We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise in Chinatown L.A.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Ranked #87 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Phenix City, al.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Surprise in Chinatown L.A.”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here for the NCAA championship football game at the Rose Bowl. When my friend told me the location of our reservation, I was skeptical. However, what a surprise I was in for as the hotel was clean, comfortable, reasonable, safe, cordial, and helpful. The first morning the owner (Peter Quawn) greeted me with a good morning and asked if everything was satisfactory. I proceeded to compliment him on his excellent staff and within minutes felt as though I had met a new friend.
Peter was extremely helpful in helping us to find our way around the L.A. area with routes and tips. The breakfast had a good variety and was fresh. There was also a courtyard containing a coffee shop with a variety of snacks. Several Chinese Restaurants were within walking distance. When I return to the L.A. area, I will definitely stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have carpet, others hardwood. We had a room with hardwood floors that were clean and comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    170
    106
    46
    29
See reviews for
146
112
42
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fortson, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hotel felt safe, was clean and décor was nicely done for this price room. Breakfast included was better than average with both cold and hot foods. Met owner, Peter, who was extremely nice and friendly but cannot say the same for the lady at check-out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carlton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I don't recommend this place, unless you need to be located in the downtown LA with little mobility. Unkind, dirty, and low-quality. The breakfast is the poorest among other BW. It'd be better to stay away from the downtown with rented car, or stay in other hotels in downtown.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank I. Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

apple valley, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel was excellent. I needed a rollaway bed and extra towels and they were provided in a very quick manner. Excellent service. I paid for parking and the valet was excellent. I was very presently surprised with everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Virginia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Everything is as advertised. The first front desk help was a bit blaze, but the second was naturally enthusiastic; can't blame the first for his feelings, but it does impact the overall feel of a visit, however slight. Room may use fire retardant chemicals in mattress/curtains, as most hotels do--if you stay here or elsewhere, please recommend the use of non-toxic chemicals in bedding/room material. Together we can bring an end to volatile organic compounds (VOCs) in hotel rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Zachary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for the second time. It was just as good as the first time I stayed there a couple of months ago. Location is very convenient to downtown LA. The bed is very, very comfortable. It is definitely my first choice for a hotel when going to downtown LA for business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank fixin2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Rooms fine. No special amenities except breakfast, which was typical (nothing special) for places in this price range. Great location near downtown Los Angeles with great public transit options and if you like Chinese food, in the heart of Chinatown. Also, very convenient to Pasadena via Gold Line station 3 blocks away. I used public transit exclusively (transit day pass = $5); but I bought a senior monthly pass for $14 at Union Station at the Metro Customer Service window and off I went for my one week stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Metro Plaza Hotel
#136 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Royal Pagoda Motel
#156 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#55 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Address: 818 North Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#68 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing