We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay I LA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Ranked #87 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Short stay I LA”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed her for three nights last July. Don't let the outside turn you off. The area is very safe. The room was huge, very clean and staff were very helpful. My husbands only complaint , being a very pedantic man, everything on the walls of the room were crooked - mirrors, light fittings, etc. our room wasn't the only one with this issue, as our son had the room next door and his was the same. However this is a very minor issue especially when you are asleep. The room was very quiet. Now, some people has reviewed that the breakfast venue was not nice. We actually enjoyed sitting in the outside fresh air having breakfast. They are at present putting in a breakfast room. In the close vicinity there are numerous and cheap (by Aussie) standards, excellent Chinese restaurants. Remember, this is China Town so it has its own special ambience. Also, it is within walking distance to Dodgers Stadium (we went to a game) - go on, get out of your comfort zone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MingymooBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    175
    107
    46
    31
See reviews for
150
115
43
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterlee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family and I stayed for a week. Good points : Freeway a couple of minutes away so easy access to where we wanted to go in Los Angeles. Room was very spacious. Breakfast was very nice with a wide choice of hot and cold food. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Bad points : hotel parking I felt was too expensive at $10 dollars a night which cost $70 dollars for the week. If we were stopping for two weeks that really would have put a hole in our pocket. Should get some kind of discount on parking if you are staying at the hotel. Floor in the room could of been a bit more thoroughly cleaned. Treading on bits when walking barefoot. Air conditioning unit old and very noisy. Overall a very nice hotel to stay in. if we were staying in los Angeles for a week again we would stay here. If we were staying for 2 weeks we would look somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joker5381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A little off the beaten path (at least for where we were headed) but well worth it. Clean, quiet and the bed was terrific. I'd go back just for the great water pressure in the shower.. hehe.. Was a little disappointed that there was a $10 charge for parking that I wasn't aware of at time of booking but it was worth it. Plus right around the corner was some of the best food ever. Be sure to check out Chow Yangs.

Room Tip: 317 was in a nice quiet location away from the elevator. Comfy bed, nice size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

conjoined rooms are cause for many problems in this hotel. there was a two inch gap under the door that led to the next room. we were awoken at 3:30am to the stench of marijuana, when I got up I saw that there was thick marijuana smoke coming under the door that led to the room next door. my husband and I were forced to wake up both our daughters and leave the premises. front desk clerk although seemed compassionate about the issue still didn't give us a discount for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the only place we stay now when we come to the area. We really enjoy everything about it; the location, employees, cleanliness, great price. We recommend this property to anyone we know coming to the LA area. Great job at The Dragon Gate Inn!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times. The rooms are decent with everything you'd expect from a Best Western with a red Oriental theme. Your experience may depend on your floor. The lower rooms closer to lobby have less waiting time for the elevators and get better Wi-Fi. The higher floor has more maintenance problems. Probably the best part about this hotel is its distance to downtown. It's near the gold line and several buses including a DASH bus. The parking is convenient, but not free.

Room Tip: Avoid the free breakfast and go to one of the inexpensive Chinese bakeries. Much tastier and a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Metro Plaza Hotel
#141 of 351 in Los Angeles
362 reviews
Royal Pagoda Motel
#157 of 351 in Los Angeles
119 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#57 of 351 in Los Angeles
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Address: 818 North Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#68 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing