We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveler rating
189
203
121
50
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
203
121
50
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews union station dodger stadium yang chow close to downtown olvera street breakfast staff underground parking safe area hotel is located within walking distance downtown la guest rooms bagels convenient location the room was nice third floor clean hotel
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 597 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2017

People on reception helpful and friendly, bedroom large as disabled room (only one left on boking). Very clean. Not best location as start of Chinatown. Not a lot to do and very limited on good restaurants. Nearest station about 20 minutes walk, which in searing heat not good. Public transport only other option. Doesn't have a bar, just a breakfast room and small room with 2 computers. Breakfast room although clean its a Throw away Hotel. Breakfast was quite good but very off putting with paper plates and plastic knives,forks,spoons and cups.coffee machine in room but paper cups! !!!! Cleaning staff cannot speak English. nothing to do in evening apart from restaurants. Went to one which had been recommended and it was very nice. The other couple of days went to an Italian restauran which again had been recommended but needed to get taxi. Area very sad and quite dirty

Stayed: October 2017
Thank williamsJ2855UI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGI8888, Manager at Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2017

Dear William:

I'm sorry you didn't find any good restaurants. Here are a few that are just a few blocks from us.

Howlin' Rays - its the newest rave restaurant
Philip The Original -
Little Jewel of New Orleans
Chego
Yang Chow
Lasa - made the Jonathan Gold list
Burger Lords - gourmet burgers.
These restaurants are all with in walking distance.

I'm sorry you went to the main terminal for Amtrak. There is actually a Chinatown Station that is right around the corner from us.

Please, in the future. Always speak with any front desk person no matter which property you stay at. They will always know where to eat, where to catch the train, bus or in our case the DASH which is mini bus that serves Downtown Los Angeles.

I do hope you give us another chance to earn your business now that you know what is really around us.

Regards,

Best Western Plus
Dragon Gate Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

This is such a nice, clean and wonderful hotel! The staff are very professional and accommodating! The rooms are HUGE and so comfortable. The breakfast is AMAZING!! And the location is so convenient and close to everything. I️ will definitely be visiting again. Thank you for the best stay ever!!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank kbs413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management421, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Greetings! Thank you for your kind review. Our staff works very hard to make every guest experience enjoyable and it is heartwarming to know that their efforts are appreciated. We hope you will join us again soon. Best wishes, Best Western PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017

We booked this room directly through Best Western for a really reasonable rate. The room was huge and extremely clean. Even though it's off a busy road, it was extremely quiet. We couldn't check in early because they were booked, but they still let us use their bathroom early. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank M4368VOrachelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGI8888, Manager at Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
We hope to serve your lodging needs again in the
near future.

Regards and safe travels,

Best Western Plus
Dragon Gate Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017

We booked a room for an overnight stay after seeing an opera at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion.This property is perfectly located for visiting the museums and concert halls on Grand Ave. A lot of reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance in the area (Chinatown). I believe that it's convenient to Dodger Stadium as well, as there were Dodger fans there for the playoff game during our stay. The room was very clean, seemed to have been recently renovated. There is a lot of space in the guestroom but the bathroom is quite small - almost no room around the sink to place or hang anything. They could have allocated the space a little better. Also the room had a refrigerator but no microwave.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank FlbrkMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGI8888, Manager at Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Dear Guest:

Thank you for the nice review. Glad you enjoyed staying and going to the opera.

We hope to see you at the next show.

Regards and safe travels,

Best Western Plus
Dragon Gate Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017

Excellent price for the proximity to downtown LA. Very clean, nice decor, large room, extremely pleasant staff all around. My only complaint was the bed sagged slightly, but not uncomfortably so. Could probably use a replacement in the near future. We will definitely stay again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank asantet2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGI8888, Manager at Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Dear Asantet:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the great score.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Regards and safe travels,

Best Western Plus
Dragon Gate Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews