We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, not a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Ranked #57 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good hotel, not a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights en route to vegas from hawaii. Hotel had just been refurbished so had a lovely room. Not really much about, area was a little rough, was quite scary walking back at night. Quite a walk from the nearest public transport too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sally d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello sally d, thank you for sharing with us about your recent stay with us; I am very sorry that you were not comfortable about our local area. Please feel free to contact either my CARE agents or I and we will be happy to provide you with a walking map of the area, with our recommendations about what areas to visit.

I can be reached at orlando.salazar@hilton.com; for any assistance

Orlando Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    690
    319
    151
    71
See reviews for
383
427
174
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights there, the room and bathroom was clean and well attended. Everything was really superb and good till the check out Date.
Just before checking out, we were handed a huge bill(which was absolutely wrong) for making calls. This was later solved, when we spoke to the manager. I advise all tourists to always check the bills before checking out, to make sure the hotel havent overcharge them. Overall the hotel was nice, in downtown, and room was clean. P.S. - Definitely would prefer a much more attentive, experienced and careful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocSJ_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello drsayanta, Thank you for letting us know of your experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Los Angeles Downtown. I understand that you experienced challenges with phone charges on your final invoice. I am very sorry that you had to take time out to have it resolved.

I understand that our management team corrected it but if there is anything further I may assist with please contact me at Orlando.Salazar@hilton.com

Orlando Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were staying in San Diego but decided to spend 2 nights within reach of Hollywood / the main Train/Metro links. The Doubletree seemed to be only a short walk (10 mins) from the main Union train station and Hollywood a 10-15m from the station area by Metro. Staff were all friendly and helpful, especially Brian on reception. We didn’t use the restaurant so cannot comment but breakfast was nice. Only criticism was the en-suite in the bedroom was tiny but the bedroom itself was a decent size and the bed really comfortable. We saw some signs of vagrants (it is a city!) but didn’t experience any trouble.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello Paul M. Thank you for sharing with us about your experience. I am very glad to read that you were able to enjoy the convient location we have in relation to local public transport. I will share with Brian the positive feedback you shared about him. I agree Brian is a very important piece of our team!!!

If there is anything further I may assist with please contact me at orlando.salazar@hilton.com

Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

we stayed in this hotel in november for 3 amazing nights. the staff at the front desk were so nice and so friendly. the room was new and clean. the bathroom was clean and well appointed. the only negative i would say is that the water took a good while to drain away afyer having a shower. the coffee machine was broken but the cleaning lady replaced it immediately and left a note to apologise for the inconvenience and also left a yummy cookie. she was lovely in fact all the staff were. i loved this hotel and the little tokyo centre around the corner was very interesting. the hop on hop off sightseeing bus picked up from outside that centre so that was good too. its a great spot to stay when in LA. if i go nack i will stay here again. p.s. the roof garden is a great place to chill with a starbucks. p.p.s. there is a starbucks on the ground floor. happy days! :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank trigger76
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello trigger76, Thank you for your great review, we take such pride in our CARE agents and they were very pleased to read that you enjoyed their services. Thank you for advising us about the challenges you encountered in the accomodation; I am glad we were able to resolve them.

If you would please contact me at Orlando.Salazar@hilton.com; to provide me details of your stay as I would love to personally recognize the Room Attendant which replaced your coffee maker and provided you with an apology and cookie.

I look forward to hearing back from you

Orlando Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Staff was pleasant. The room exactly what I needed, clean, quiet and comfortable with just the Amenities. The hotel location perfectly suited my needs, being close to the places I wanted to get to. There was some graffiti scratched into some metal panels of one of the elevators which it would be nice to see repaired.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello Robin F. , Thank you for your feedback about your stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and we suited your needs.

I will have our property maintenance team review the graffiti on our elevator panels and have them repaired. Thank you for bringing this to our attention,

Hospitably,
Orlando Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We accomodate in this hotel for a two days layover traveling further to another place... was the first time we visit los angeles so we thought is the best place to stay for visiting the known best places in LA.. actually is very far from Holywood, from Santa Monica, Beverly hills and other places we actually visited in this two days... it was possible because we met a friend and she drove us to this places.. :D ..other way i think is better to book a hotel in hollywood..

The fact that the hotel is in Little Tokyo was very cool because the restaurants are so good (if u like asian food) and not expensive at all!!!

We reserved king room but received doubles with no view at all... hmm... not so pleasant..

The hotel has 1970s design, kind of dated but and the staff is friendly enough... but the garden is absolutely fantastic!! Overall, an adequate stay at a typical older hotel. Nothing to write home about, either good or bad... lets say fair! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constantin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello Constantin R., Thank you for sharing about your experience at Doubletree by Hilton Los Angeles Downtown. I am sorry that we did not provide you with the bedding accomodation that was reserved if you can please email me the details of your stay at Orlando.Salazar@hilton.com, i can review the matter and take corrective action.

I also wanted to inform you that the Metro Red Line is a very fast and convinient way of getting to Hollywood from Downtown LA. The station is a short walk from the hotel (3 blocks) on the corner of Hill & 1st Street. This service costs less that $5.00 roundtrip per person and will get you to Hollywood in about 20 minutes, with LA traffic the highways can take up to 30 minutes

Hope this information helps!

Orlando Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

4 night stay for a conference at LA Live convention center. Had a car so drove it everyday, safe parking here. A few places to walk nearby for food and drinks, neighborhood a bit sketchy after dark...skid row not far off, but this hotel is very safe and feels secure. Lobby bartender was great, and only used the on site Starbucks for breakfast. Not a tourist destination but just right for business.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello J W, thanks for the great feedback! I am glad to read that we were able to satisfy your needs for business while staying with us. Make sure you leave some time for fun when you visit us next as our CARE agents can definately recommend some great areas to visit.

Our Bartending team is very good and I am glad you enjoyed their service.

Hospitably,

Orlando Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#50 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#51 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#8 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Address: 120 South Los Angeles Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3724 (Formerly Kyoto Grand Hotel and Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Little Tokyo and less than half a mile from LA Live, our Downtown Los Angeles hotel features a beautiful rooftop garden and renovated accommodations with stunning skyline views. Each guest room, furnished with sophisticated Asian-fusion décor, features a work desk with basic Internet access, plush bedding, and a 42-inch LCD HDTV. Upgrade to a suite for a touch of indulgence and extra space with special amenities including a soothing whirlpool bath, sofa bed, and dining area. Additional on-property amenities include a 24-hour business center, a 24-hour fitness center, and dining options. With over 12,000 square feet of space, 14 meeting rooms, two ballrooms, and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment, planning a corporate seminar or holiday party is simple. Or, host a stunning wedding at Kyoto Gardens, our Japanese rooftop garden complete with cascading waterfalls, tranquil ponds, and downtown skyline views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Grand Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing