We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice 1st stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Ranked #41 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 4, 2012

For a LA wedding, this was a super convenient & nice hotel: could walk to church and close to all event locations. We booked a King Spa Suite & were upgraded to Vista Suite with a great view, the upgrade was def appreciated. I had read many helpful TripAdvisor reviews about the hotel, and planned our stay accordingly. A very positive experience and hope to be back!
Here're the major pros & cons (not many):

Pros:
1. Spacious suite & really nice bathroom (though could use more counter space & places to hang extra towels or clothes).
2. Daily NYT, including the weekend's. Do not remember if we choose this preference? It was great to have. There were also other papers in the lobby every morning.
3. Heated outdoor pool: there were plenty of towels and seating, though I expect it'll be much busier during summer.
4. Morning coffee & tea bar: it was very well supplied & well maintained.
5. On Sat evening we got a call about printing Boarding Passes for Sun's flights. This is such a nice reminder service, and it was easy to use the Concierge kiosk to print.
6. Valet service was always prompt & helpful. One day I even asked them to get a relative's car when I didn't have the ticket number, I gave them guest name & car description and that was enough.
There have been a lot of TripAdvisor discussions of the valet daily charge, we used it and felt it's worthwhile. while some relatives chose to park on the streets which have plentiful free parking esp during Sat-Sun.
7. Staff all very helpful & courteous, from Reception/Valet/Housekeeping/restaurant.
8. Fitness room wasn't cramped and had a partial view, very clean & well stocked with towels. BLVD 16's private room(s) were perfect for groups.

Cons:
1. We requested an in-room coffeemaker but it was not delivered in time.
For late sleepers it'd be nice to have a morning hot drink in the room.
2. Business Ctr is not free for Kimton InTouch members.
There is free in-room Wi-Fi for members but sometimes need to use Internet away from room/not via laptop.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fbc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear FBC01,

Thank you so much for enumerating all the great things about your stay with us!

As for the internet, you would have access anywhere throughout the hotel & restaurant in addition to our business center.

Hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,694)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

973 - 979 of 1,694 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hotel Palomar is on Wilshire Blvd. in an upscale residential area, about 1/2 hr from LAX. Easy to find and 10+ min walk to Westwood Village/UCLA where you can find plenty of shops, places to eat, grocery store, pharmacy, whatever you need. The hotel lobby is comfortable and inviting with lots of art books to peruse. There's a citrus-infused ice water dispenser in the lobby - it's surprisingly refreshing and so much better than plain old bottled water. Check-in was quick. Staff was welcoming and friendly, but still professional. Stayed 2 nights in a deluxe room which was very clean, quiet, relaxing, and had ample space for 2. The décor was contemporary but warm. Terrific artwork in the guest rooms and around the property. Free wifi was easy to use and worked fine. Free newspaper and coffee were also nice. The fitness center was tidy and a bit roomier than other hotel gyms I've used which was a plus. Complimentary wine hour is something to look forward to at the Palomar – had a couple glasses of a lovely moscato. As others mentioned, this is a pet-friendly hotel - I met some adorable dogs in the elevator. I did notice some barking and yapping during the daytime while in my room, but it was barely audible. Didn't get to use the pool, but the pool area looked lively on a Sat afternoon. There were only 2 issues with this hotel which were pretty negligible. The bathroom door in our room was a sliding door, and it came off the rail, so we couldn't close it. We reported it to the front desk, and it was promptly fixed. Valet parking here is expensive - around $40. We were lucky enough to find street parking on the weekend and didn't have to use it. Overall, this is a great hotel for visiting LA and quite a value. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okitt07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Okitt07,

Thank you for highlighting all of our wonderful touch points, from wine hour to the fitness center and pool!

I hope you stay with again when travelling from Boston to Los Angeles...

Warm Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently stayed two nights at the Hotel Palomar in Westwood during a week long road trip around Southern Cali. This hotel is absolutely lovely. The service from valet through the check-in process was prompt and polite.

We had a King room on the 9th floor with a great view of the surrounding neighborhood and city. We were able to check in early and the room was spotless and beautiful. The décor is “Kimpton Cool”; the bed was dreamy comfy with really nice linens. We had a decent sized bathroom with Tub/Shower combo and great water pressure. Kimpton properties are environmentally conscious so you have to ask for extra towels if you need more than 3 bath towels per room per day. We have been huge Kimpton fans for over 10 years and have stayed at 18+ of their properties throughout the U.S. As usual, everything about our stay at the Westwood Palomar was stellar.

The hotel is located in a very upscale residential neighborhood and was close to everything we came to see and visit. There are many places to shop and to dine within a 10 to 15 minute walk in the Westwood Village. We loved the location and we were so glad we chose this property over a few others we had considered located directly in Hollywood.

The pool is located in the back of the property on the ground floor. It’s pretty small but very nice. If you want to catch some sun I suspect the window of opportunity is minimal due to the tall buildings surrounding the pool area.

We love and appreciate the wine happy hour in the lobby from 5 to 6 p.m. We did not dine at the on-site restaurant but it looked beautiful and the menu looked yummy. We did the “tourist” thing and took the open-air Hop On/Hop Off bus. This was a great way to see LA, Hollywood and Beverly Hills as well as the ocean and Santa Monica. The bus stop is only a 10 minute walk from the Hotel.

The only complaint I have was the $38 per day parking fee. I understand it’s pretty standard for “Los Angeles” but it still stings non the less. We felt a bit “gouged”. I guess we are just tired of all the “fee’s” that are becoming the norm instead of the exception... They do offer a reduced parking fee if you happen to drive a hybrid.

I don’t think you can ever go wrong with a Kimpton hotel and I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat. Highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views. Rooms facing away from Wilshire Blvd may have less traffic noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Tracy Phoenix,

Your review was very complimentary and very thorough! I really appreciate the ackowledgment of all of our touch points.

Thank you so much for your loyalty to Kimpton and I hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here with my husband and friends who were visiting from South FL.
The decor, friendly staff, and ease of travel and access to attractions made our stay worthwhile. To quote my friends, " heaven." We would definitely stay here again, no complaints. I do suggest joining the Kimpton club though, you receive free wifi and $10 credit for the minibar. Overall, I love that they are an Eco-friendly hotel and cater to their guest, both this location and the one in San Diego's Gaslamp district. :)

Room Tip: Book through their website... They have many packages and offer AAA, corporate and military discount...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrstrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear mrstrell,

Thank you so much for your loyalty to the Palomar both in San Diego as well as Los Angeles!

I'm so delighted your stay was like "heaven," and we hope to have you enter the pearly gates as much as you like!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nice and clean hotel but quite long distance if you need to get out for anything: dinner, shopping, etc. The staff is friendly and the room is nice. I would recommend this hotel as long as you have a car.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneismael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Aneismael,

Thank you for the review and I just wanted to let you know that aside from our great restaurant, Westwood village is a lovely 2 block walk through a wonderful residential neighborhood. There are several restaurants, bars and retail shopping opportunities and our courtesy car can also drop you off!

Hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I returned to this hotel. We stayed one day during our honeymoon. This hotel is spectacular. The service is superb and the suite we got is to die for. It has it's own living room which is very spacious and very nice. The bedroom is closed off by sliding doors. And the bathroom is huge, it has it's own jacuzzi tub.

The suite was luxurious but most of all very clean. The bed was comfortable. We were celebrating our anniversary so the hotel got us a free bottle of champagne, very nice.

Overall this is one of my favorite hotels in L.A. and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0rldViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear worldVIERAJERO3000,

I am so delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our incredible suites! Happy anniversary and I hope you make this occasion an annual event.

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Although I usually don't travel with my little dog, I have a soft spot for dog-friendly hotels and this is one. I also really appreciate free and well functioning wireless connectivity without having to type in any mysterious codes first, and a good cup of coffee or tea available in the morning in the lobby. Almost everyone is very friendly so I will give a pass to the one cranky, snippy woman at the front desk. Everyone has a bad day. One suggestion - review the furniture placement in the room. The rooms are not large, I am a size 2 woman, and it is almost impossible even for me to walk between the bed and the gigantic rolling desk chair. Forget doing it in the dark during the night if you want to go to the bathroom, you are certain to sustain injuries.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank checkpointcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear checkpointcheryl,

Thank you for the feedback about the room and on a future stay I hope you have the opportunity to enjoy one of our wonderful and enormously spacious one-bedroom suites!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#15 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,148 reviews
Westside
Plaza La Reina
Plaza La Reina
#99 of 353 in Los Angeles
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#66 of 353 in Los Angeles
624 reviews
Westside
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills

Address: 10740 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90024-4493
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $231 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles – Westwood is a stunner of a boutique hotel in Los Angeles’ most vibrantly beautiful neighborhood. Located on Wilshire Boulevard’s Golden Mile, this stylish “Art in Motion” hotel is steps from UCLA, Westwood Village, Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills. The luxurious guestrooms feature sweeping city views and modern artistic décor. Double Take, our on site restaurant is a stylish, modern American bar and restaurant for guests to enjoy fresh and flavorful cuisine using local sustainable products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing