We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn
Ranked #87 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Napa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great central location. Staff was excellent. the room was very nice. Would stay there again. Fun to walk around China town which was right there. The only part we might change was the continental breakfast. You got it at the snack shop in the mall(which was close by). Just could have been a little more substantial.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 740Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    167
    105
    46
    29
See reviews for
145
111
42
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Its a very nice Hotel. You feel like been in China. The room is very big, and everything is very clean and organized. Free breakfast every morning, which was great! The staff of the hotel is very kind and they make you feel at home. It is located in a safe neighborhood, and is very close to downtown and the mayor freeways. It was an excellent choice and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glorialo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Free Breakfast Daily. Very close to Chinatown Station on the Gold Line ( LA Metro). Recommend for everyone to come. Easy to find and a lot of restaurants are still open at night. Would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is a great value. Location is very close to downtown LA and some terrific Chinese restaurants are on the same block. Bed and room were very comfortable. I will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank fixin2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel multiple times and almost spent two or more days here. It is conveniently located near freeways 101 and Interstate 5. The building and rooms received a facelift recently, especially the rooms which have a nice modern look. In the big city like LA, the safety is always in our mind. Chinatown, in general, has gotten safer over the years to the point that we didn't feel particularly worried walk around day or night. This hotel is now feel quite safe as one can only use the room card key to access the elevator. The parking is underground with an attendant. Free continental breakfast is served at the convenient store/coffee shop in the front of the building, always crowded. There is a kung-fu studio in the first floor so you may hear the noise of kung-fu masters/disciples practicing their arts during the wake hours, not particularly bothersome. In short, it is a safe, clean, and unique for its location and style. We would be back in the future.

Room Tip: If you book two rooms, asked for two adjacent rooms that can be connected with a inside door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We chose the BW Dragon Gate because it is just two miles from our destination and not too far from LAX. We left well-satisfied with our choice. We arrived about 10 am - much too early to check in. But the front desk staff was so friendly and helpful. After taking our bags to store till we could check in, they offered us cold bottled water. When we returned later, they promptly brought out our bags gave us a bag filled with fortune cookies and bottled water. The room was exceptionally clean and updated. The bed was comfortable, and everything worked well except the low-volume toilet. Can't fault the hotel. It's probably some state-mandated model. The evening staff was equally helpful, providing a great suggestion for dinner (Yang Chow). We highly recommend this place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BNA2NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

At first sight of the hotel, I was a little wary. But the staff was so kind and friendly. The room was extremely clean. We forgot razors, it was no problem getting them. We needed to borrow scissors, no problem. They never made us feel like we were pestering them. Totally recommend if you need to stay around this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Metro Plaza Hotel
#136 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Royal Pagoda Motel
#153 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#52 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#36 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn
Address: 818 N Hill St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#68 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing