We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise - USC Parents..great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Ranked #59 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We booked this hotel because we had points - free...First, let me tell you this was BY FAR the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in at a hotel - that I can remember. The staff was friendly, it was close to USC - where my daughter is a student...and close to the Metro - we felt adventurous taking the Metro around...very fun quick trip. My son loved the cookies! Parking was expensive but it always is in LA and we live in Hawaii - its always expensive. Staff was friendly and things were clean. We enjoyed the bar and my son ate dinner in the bar.. not bad. Overall, very good experience. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Garden view was quaint and sweet - not a big deal to us, being from Hawaii but overall nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Hello N C, I am glad you and your family enjoyed the hotel!

Being a Hilton Honors members has it benefits as it you were able to book a free night with your points!!

Next time you visit please do not hesitate to contact me at Orlando.Salazar@Hilton.com and I will happily assist you

Fight On!!!

Orlando Salazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,191 of 2,110 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

It is apparent customer service is a priority at the Los Angeles Downtown DoubleTree. My expectations were exceeded in every way, from check-in's friendly service from bell boy to check-in desk and departure with a bottle of water offered for my travels. There are many choices in LA, but in the future the DoubleTree will be my choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Hello Joanna, Thank you for sharing with us; we are very happy to read that you enjoyed our staff and their service!

Please do not hesitate to contact me at Orlando.Salazar@hilton.com should you need assistance in the future.

Orlando Salazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Doubletree downtown LA. Staff Excellent, Room Excellent, and Cookies Delicious! They gave us a late checkout at no charge. The room had a great view of the city. It was located near many points of interest.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Hello thank you for sharing with us the details of your stay I am glad to read that you enjoyed yourself!

Orlando Salazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Obviously, this was not a pleasure trip,nonetheless,due to the situation, a quiet,comfortable hotel was a priority for my husband.

Due to the fact a procedure was involved, they offer a discount rate for patients which was a bonus! They also let us check in 2 hours early with no issues. This alleviated a slot of stress for us regarding pre-op requirements. They were also understanding regarding possibility of having to either: add or subtract a night due to surgery issues. Late check out was also no issue. Another bonus: usually parking is like $30 per night ...for USC patients staying there only $10 per vehicle per day. The hotel also recently contracted with a service to shuttle guests pretty much anywhere at little or no cost. For USC it was free so I could leave my car @ USC & not stress driving.
Yes, the hotel is located in downtown area, there was city noise. However, they even offer ear plugs, so no worries.Room service was actually pretty quick, too. Big plus for us is that the room thermostat can be adjusted OR turned off completely, or just use the fan for circulation if desired. No hot or cold air going off & on all night.

2 weeks later, due to complication,, we had to return on an ER basis & they found me a room at the discount rate on the spot...a relief.
Only problem for us ,and a minor one, was where to enter the Hotel! even GPS was confused! Just drive around the block till you see entrance.

Side Note: USC/Keck Hospital is so professional and for us, runs like a fine tuned machine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Hello Jula, thank you for the kind words; I understand your visit was not for leisure and it can be a very difficult time for you. I am glad my staff was able to make your stay as stress free as possible.

Now I normally do not say this but unless you are visiting us for a vacation "We do not want to see you again!" may you and your family stay healthy and if you need us we are right here to help!

Orlando Salazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed because of our son's wedding. The hotel was excellent and we enjoyed the roof garden. The water was nice and clean and the sounds of the city was not a distraction. The room was quiet, very clean and the hot water didn't require a long wait!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Hello Edward; I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully such a special day as your son's wedding was both positive and without challenges.

Thank you for sharing your special day with us

Orlando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Although I didn't need to stay downtown I decided this was a good deal and why not try it, am I glad I did. The staff was some of the friendliest and the hotel was done very nice. My room was very well appointed and the rice paper shades I think were brilliant. It feels like an oasis in downtown. I even had a view of the Japanese garden.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank TravelingGman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Hello GmanNomad; Thank you for the kind words I have shared your feedback with our staff and they are very proud to have been able to provide you with such strong service

Thank you

Orlando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

For many travelers, this may be the best option for a downtown LA stay. The staff is friendly enough, but the dated rooms and awkward arrangement of some floors (I kept getting off on the "G" floor, which turned out not to be the ground floor, and led to a dark walk into an unlighted stairwell somewhere in the building) will be an impediment to some.

By the way, "G" stands for gardens, and for those that like Japanese gardens, this hotel will impress...during the day.

Also, "Little Tokyo" offers a lot of options for eating.

Room Tip: The hotel is being renovated currently. Be sure to inquire about the renovations, including to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PLAfromMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Hello plamichigan, Apologies for the confusion with our elevators; our Japanese Gardens "located on the G Level" are open from 7am to 10pm. I will share your feedback with our security team as this is something we can better communicate to our guests

Thank you again

Orlando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,201 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#51 of 355 in Los Angeles
742 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#68 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,325 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown

Address: 120 South Los Angeles Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3724 (Formerly Kyoto Grand Hotel and Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#37 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#40 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $197 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Little Tokyo and less than half a mile from LA Live, our Downtown Los Angeles hotel features a beautiful rooftop garden and renovated accommodations with stunning skyline views. Each guest room, furnished with sophisticated Asian-fusion décor, features a work desk with basic Internet access, plush bedding, and a 42-inch LCD HDTV. Upgrade to a suite for a touch of indulgence and extra space with special amenities including a soothing whirlpool bath, sofa bed, and dining area. Additional on-property amenities include a 24-hour business center, a 24-hour fitness center, and dining options. With over 12,000 square feet of space, 14 meeting rooms, two ballrooms, and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment, planning a corporate seminar or holiday party is simple. Or, host a stunning wedding at Kyoto Gardens, our Japanese rooftop garden complete with cascading waterfalls, tranquil ponds, and downtown skyline views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Grand Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing