We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again, never.”
Review of The Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #244 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I had two nights at the end of our holiday to spend in Los Angeles.
We knew where we would spend our days and just wanted somewhere to rest our heads at night.
On arrival we discovered we had been allocated 2 junior beds. On explaining why I wouldn't have booked them, and that 2 adults should have given them a clue, I was told they were prepared to upgrade us!
As our arrival was in the evening, and the hotel didn't have meals, the receptionist suggested we walk down the road. They couldn't advise though, as they didn't know. After walking quite some distance, and passed a number of homeless, we saw and spoke to a security guard, who told us to return to our hotel as it was not a good neighbourhood.
We returned to the room, very hungry. The room was filthy, infact i have many photographs.
The carpet was badly soiled, and smelt awful. The bathroom was unclean, and the complimentary shampoo and shower gel had been used. The sheets were stained and ripped.

The following morning we went down for breakfast. After sitting at a table, we were approached and informed that breakfast was not included. After another discussion at the desk, I was given a pass for breakfast. I had booked breakfast.
The staff are extremely hostile, and when I asked, during the conversation regards breakfast, if the kitchen was as dirty as the bedrooms, the receptionist actually nodded.
Thanks was it, we left.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jac10105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear jac10105, thank you very much for your comments. We're certainly disappointed to hear how badly your stay went. I apologize if any of our staff came across as hostile, that certainly not our service standard. I find it hard to believe your comments as relates to your guest rooms. I will certainly share them with our housekeeping department. I'll make sure that they'll understand your personal perception. If you had found Figueroa St about 4 block down from the hotel, there are lots of good places to eat. While we look forward to our upcoming renovation that will address a number of the issues you highlighted, we will look to improve upon the service we provide. A lot of new exciting things are happening at the Mayfair, I hope you consider visiting us again to see all the improvements as we are committed towards an exceptional guest experience and would like the opportunity to recover. Thank you again for your comments. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 498 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

Attracted to this hotel by a special offer. The reason for the offer was the run-down nature of the location and of the hotel - particularly the rooms. It is described as 'historic' and that apples to it.

Having said all that it was conveniently located for the metro station and shops, the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and serviced. The Gym is a joke - don't bother. The area is a little seedy but not dangerous.

I do not think that I would, in all honesty, stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LepRecorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear LepRecorn, thank you for taking your valuable time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We appreciate your comments, both positive and where we need to improve. We take comments such as yours seriously as we are constantly looking to improve and to provide an experience to our guests which is memorable. While we look forward to our upcoming renovation that will address a number of the issues you highlighted, we will look to improve upon the service we provide. Our staff make a daily effort to provide incredible service to our guests and I am happy to see that it made an impression on you. A lot of new exciting things are happening at the Mayfair, I hope you consider visiting us again as we are committed towards an exceptional guest experience and would like the opportunity to recover. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and tidy and the staff were all really helpful! Stayed with my family and 2 kids..hotel was conveniently located walking distance to shops...the area can get a bit seedy at night but otherwise overall was an enjoyable stay

The staff were happy to help whenever we had a question and were always available and having an on site car park was good

Decor a bit out dated and some mould in the tiles in the bathroom...apart from that it was your average 3 star hotel

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Tricky1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Tricky1985, thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes the staff for their warm and friendly service and takes the time to share that with us. I will definitely pass it along. Our upcoming renovation will be in a couple of months and will address some of the issues you highlighted while we continue to focus on our exceptional service. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit. Mike Shoffit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The front of the hotel you see is not a current picture. It is run down in side and out. Unless you are less than 5 feet tall and under 100 lbs, the so called queen bed will not accomodate you. All the positive reviews you are reading are from hotel employees. Please take my advice, the hotel is horrible. Lerch (Allen) at the front desk is as helpful as an automated phone recording. He kept repeating the same thing over and over when asked different questions. His boss/manager Morticia(Manu) stayed in her office to avoid assisting customers that had questions about the cleanliness of the rooms. Unless you have been in prison and prefer substandard conditions, this hotel is not for you. The fake Australian customer said walking distance, but to what. This is not downtown. If you walk anywhere you better have police escort, not a good neighborhood!

Room Tip: This hotel rates a big ZERO
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank Mamacita2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Mamacita2, thank you for taking your valuable time to share your recent stay. Certainly we are disappointed in your very negative review of our hotel. Let me assure you that we have never self posted any reviews. Trip Advisor has programs in place that prevent that from happening. The Mayfair is an older hotel. However we are only 60 days away from a complete renovation of our entire hotel. I am confident that all questions that you may have concerning our product will be answered by this renovation. As to your comments to our neighborhood, had you walked to LA Live, the Staples Center, the Nokia Theater and the many great restaurants in the area you would have seen how close these great venues are and how safe the walk is. As a gesture of good faith, I personally would like to invite you to come back to the Mayfair after our renovation and experience the change in the hotel. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here twice, at the start and end of the trip. First room was okay, with a great view, clean. But the second room was a shoebox and the shower was very dangerous - there was a 'step' in the shower making it very easy to slip over. My advice to any traveller would be to not stay in Downtown unless you are on business - but it was cheap and close to the freeways when you drive!

Room Tip: Don't stay in Downtown - nothing to do there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drivenunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Drivenunder, thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. The Mayfair has many different types and sizes of rooms; like many historic hotels, we do have some rooms that have small bathrooms. Our upcoming renovation that will starts in a couple of months will convert many of this small bath rooms to showers with modern fixtures that will enhance the look and feel of the bathroom. There are lots of exciting things happening at the Mayfair. Please come back and see all the improvements. Thank you again for your comments. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Fantastic value for LA close to subway easy to get around from here. Staff wonderful so helpful. Concierges are gems so good. Don't let older guy on desk ring a cab must be a mate of his and we were ripped off. Not a yellow cab but a black car. Only let concierge order cabs insist. Clean, large rooms we have a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Trish W, thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us about your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and very glad that you were pleased with the service provided by our staff, rest assured your comments will be passed. While we are looking forward to our upcoming transformation, we will continue to focus on our exceptional service. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#190 of 353 in Los Angeles
384 reviews
Central L.A
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
#178 of 353 in Los Angeles
621 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#150 of 353 in Los Angeles
455 reviews
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 353 in Los Angeles
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Hotel

Address: 1256 W 7th St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-2346 (Formerly Historic Mayfair Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $141 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mayfair Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Mayfair Hotel in the heart of downtown Los Angeles was the tallest building west of the Mississippi when it was built in 1926. We maintain the American charm of the Roaring Twenties with marble floors, brass fixtures, glass etchings, and fluted column pillars. Modern amenities have been added for your comfort while preserving the grandeur of Old World elegance. With 295 rooms available for guests with King, Queen, Twin full sized or single beds, the Historic Mayfair Hotel offers an affordable stay surrounded by the vibrancy of city life. Our convenient location allows guests to explore all of Los Angeles from the beautiful hillsides of Beverly Hills to the cultural hotspots of Hollywood. If you're looking for a home away from home enjoy our junior suites with a lounge area, refrigerator, and microwave, or our executive suite with a dining room and kitchenette. The Celebrity, our onsite dining, serves a full breakfast daily with a variety of hot and cold options for guests. The location of the first post Academy Awards party in 1929, the Historic Mayfair Hotel is the optimal choice for those looking to discover the architecture, culture and history of Los Angeles at reasonable rates. Our tenured and experienced staff is here to make you feel relaxed and comfortable at our hotel, and ensure that you have a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Los Angeles
Mayfair Los Angeles
Mayfair Hotel La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing