We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunes Inn - Wilshire
Ranked #219 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have read some the negative reviews and I am confused because I experience was nothing like theirs. Staff was friendly. This one guy named Angelo helped me out a lot. You get what you pay for and it was totally worth the money. Fair price. Its actually in a great location, especially if your a foodie like me. Easy to get around from the hotel as well due it its location. Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libra77079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    42
    48
    33
    32
See reviews for
48
47
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Since LA is such a big City, this Hotel was for my prfekt place, where I could go to all kind of places,LA had to offer it is safe, clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful . I was happy with my choice and will recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fati1555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in march of 2012 to run the los angeles marathon. My mother booked the hotel with her flight as a package, so it was a deal. She then booked me a room for one extra night after she left so that I could rest my legs after the race alone. It was a good price. We liked the area, as that is where I used to live so we chose the hotel both for the price and nostalgia.

The hotel itself is very basic, and unfortunately during our stay the pool was under construction. We where really looking forward to that feature. Other than that, it is a very basic, average hotel with all of your basic needs. The rooms, although are a little outdated, are very clean. The bed is very comfortable too. Or, perhaps I was so tired I didn't notice a difference.

My only complaint is that one of the reservations men over the phone was kind of rude when I called at a later date to inquire about something else involving the hotel.

The area is great, slap down in LA's Hancock Park, very close to miracle mile. There are a ton of great restaurants in miracle mile to choose from, as well some of the best shopping options.

If you need a place to stay at a reasonable price in a good area, I would choose Dunnes Inn Wilshire. Do not expect a Marriot, hilton or Ritz Carlton. This is not it. This is a 3 star hotel, with 5 star folded napkins. Seriously, you will get a kick out of the detail in which they fold the bathroom napkins! It was cute.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre to my knowledge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our stay. Great rates plus it is a clean place. We were visiting from san jose CA and visited all the major attractions in los angeles. I felt we were located close to everything. I will stay here again and will recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balmore G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our first trip to LA. This hotel was booked by our travel agent when we said that are needs were clean, safe, good location and good value. We were very happy here. It was one of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed at and the staff were very helpful and friendly. It was about 20 minutes from anywhere it seemed, so the location was ideal for us. The courtyard pool area was well maintained and a delightful space to recharge after a day of sight-seeing.
Negative points (that did not matter to us but might to others): No restaurant on site, no iron, no hair dryer and the air conditioner was loud. In spite of that, we would (and will) stay there again.

Room Tip: This hotel is around a outdoor courtyard so all the hallways have outside access. Our room was on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bemba58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here in July. The price and location were both pretty good. The Inn could use some updating, and the parking spaces are very close together, but overall not a bad place to stay! The dark carpet could use replacing, but it was clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tata07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I made a reservation in advence with priceline, fully paid and non refundable according to their terms (this alone shoud have give me a hint of what I was about to experience) so they put me in a worst room ever. The room was stinking, old, dirty, carpets with big stains and smell, sheets are missing, no hot water, missing pillows, noisy, stuff was rude and didn't want to help.

Don't get near this place.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
#197 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Rotex Plaza Hotel
#235 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#119 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
JJ Grand Hotel
#210 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn - Wilshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn - Wilshire

Property: Dunes Inn - Wilshire
Address: 4300 Wilshire Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Inn - Wilshire 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our property on Wilshire Boulevard, you can experience the highlights of Los Angeles from our central location just miles away from the famous Rodeo Drive, Beverly Center, Miracle Mile and Hollywood. You can choose from a single Queen bed, two Double Beds, two Queen Beds or home-style rooms (if available); a bar and kitchenette. Each room comes with a satellite television, mini-refrigerator, ice box, air conditioning/heating and hairdryer to meet your needs. All rooms are non-smoking for your safety, and valid ID and credit card is required upon checking in, even if the reservation is prepaid. At the Dunes Inn Wilshire, guests can enjoy free wireless internet, covered parking, an ice machine, vending machine, laundry facilities on-site and much more. You can dip your tired feet in our pool after a long day exploring Los Angeles, or simply lounge in the deck area. There are microwaves on the pool deck so you can enjoy a quick meal while relaxing. You can also dine at the Dreams Cafe & Lounge, on-site restaurant to our sister hotel, Dunes Inn Sunset. We suggest taking a walk through the beautiful Hancock Park neighborhood to Larchmont Village for great dining and shopping options closeby. Our location is close to The Farmer’s Market, The Grove, Museum Row on Miracle Mile, Melrose Avenue, the Beverly Center, Beverly Hills and Hollywood Boulevard. You can also take the Metro to nearby Universal Studios, downtown Los Angeles, Santa Monica and many other popular locations in Los Angeles. Dunes Inn Wilshire is 15 miles from the LAX Airport and 10 miles from the Bob Hope/Burbank Airport.The staff at Dunes Inn Wilshire works hard to ensure excellent customer service for all our guests. We are available 24 hours a day to answer any questions, book tours and some shows, along with shuttle service (with a surcharge) to airports or any destination you need. Book a room with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunes Inn - Wilshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn - Wilshire Hotel Los Angeles
Wilshire Dunes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing