We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I expected for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel
Ranked #76 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hotel itself was in a good location, just 5min walk to the subway. There was a drugstore across the road and some fast food shops nearby.The room was dated and furniture was shabby. There were small holes in the curtains, and the chair was stained. (I put some Kleenex on it before I sat down). The bathroom wasn't cleaned properly, as there were several hairs on the bathroom floor and around the toilet. This alone was enough for me to never return to this hotel. The breakfastwas basic, toast, cereal and donuts. The staff are nice, but the cleanliness of the bathroom was the real drawback.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbins_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 784 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was in the area visiting my relatives and I was looking for something cheap. The price for room here is not too bad for the area, but the hotel itself is average. I expected a little more though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My family stayed at this hotel, the security sucks, there are people that reside in this hotel on a monthly basis, homeless hotel, homeless without rooms camping out on a mattress outside thehotel parking lot, RUDE SECURITY and DIRTY OLD BEDSPREADS. NEVER EVER STAY THERE, YOU WILL BE SORRY!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Te G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week in April and it was a no frills kind of hotel.

The building itself is pretty old and the location of the hotel is a bit unsecure. It located near Korea Town and I would not have a family staying with children staying here. There were homeless and drunk being hanging around the hotel and on one instance the man behind the desk sent the cleaning lady out to see what was happening!

Our room was pretty dated, with chips in lamps and a cracking bathroom wall. The shower was for “short people” I am 5’7” and it is impossible to wash your hair without crouching down. The carpet had big stain marks on it all night you could hear ambulances and police cars screaming up the road, or people arguing and yelling at each other from the street.

The free continental breakfast was good, with 2 choices of cereal, toast and bagels and orange juice and coffee.

The reception desk was alright and the cleaners were the best part of the hotel. They were so nice and friendly.

I probably wouldn’t stay at this hotel again just because of safety concerns, it did not bother me that the room was old, all I am after is cheap accommodation that comes with your own bathroom!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCstar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Manager is a RUDE foreigner, Filthy rooms, moldy, bugs, doors dont even close all the way big gaps on top, crummy TV, BAD WIFI, they tell you if you dont like the WIFI to come sit in the dirty lobby and use it there. They are so dumb and rude its unbelievable, security guard is an idiot, I watched him assault someone who wanted to pick his friend (a guest) up for dinner. UNBELIEVABLE....... Do you read Korean? Better learn to stay here Rude Rude Rude....

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leeroyjenkins911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Bed bugs, i should have read review....Bed bugs, bed bugs,,, and shower bath tub does't drain......

Wifi barely connects...

They should've named as Motel, not Hotel...

I cant say that this place has worst service because there is No service at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwangmin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

They're currently remodeling some rooms but I didn't notice any dust or inconvenience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenThumbSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Normandie
#22 of 358 in Los Angeles
715 reviews
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
#159 of 358 in Los Angeles
299 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#39 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,219 reviews
Central L.A
The LINE
The LINE
#38 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,034 reviews
Harbor
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel

Address: 603 S New Hampshire Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90005-1342 (Formerly Howard Johnson Los Angeles/Near Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $157 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus® LA Mid-Town Hotel is conveniently located in the Mid-Wilshire district, the only way to fully experience Los Angeles. Our Los Angeles hotel puts you right in the middle of the action, just 2.4 miles away, making it easy to catch the sports action at L.A. LIVE® or a concert at Microsoft Theater. If you are in town for business, for an event or tradeshow, the Los Angeles Convention Center is within reach. Browse the trendy boutiques at Melrose Avenue, shop at Beverly Center or drive down to Santa Monica and take in the California beach life. The metro station is two blocks away from the hotel making traveling for hotel guests easy to access all of Los Angeles’ famous attractions such as the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Universal Studios®, Walt Disney Studio, City Center financial districts, dining, and entertainment. Come experience our great amenities and services - this hotel is your perfect home base for visiting Los Angeles and exploring our trendy Koreatown neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Quality Inn
Quality Inn Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing