We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Ranked #60 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night last week. Wasnt too bad. Location is ok. Right off the freeway about 4 blocks down. Parking here is pricey at $30 a day. Found a pair of black socks in the closet. Called housekeeping and they took care of it pretty quick. The staff was very professional and curtious. The room has a mini fridge but no safe. Beds are comfortable and the shower has good water pressure. Would stay here again if in town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tikal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Hello Will00_9, thank you for the feedback about your recent stay; I am pleased to inform you that we have recently completed a project in which all guest rooms were equipped with in room safes.

I do hope that you will continue to patron us as you stated and if there is anything I can do for you please do not hesitate to contact me for assistance.

Orlando Salazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,348 - 1,354 of 2,110 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at the DoubleTree by Hilton with friends so that we could see a concert that was held in ChinaTown. The first part that was frustrating when we were forced to pay $36 for valet parking (per day which was not said at the time) and no option for self parking. The next day we wanted to get something out of the car and found out that the valet never turned off the lights of the car the night before, resulting in us having to jump the car two days in a row. We also were charged for calling the hotel from our own room which seemed ridiculous. The plus side of this hotel was the beautiful garden that we spent a lot of our time looking at downtown. I definitely plan to avoid this chain of hotel because of the charges and service we received from the valet and checking in/out. The bar was a good place for happy hour but that's about it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Hello Cassie, thank you for taking time out of your day to provide us with feedback. I am very sorry that you were not informed by our team members of our self parking option which is $30.00 per day with unlimited in/out privileges. I will also speak with our parking management regarding the experience with the service provided by our valet CARE agents.

If you would be kind enough to email me at orlando.salazar@hilton.com; I would like to discuss this matter further with you offline so I may make it right for you.

Hospitably,

Orlando Salazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel was great! It's been awhile since I found a hotel this nice. Bedding and mattress were very clean and comfortable. Room was perfect, whole family slept like a baby. There is a parking fee of $15/day that isn't disclosed in the online reservations until you arrive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Hello Linda, thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at Doubletree Los Angeles Downtown, I am very happy to see that we were able to exceed many of your expectations. I will personally ensure that the cost of Parking is posted on our website.

Thank you

Orlando Salazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I was here for the NCAA Mens West regional basketball games. Took advantage of their free shuttle service to the Staples Center, both drivers that drove while I was here were very professional. The Director of Front Office, Orlando Salazar was very helpful during my stay. I can not say enough good things about him. Very good asset to the Hilton family. Keep up the good work.I will definitley stay here on my future trips to LA

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcanter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Hello lcanter1, thank you very much for the kind words shared about our team member. I do hope that the NCAA Regionals were as exciting for you live at Staples Centers as they were on television.

Hopefully your travels will bring you back to Los Angeles and you will continue to stay with us in the future.

Hospitably,

Orlando Salazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I thought the Hilton brand carried a lot of weight in the service and expectations range, however was quick to realize this was not the case. The location is in convenient civic district in downtown L.A which is a easy 10 min walk to the civic subway station (farely safe walk as well) since you walk pass the LA police station and townhall. So from there it's about a 20min train ride to Hollywood. Also close to Chinatown and Japan town and the rear of the hotel has a nice little Japanese grocery store as well as 10+ Japanese restaurants. The hotel only has free wifi in the lobby otherwise ($10 p/day) and amenities are limited ie. soap, shampoo is about all. The minibar was also empty which was confusing.. On the plus side staff were friendly, gym was nice and you get a free cookie on arrival!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Hello cbsam, I am very sorry that your stay was not to your expectations, I would like to speak with you offline if you would please contact me at orlando.salazar@hilton.com so we can discuss your stay further.

I look forward to hearing back from you

Hospitably,

Orlando Salazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I selected this standard Doubletree property for its proximity to my client in downtown LA and don't have much great or bad feedback to share unfortunately. A very standard Doubletree property with expected amenities and a clean property.

I would rather stay outside of the downtown area but traffic is such a nightmare in LA that it takes 2 hours to get into town from LAX area hotels during rush hour - both directions...

Valet parking is the only option here I believe and as would be expected it is very expensive - I think it was around $35 per day. One other negative thing was that the valet parking attendants (one of the two who drove the car during my stay) managed to lose the "clicker" from my rental car keys...very inconvenient and careless I felt. It also took a good 10 minutes to retrieve your car so it is necessary to call ahead.

The only other complaint...I was on an executive level floor and there was NO wifi signal the entire 2 day stay. Could be I was too far from the lobby area...

Anyway not great but not bad and definitely an affordable if predictable option for downtown LA....after checking out of this hotel, I drove to San Diego and checked into another Doubletree there...review on that property coming next.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caugh51654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

hello Caugh5164, thank you for your feedback about your stay at my hotel, I am sorry that we were not able to exceed your expectations. We strive to be more than your traditional "cookie cutter" hotel.

I did want to advise you that we do offer our patrons self parking at $30.00 per day with unlimited in/out privileges. I will also have our wifi provider take a look at the connections on the top level as we normally do not have any issues with this.

Should your travels bring you back to Los Angeles, please consider staying with us again; I will personally see to it that your stay exceeds your expectations. Please feel free to contact me at Orlando.Salazar@hilton.com

Hospitably,

Orlando Salazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Clean rooms and great customer service. If you are flying to LAX you can take the Flyaway shuttle for $7.00 then call the hotel to pick you up from Union Station for free. Little Tokyo is right around the corner. Great spots to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view facing little Tokyo. You can't see little Tokyo but the city vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 363Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Hello 363Daisy, thank you for your feedback about your most recent stay with us. I was very happy to read that we were able to meet many of your expectations with our offerings and hotels.

Should your travels bring you back to Los Angeles, I do trust that you will continue to choose DoubleTree by Hilton Los Angeles Downtown

Orlando Salazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,201 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#52 of 355 in Los Angeles
741 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#62 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,325 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown

Address: 120 South Los Angeles Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3724 (Formerly Kyoto Grand Hotel and Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#37 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#40 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $197 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Little Tokyo and less than half a mile from LA Live, our Downtown Los Angeles hotel features a beautiful rooftop garden and renovated accommodations with stunning skyline views. Each guest room, furnished with sophisticated Asian-fusion décor, features a work desk with basic Internet access, plush bedding, and a 42-inch LCD HDTV. Upgrade to a suite for a touch of indulgence and extra space with special amenities including a soothing whirlpool bath, sofa bed, and dining area. Additional on-property amenities include a 24-hour business center, a 24-hour fitness center, and dining options. With over 12,000 square feet of space, 14 meeting rooms, two ballrooms, and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment, planning a corporate seminar or holiday party is simple. Or, host a stunning wedding at Kyoto Gardens, our Japanese rooftop garden complete with cascading waterfalls, tranquil ponds, and downtown skyline views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Grand Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing