We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel
Ranked #84 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

The bar was set low for here, I had to spend a few weeks in a HoJo in NY while in college but this place was far nicer than expected. The room was a good size and the pillows were nice. The hotel is only a few mins from the subway at Wilshire/Vermont which was our lifeline for the trip.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ibright05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    275
    134
    51
    52
See reviews for
238
117
48
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We picked this hotel, primarily because of the price and its proximity to the subway. We did not want to drive in LA so finding somewhere accessible by public transport was very important to us. Howard Johnson Koreatown proved to be a great base for us for a 2 night stay at the beginning of our trip and 3 night stay at the end of our trip.

On arrival into LAX we took the LAX Flyer to Union Station ($7pp), then got a TAP card which you can use on the buses and subway (I think $5 per day or $20 for a weekly pass), and caught the subway (either red or purple line) to Wilshire/Vermont station. From there it was probably a 3-5 minute walk to the hotel. It was easy.
The neighbourhood probably wasn't the greatest (there were some homeless people who slept in a carpark near the hotel) but we never felt unsafe, and even late at night there were usually others also walking around. There was also a Walgreens a block from the hotel which was great.

The room itself (on the 4th floor) was large and renovated, although definitely not to a high quality/standard. The bed was comfortable, although we had to ask for a blanket and pillows from reception (they only had sheets on the bed and small square pillows which was slightly odd).

The breakfast was pretty average but it was free.

The free wifi was good. On our last day we had a 9pm flight out of LAX and they stored our bags for us for that day which was great.

Overall it was a great base for exploring LA - we did Griffith Observatory, Hollywood, Universal Studios, the Beverly Center, Santa Monica and Venice Beach, Beverly Hills, Chinatown, Little Tokyo (dinner at Daikokuya was great - but the wait is long so get there early, put your name on the list and then go explore Little Tokyo. Grab a macaron for dessert from Lette), The Grove and the Original Farmers Market, a comedy show at The Laugh Factory, Rodeo Drive - all easily by the subway and bus system. One thing we did prior to leaving home was to go to the LA Metro website and download all of the schedules/maps for each bus we needed to get to the sites/attractions we wanted to see (e.g. we used the 720 Rapid bus to get to Santa Monica and Rodeo Drive so having the timetable and map available on the iphone was incredibly useful). The subway ran frequently, and we never waited more than 5-10 minutes.

This is not a 5 star hotel, but it is a well-priced budget hotel, which is in a good location if you want to use public transport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TKENZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
351 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel is still under renovation. We were surprised when we got off the elevator and the first few rooms had the doors without handles and everything was still being worked on. It gave it a eery feeling of an old abandoned building. We were woken up the following morning (Saturday) at 8am due to hammering and pounding. We went down to the front desk to complain and they said they would do something. Fifteen minutes later, the pounding continued. We complained again but he just said sorry and would do something for us. When we checked out, all we got was a guarantee for a great rate next time. I'm upset that they consider that a benefit to me and that I was given no warning about the construction going on. How do they charge $120 for a Howard Johnson especially with construction going on!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liquidmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at this Howard Johnson in both October 2013 on business and during the Christmas Holiday 2013 for pleasure. In October, the hotel was only partially renovated, but the hotel staff made our stay pleasant and the inconvenience from the renovations was minimal.

We stayed again in December for 7 days and had a great time. The rooms are beautiful, the staff friendly and helpful and Ruby (head of housekeeping) is a true gem. Specifically, the beds are very comfortable and the updated rooms are clean, bright and an Asian inspired restful theme (very in keeping with the Koreatown location). We had excellent access to wifi during our stay as well.

The location is great, with a metro stop just a block away, and several restaurants and coffee shops nearby including a helpful Staples and Walgreens in the next block.

Our only wish is for a business center (which we understand they are planning to install) to print tickets/boarding passes, etc. and for more choices in the breakfast room (something with protein like sausage or bacon, and maybe peanut butter, cream cheese and the like) other than just cereal, waffles (which are great) and toast.

Room Tip: The breakfast room is on the 5th floor, so being on the 4th floor allows easy access via the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bounderad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Normandie
#20 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
#145 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
#197 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JJ Grand Hotel
#210 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Central L.A
Palga Grand Hotel
Palga Grand Hotel
#244 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Oxford Palace Hotel
#207 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel
Address: 603 S New Hampshire Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90005-1342 (Formerly Howard Johnson Los Angeles/Near Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#74 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus® LA Mid-Town Hotel is conveniently located in the Mid-Wilshire district, the only way to fully experience Los Angeles. Our Los Angeles hotel puts you right in the middle of the action, just 2.4 miles away, making it easy to catch the sports action at L.A. LIVE® or a concert at Microsoft Theater. If you are in town for business, for an event or tradeshow, the Los Angeles Convention Center is within reach. Browse the trendy boutiques at Melrose Avenue, shop at Beverly Center or drive down to Santa Monica and take in the California beach life. The metro station is two blocks away from the hotel making traveling for hotel guests easy to access all of Los Angeles’ famous attractions such as the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Universal Studios®, Walt Disney Studio, City Center financial districts, dining, and entertainment. Come experience our great amenities and services - this hotel is your perfect home base for visiting Los Angeles and exploring our trendy Koreatown neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Quality Inn
Quality Inn Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing