We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, Caring Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Ranked #58 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Kingstown Rhode Island
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Caring Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

As a meeting planner I brought a group of 500 to this hotel. The staff was not only ready for us but served us very well. They went out of their way to cater to our specific needs throughout the four day conference and extended the courtesies while many of us were not able to get home due to the Storm Sandy! The food and prices were everyone's liking. The area of Little Tokyo was just around the corner. I had a modest suite which was perfect for what I had to accomplish during our time in house. The lobby was great for impromptu meetings and gatherings.

Room Tip: Rooms were sunny whatever side of the building you chose
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hscheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    698
    324
    153
    71
See reviews for
387
433
176
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

i stayed here during a long trip, it is being changed from kyoto hotel to double tree, it has the best European breakfast in U.S., it is near to city center. i stayed here during a long trip, it is being changed from kyoto hotel to double tree, it has the best European breakfast in U.S., it is near to city center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UGUR A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Once we knew our way around this was a good base for Downtown LA. we did stray into some less desirable areas though so beware. There were few restaurants within walking distance so we ate in the hotel or at Starbucks which is on the premises. That said, the room was clean and comfortable though a little shabby. However it was excellent value for the price we paid. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend to attend a family wedding at Vibiana. The hotel is in a great location and is accessible by SuperShuttle from LAX for $16 pp. The front staff was quite helpful, but oddly had little knowledge of the surrounding area. Otherwise, the hotel itself now has all of the Hilton branding and features, but has tried to keep the Kyoto Grand vintage. Good rate as well for the wedding guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmrgt03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for recent business trip. Few blocks toward downtown is seedy. Right next to little Tokyo so good food spots. For being so far from downtown crazy parking rates. 30 a day. The ads of the second floor garden are overrated if you have been to any other Japanese garden.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jf005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallisellen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We choosed this hotel for our two days in Los Angeles. First we had an old room facing the main street on a lower floor. After checking with the reception we could change in to a lovely new room on a high floor with a view of downtown Los Angeles. The room was perfect! Only the bathroom was too small.

The staff was always friendly and helpful. The only bad thing was the expensive parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabi_na90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell L, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for the feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. FYI - ALL the rooms will be completely renovated by the end of November 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Close to Japantown.
My room on the 8th floor was very clean and nice.
It is located only about 10 minutes from downtown LA and minutes to Japantown.
The rooms were spacious with lots of extra amenities that you can't find in other hotel rooms.
The front desk staff were very courteous and informative.
It's in walking distance to Japanese Memorial museum and Japantown..
My package included free breakfast for two and free parking and free internet.

Room Tip: Best Breakfast Service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay_NorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell L, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We're very glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#52 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#57 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#36 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Address: 120 South Los Angeles Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3724 (Formerly Kyoto Grand Hotel and Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Little Tokyo and less than half a mile from LA Live, our Downtown Los Angeles hotel features a beautiful rooftop garden and renovated accommodations with stunning skyline views. Each guest room, furnished with sophisticated Asian-fusion décor, features a work desk with basic Internet access, plush bedding, and a 42-inch LCD HDTV. Upgrade to a suite for a touch of indulgence and extra space with special amenities including a soothing whirlpool bath, sofa bed, and dining area. Additional on-property amenities include a 24-hour business center, a 24-hour fitness center, and dining options. With over 12,000 square feet of space, 14 meeting rooms, two ballrooms, and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment, planning a corporate seminar or holiday party is simple. Or, host a stunning wedding at Kyoto Gardens, our Japanese rooftop garden complete with cascading waterfalls, tranquil ponds, and downtown skyline views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Grand Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing