We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Ranked #87 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All as expected”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Everything is as advertised. The first front desk help was a bit blaze, but the second was naturally enthusiastic; can't blame the first for his feelings, but it does impact the overall feel of a visit, however slight. Room may use fire retardant chemicals in mattress/curtains, as most hotels do--if you stay here or elsewhere, please recommend the use of non-toxic chemicals in bedding/room material. Together we can bring an end to volatile organic compounds (VOCs) in hotel rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Zachary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    183
    110
    47
    33
See reviews for
160
117
45
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for the second time. It was just as good as the first time I stayed there a couple of months ago. Location is very convenient to downtown LA. The bed is very, very comfortable. It is definitely my first choice for a hotel when going to downtown LA for business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank fixin2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Rooms fine. No special amenities except breakfast, which was typical (nothing special) for places in this price range. Great location near downtown Los Angeles with great public transit options and if you like Chinese food, in the heart of Chinatown. Also, very convenient to Pasadena via Gold Line station 3 blocks away. I used public transit exclusively (transit day pass = $5); but I bought a senior monthly pass for $14 at Union Station at the Metro Customer Service window and off I went for my one week stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We booked online and chose it because of its proximity to Union Central Station.. We only had one night. planning to arrive by train. We were concerned about the locality and standard as it seemed a very reasonable price and included a free breakfast. China Town can be a bit scruffy but we figured for one night it would be okay. When we got to the reception the service and the staff member (Brenda) was really good, quick, efficient and very friendly. We got to our room and it was spacious, clean, comfortable, and more than we expected. The free breakfast next morning was also a pleasant surprise and set us up nicely for the day.
Value for money - fantastic.

Room Tip: It is not on a bus route so either take a taxi or do as we did and walk from the station. Just get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitnessplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the BW Dragon Gate because we wanted to be close to downtown Los Angeles. The hotel and the room were attractive and clean. All the staff was very helpful and pleasant. Parking was convenient, but $10 extra per day. Breakfast was good, but nothing special. The hotel is in walking distance of downtown (1 to 1 1/2 miles), but if you do not want that much exercise, you can catch the cheap DASH bus from about 1 block away from the hotel. The wireless Internet service was good, and there were computers available in the lobby if you did not bring your own. It's in Chinatown, so there are plenty of Chinese restaurants within a block or two; ask at the hotel front desk for a recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkuhlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Convenient location, quite close to the Union train station in Chinatown.
Decent staff.
Breakfast is ok, though there is limited room to manoeuvre when choosing breakfast.
At your own risk, you could try alternative car parks nearby as there's quite an expensive car park in the hotel with little space to get into.
Need to improve on cleanliness as there was stains left on bed sheet and bath tub.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night before a race. Very comfy beds, 3 miles from downtown. Steps to Chinatown which unfortunately we dd not have time to explore. Nice staff, clean rooms. Did not take advantage of the internet so no comments there. Arrived back too late for breakfast but took advantage of the free bananas at the front desk. Parking was underground and very convenient once we worked it out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank kcbrit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Metro Plaza Hotel
#144 of 350 in Los Angeles
370 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#48 of 350 in Los Angeles
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Address: 818 North Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#67 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing