxury hotel but it's very pleasant. The room was clean but very small. The staff were excellent and all really friendly. The valet attendant was so sweet as was the front desk staff. My son loved the pool! I would recommend for sure.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Tricia C,

Our people make all the difference. See you on your next trip to LA when you can stay longer. Thanks for choosing the Palomar!

Cheers,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    509
    153
    66
    55
See reviews for
430
476
138
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
409 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

As I was looking in the prior reviews I noticed that there were some mixed comments. Kimpton Hotels just have a quirkiness to them. They are not all alike and surely not the Four Seasons and don't try to be. I noticed as I was walking into the lobby at the front door was a bone shaped chalk board welcoming their expected Doggie guests Now that is quirky. The front desk person was friendly and personable. The hotel is a 30 minute walk from Westwood and UCLA. So if one is going to a college event, the medical center or the Geffen Theater it is a good choice. I do think it could use some refreshing in the main lobby as well as the hallways. The room was great. Ample size and we were provided an wonderful view of city lights as well as the Angel Gabriel from the Mormon Temple. The amenities were from ETRO and were very nice. I was disappointed in the linen on the bed and the bed felt a bit like a futon. Staff was great and we were sung our wake up call. As for the restaurant and bar easy chairs, but most of the seating are low stools with no back rest. The cocktails were great, but the service far too casual. The staff were too casually dressed and casual in their service. So tired of respnses like no worries and no problem. The response should be my pleasure.

Room Tip: Room high enough to enjoy the view and south facing if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Byron R,

Love hearing things like this about the staff! The staff and the location are some of the great things the Palomar has to offer. Come back and see us soon.

Cheers,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had decided to take 2 months off work to travel across south and north America. I can categorically say that our stay here was easily the best of all the hotels we stayed at, which included a Mandarin Oriental. To us, this was a W Hotel with more heart and thought.

The best way to describe it is everything is angled to be about you as the guest, the room has lots of comfortable, quirky but thoughtful elements with lots of space and storage. Our stay was supposed to be for 4 nights, but after going downstairs and speaking with Christian we extended to 10 nights. He was incredible in helping us sort out great rates, amazing tips and if the hospitality industry could clone him the world would be a happier place. Something that really stuck out for us was when we accidentally left our camera on top of the safe, not realising until we were at our next city. Not only was Christian clearly checking this was found and being posted out to us on his day off, we received this well before it was promised to us. I really hope he is recognised for how unique his approach is, incredibly personable and friendly but with an efficiency and execution that makes you feel well looked after in all ways. Kimpton would do well to send him out to other hotels to train staff. His energy just brightens up your day.

I can't recommend the hotel enough, this hotel is a great ambassador for all that is great about LA. A few further tips below:

LOCATION- Lots of free street parking, I would definitely hire a car and if you're flying into LAX, its really an easy drive. The hotel location is very central- you can get to every popular destination easily from the hotel with no issues including the beaches and downtown if need be.

NEARBY- Westwood Village is great, you have to visit Diddy Reise for their famous icecream sandwiches, in the evenings the queues are 30 minutes long, but well worth it or go in the daytime. This is walking distance and great cafes and shops too.

HOTEL- All rooms seem great from what I've seen, the touches like the fruit or cucumber water in reception, free coffees in the morning and wine hour are great. Also we had a few days of downtime where we just wanted to relax, and the room did not feel boring at all, great movies on demand, comfortable bed, side sofa for lounging and huge windows.

Room Tip: Plenty of free parking on side streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalpa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear JaiLondon2012,

What can I say, this is amazing! Christian embodies the Kimpton spirit and it is contagious for the employees and our guests. It is a pleasure to work with such great people and share experiences like this. Thank you for choosing the Palomar!

Cheers,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and the hotel was awesome! Service was some of the best I have got at any hotels, and InTouch members get free wi-fi and a $10 bar credit. The location is pretty good, it's about a half mile walk to any shops/restaurants, but once you make the short walk there's a lot of good dining and shopping. It was also easy to drive to Venice Beach, Beverly Hills, and other places we wanted to go. Room was very comfortable and the wine hour is a great way to start the evening. Bed was really comfortable too!

Green Features: Recycling available and they ask you to hang up your towels and re-use. Paraben free toiletries too.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank City_Travel_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear City_Travel_Girl,

Sounds like you got an early start on the holiday shopping, well done! Hopefully we were on the "nice" list...Thanks for staying with us and being a loyal InTouch member!

Cheers,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Whenever I am in the Los Angeles area, I always try to seek this hotel. The friendiness of the staff is unparallel and the small details for me make all the difference. I honestly can't say enough good things about this hotel and if I could I would single handedly rate them the top hotel in LA on trip advisor. This is my fourth time at the hotel and it stays consistently top notch. For me its really the little things that mean so much - like a docking station, convenient on-site restaurant, free internet, the complimentary local shuttle and the bath robes. Now they even offer bikes that you can now rent to explore the city. It is close to the university and just a stone's throw away from the strip on Beverly Hills. If afforded the opportunity, try the Blu Jam for breakfast. The crunchy frenchy toast is sure not to disappoint. Needless to say I can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLifeMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear LoveLifeMusic,

We love hearing we are your home when in LA! Make sure to check out the DJ at wine hour and Thursdays and Fridays. If you like the crunchy french toast, you'll love pancakes at brunch! We can't wait to see you again.

Cheers,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I love Kimptons, but this fee threw me for a loop. There should be a big warning on the phone. I called my daughter in the USA from the USA and spoke for 52 minutes and was charged $116.00, then the next day I left her a message, "Hi It's mom Love you bye" $12.00!!!
Yikes...where is the big flashing warning light saying charge your cell phone and don't use this!?!? We loved the rooms and the location was fine. We slept well. The beds are great. The morning strawberries were a tiny bit soggy, and the late late night bread was kind of the budget loaf, but the roasted veggies in the sandwich were awesome. The Caesar salads were great, but I would have liked a different flavor on the other salad dressing and there was no dressing on the salad that came with the sandwich. The ham and cheese panini was not what I would call a panini due to the bread-but that is just my opinion. We had great oatmeal and the orange juice is FRESH! We could walk about 10-15 minutes and have restaurants to chose from and we could take a taxi anywhere.

Room Tip: We were on the 15th floor 1510 and it was a great view of the moon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTheWord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear elizabethnordel,

Sorry the phone charges, we don't like the pricing from the phone company either. Blvd16 has a new fresh juice program you have to try! Great way to start the day!

Cheers,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, CA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The staff greated us cheerfully and with a "can I help you" attitude. This really set an upbeat tone for our entire three night stay. The room was very clean, with modern furniture, large, and with very comfortable with a great bed. Nice shower!

Coffee is provided in the obby in the morning, wine in the afternoon. The breakfasts at the restaurant were very good with great service.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Albertm,

You got to take full advantage of everything the Palomar has to offer! Try the pancakes for brunch at Blvd16 next time you're in town, they are amazing!

Cheers,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#19 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#77 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Address: 10740 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90024-4493
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles – Westwood is a stunner of a boutique hotel in Los Angeles’ most vibrantly beautiful neighborhood. Located on Wilshire Boulevard’s Golden Mile, this stylish “Art in Motion” hotel is steps from UCLA, Westwood Village, Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills. The luxurious guestrooms feature sweeping city views and modern artistic décor. Double Take, our on site restaurant is a stylish, modern American bar and restaurant for guests to enjoy fresh and flavorful cuisine using local sustainable products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing