We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Grand and special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Ranked #59 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 13, 2008

I live in LA without a car. I looked for a hotel near the Metro station and Art Museum I was attending within walking distance. This place was a gem. Three blocks from the Metro station and two blocks from the Japanese American National Museum, right in the heart of LA's Little Tokyo. Formerly the New Otani Hotel, (It still has an Asian/Japanese theme) they have about a 20 story tower complete with everything you need. A lobby bar which also serves food, the weekend bartender Roberto G. makes the best mojito you could ever have and also is so personable he shold have a tv show.. Also a lobby level restaurant (Azealia) for mainly american food. A couple floors up are the main eateries, a fine food venue with a sushi and shashimi area, a place with a lot of beef and asian inspired influences and a mainly nighttime bar with every drink you want, including every type of sake, as well as food items. Hours vary depending on the day but there's always something, including room service if it's that late. Plus you're in the heart of little Tokyo. Yeah it might not feel great at 10 or 11 at night but it's safe! And there's a ton of other places to eat as well as the in-house Starbuck's, but they close early.
For the hotel itself, easy and quick check-in and out, very competent staff, I never had a problem go unanswered. The room, I had a basic room, was everything you could expect, windows that open, variable A/C, bathroom toiletries, the tv even includes a few HBO channels.
My favorite feature was the authentic Japanese Garden, located on a terrace on the third floor, it is a several acre oasis garden of foliage, streams and a waterfall. In one corner there is a full bar and grill where you can walk-up or order food to your table. Grilled ribs and a cool drink while admiring the LA skyline in the middle of a Japanese Garden, how cool!
The hotel's staff was always there, not only for security but to make sure you had no problems. I never had one.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beachkidboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,806 - 1,812 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2008

I'll begin with the positives--very friendly housekeeping staff; nice waiter at the downstairs restaurant and good food too; helpful bell man; and very beautiful lobby and gardens. Now with the negatives--The lobby was beautiful as stated before, so it was a complete shock to find a room that had a stale smell with carpets that were stained all over and the beds were not comfortable. There was a large group (25+) of 18-21 year olds staying there on Saturday night who were extremely rude and beligerant; I felt unsafe with them around, but the staff seemed unconcerned about the profanity there were loudly speaking throughout the lobby and garage. I was traveling with my 15 y.o. niece on a road trip from San Jose area, and we ended up leaving a day early even though I had prepaid for the night. The front desk staff were indifferent as to why we were leaving a day early. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area except to say to check out the gardens and lobby during the day when it's quiet and safe.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dmesoulflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Spent a delightful 5 days here. Had 2 days of biz in downtown LA and decided to add some time on either side of that. Love the location in Little Tokyo. Staff very helpful and friendly. Housekeeping was lovely and on top of all details. Had excellent experience at hair salon in hotel, and I cannot give high enough reviews for the shiatsu massage. Truly exceptional massage at the health spa facility which is on the hotel property, but a separate entity from hotel.

Superlative sushi close by too.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Monica84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

The hotel and its "Garden in the Sky" are beautiful. The room themselves are standard looking but comfortable and clean. I checked out the Garden in the Sky which is their outdoor garden on the third level of the hotel. It is gorgeous and has a great bar in the back where you can buy happy hour drinks, wine and yummy snacks. I ate a big pretzel with jalapeno melted cheese at a cute table by their man-made river. The scenary is serene and also gives you a great skyscraper view of LA. For its price, it is great. I also liked the fact that it offered self-parking, not just valet. I will definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Krzykty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DreamerLMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airlinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank josephmartines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#50 of 355 in Los Angeles
747 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,205 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#66 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,348 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
827 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown

Address: 120 South Los Angeles Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3724 (Formerly Kyoto Grand Hotel and Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#37 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#40 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $223 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Little Tokyo and less than half a mile from LA Live, our Downtown Los Angeles hotel features a beautiful rooftop garden and renovated accommodations with stunning skyline views. Each guest room, furnished with sophisticated Asian-fusion décor, features a work desk with basic Internet access, plush bedding, and a 42-inch LCD HDTV. Upgrade to a suite for a touch of indulgence and extra space with special amenities including a soothing whirlpool bath, sofa bed, and dining area. Additional on-property amenities include a 24-hour business center, a 24-hour fitness center, and dining options. With over 12,000 square feet of space, 14 meeting rooms, two ballrooms, and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment, planning a corporate seminar or holiday party is simple. Or, host a stunning wedding at Kyoto Gardens, our Japanese rooftop garden complete with cascading waterfalls, tranquil ponds, and downtown skyline views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Grand Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing