We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, noisy an OK experience for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel
Ranked #83 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clean, noisy an OK experience for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Let me be fair; The hotel is clean and the personnel are nice people. The parking is convenient and if full you park a cross the street. The complimentary breakfast was ok, the selection or variety could be better it seem that they are watching a budget. We stayed four nights on the second floor on the corner, the windows are not sound proof so we got a lot of noise from the street (cars and people screaming) also the hotel sign have lights facing the room windows so it felt like it was day even at night this is even with the drapes closed. So if you are staying for an extended period of time, maybe you would like to pay a little bid more for better quality. Now if you are in need of a good location, can't find anything and/or under a tight budget situation, then go for it. It's clean and decent. It is a little bit below a Holiday Inn Express standard. Next time I will search for other alternatives but in a crunch would stay there again and yes it did have Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    271
    132
    50
    51
See reviews for
235
115
48
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

These guys are pretty petty and unless you desperate or maybe staying only a night I would definately go elsewhere.

The asian lady on the front desk is rude and definately should not be in hotel or hospitality. While we were waiting she took a number of calls and was rude to the person on the other line. She didn't seem to want to talk to them at all, she used the line "I am very busy, it is check out time and I have a line of people". There was no one waiting, and check out time was not until 10am, it was 7.30am. This was a joke thought about leaving then but we had already paid.

The stay was fine after reading reviews on the thiefs and that we made sure our room had the sign on the door so no one entered. Staff were rude, head cleaning lady checked our bags while we entered the elevator. Not sure why felt it was extremely rude since it had nothing to do with what we brought in the room.

Also staff eat with you for breakfast which is extremely unprofessional and I have never seen anywhere in all the countries I have travelled. This is reason enough to not go. Professionalism out the door. Honestly atleast go into a separate room. Had both the police at a room a couple doors down and an ambulance/fire a few doors the other way.

Not a good place to stay. In the middle of nowhere and not many good places to eat near it at all unless you are a fan of asian breakfast/lunch/dinner.

Would suggest spending your money elsewhere. Poor excuse for a hotel, cheap and nasty. Would not want to be associated with this hotel at all and or the chain unfortunately.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess'ca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Haemeenlinna, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. We had had really nice three weeks roadtrip over the California, Nevada and Arizona, but it ended up really bad in this hotel. At the last day we stayed there, we find out that somebody had opened our luggages and stole all our new and old purses, sunglasses, jacket, belt, souvenir fridge magnets ect. Our total loss were more than 1000 $. We called police and make a police report. The manager of this hotel promised us to check the security camera. Police hadn't had time to do that. Maybe he did this and then told us, that the only one who he saw getting in our room, was the housekeeper. We should have noticed that something isn't quite right, because the housekeepers of this hotel were the only ones at that roadtrip, who never looked into your eyes or even smiled to you. Housekeeper or not but at least it was somebody from the hotel crew that used electrical key and made this crime!! The hotel didn't refund us anything. They didn't do anything for us. We feel very sad because we lost everything what we have purposely came to the States to buy. Any insurance doesn't replace what we had just bought on our trip and lost everything. So, beware about your belongings. There is no safety locker in the room and now we know why.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RecreationFamiyII, General Manager at Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to give me sincerest apologies.

As we discussed before, I have reviewed the video to see anybody entering your room. The housekeeper was in the room but did not carry anything out.

We have purchased all new safes for the rooms and we are in the process of installing safes. We can provide a safe upon request.

Please let me know if you need more information.

David Fee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here for Anime Expo in July 2014. For $110 a night, it was a steal: you are about a 10 minute walk to the Wilshire/Vermont Metro, which has both the Red and Purple lines going through it. What that means is that you get a train taking you to 7th St. Metro or Union Station every 5 minutes. For Anime Expo, every 5 minutes = awesome! Staying at a dumpy hotel Anime Expo might have a deal with isn't worth it (I won't name the others, but their cheap recommendations are roach motels). For those hitting the touristy Hollywood/Highland or Universal Studios Metro Stops, both are less than 15 minutes away by Red Line Metro.

This is a newly renovated Howard Johnson, including the bathrooms, which are pristine and clean. Water pressure is glorious in the shower. Flat screen tv with lots of channels. Free and fast wireless. Fridge and microwave. Free breakfast. . Don't expect big rooms, however: it's smaller than a bachelor pad. The rooms are not soundproof. No pool.

Biggest drawback: only one elevator. And it can get s-l-o-w. I just used the stairs most of the time.

I didn't have a car, but I agree with previous posters: the parking lot is smaller than a 7-11's. This is not the hotel to come to if you are bringing a car. If you have a pickup truck or soccer Mom van, forget about it. It's really a better hotel if you are like me: flying into LA, and using public transit only. It's a dream for us.

It's Safe: When I was there, the guests were like me going to Anime Expo; or really nice tourists from various parts of America who were all professionals. No gangsta elements staying here: don't worry! They do charge a $100 deposit, but I got it back. The whiners about that deposit are douchebags with bad intentions: good riddance to them, I say. The $100 deposit keeps the riff-raff out.

I wouldn't recommend walking alone from the Metro Station to the hotel after 10pm: it's deserted and dark on 6th and New Hampshire after dark. But really, that's with any area of downtown LA. If you're in a group, walk out as late as you want.

Good Things Less than 5 Minutes away: There is an affordable Chinese restaurant right next door to the hotel, which had a very tasty Spicy Tofu dish for a vegan like me. They also had General Tao Tofu. Their small size is $6.99, but small = super sized in LA!. Lots of meat dishes for you carnivores, as well. 24 hour booze store in a Korean complex also 5 minutes away, to go with your meal. Completing the 5 minute walk radius: 24 Hour Wal-Greens and a Denny's (if that's your thing).

Good Things 15 Minutes Walk Away: Vons, a 24 hour grocery store. It has everything there at great prices. No plastic bags in LA grocery stores, though, so bring some good quality fabric bags, unless you want to pay for flimsy paper bags that will break on the long 15 to 20 minute hike back to the hotel! The best restaurants of Koreatown are also 15 minutes away by walking. Better to bus it. (And while not my thing, there is a McDonalds 15 minutes away by walking, too)

Friendly Staff: the lovely and talented girl, Malou; and the nice guy, Alex, are the ones you want to talk to on the phone or in person if you need anything. And contrary to what some suspicious 1-review-only person has written below, the cleaning staff are nice, friendly, and courteous. We left our room for 36 hours, with all of our stuff in it, and nothing was taken, except the dirt and grime we left behind, lol. They made it super clean. The only staff member who is less-than-friendly is the general manager, David. Avoid him as much as you can, and you will enjoy your time here.

Conclusion: A good choice for single travelers, or budget-conscious couples who are using public transit in LA. If you're public transiting it in LA, it's always better to have a hotel close to multiple train lines. One train line = more waiting and more crowds. That is not the case at this super Howard Johnson close to TWO train lines in LA. :)

LAX Airport to Hotel Tip: Airport to hotel (and back) is very easy, fast, and cheap. Take the $8 (one way) LAX Flyaway Bus to Union Station. The LAX Flyaway Bus comes right outside every terminal at LAX, every 30 minutes. Then either the Red or Purple lines (North Hollywood direction, both lines on same platform) from Union Station to Wilshire/Vermont Station for the Metro Fare (approx $1.50, one way). YOU NEED A CREDIT CARD THOUGH FOR BOTH!!!!! Per person, it would be less than $10! A taxi, by comparison, is a whopping $65, one way, to the hotel! Only taxi it if you have 5 people or more, or if you have too much luggage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadianTimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Normandie
#20 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
#197 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
#141 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JJ Grand Hotel
#213 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Oxford Palace Hotel
#204 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Central L.A
Palga Grand Hotel
Palga Grand Hotel
#244 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel
Address: 603 S New Hampshire Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90005-1342 (Formerly Howard Johnson Los Angeles/Near Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#74 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus® LA Mid-Town Hotel is conveniently located in the Mid-Wilshire district, the only way to fully experience Los Angeles. Our Los Angeles hotel puts you right in the middle of the action, just 2.4 miles away, making it easy to catch the sports action at L.A. LIVE® or a concert at Microsoft Theater. If you are in town for business, for an event or tradeshow, the Los Angeles Convention Center is within reach. Browse the trendy boutiques at Melrose Avenue, shop at Beverly Center or drive down to Santa Monica and take in the California beach life. The metro station is two blocks away from the hotel making traveling for hotel guests easy to access all of Los Angeles’ famous attractions such as the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Universal Studios®, Walt Disney Studio, City Center financial districts, dining, and entertainment. Come experience our great amenities and services - this hotel is your perfect home base for visiting Los Angeles and exploring our trendy Koreatown neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Best Western so you can book your Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Quality Inn
Quality Inn Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing