We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under Construction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Ranked #61 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 4, 2012

As of March, 2012, the hotel wwas under construction awaiting their Doubletree flagship. In spite of the disruptions, I found the staff to be quite helpful, informative about the area, and generally nice people trying to do their job well.

Rooms are so-so, but I expect when construction is complete, they will be spectacular based on the story board in the lobby. The lobby living room, is quite large, offering many places to sit and people watch. The bar has all the appropriate well drinks, beer, wine and plasma screens offering up a multitude of sports.

The hotel offers a shuttle service for the immediate downtown area which I took full advantage of. And outside the doors of the hotel is a Starbucks for those who cannot do without.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell L, Director of Revenue at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for the great feedback. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,429 - 1,435 of 2,100 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

The lobby is big with a big bar.
The floors have a strange floor plan.
The rooms are standard, clean and have the typical modern amenities.
I didn't have any issues at all during my brief stay and I would have no problem recommending this hotel to interested parties.
An interesting note would be the amount of weddings this place holds seems constant!

Room Tip: Know what direction you want a view of before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crash89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell L, Director of Revenue at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for the review. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Key card system was not working so we had to be escorted to our room everyone we left. Our bathtub backed up at 1 am with water bubbling into the tub. It would have overflown if we hadn't been awake. Had to go down to the desk twice bc there was answer when we called. Maintenance had to come snake the drain. The bathroom door didn't close. Bathroom was small but room was big. Bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph6032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell L, Director of Revenue at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

I’m sorry you experienced issues with the plumbing and the keycards. We know both these items are an issue, and can be frustrating, and we’re fixing the problem in the renovation. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were not planning to stay here but we were attending a wedding and was told that the couple will incur extra charges if the reserved rooms were not booked by the guests
We did not enjoy our stay in this hotel at all. The place is dated and needs some serious upgrades. The room is small, not too clean and the plumbings are awful. The bathroom sink faucet was leaking and the shower has no pressure at all.
The ice machine in our floor was broken and I asked room service if they can bring us ice. I was told to go to the other floors to get ice ( we were in floor 14 and was told to go down to the 12th or 16th floor otherwise they will charge us for bringing us ice.
Seriously????
Anway my husband went down to 12th floor and the machine there was not working either and he had to climb up the 16th floor.
It's your machine that is faulty, so your guests should not have to pay for something you should be providing.
Staff were somewhat friendly but not that helpful. Looks like Doubletree has some work cut out for them. Not just the building but also in customer service. We would not stay here again nor will we recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room 1403- bad plumbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell L, Director of Revenue at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

I apologize you had some difficulties during your stay. You might have noticed we are in the process of a multimillion dollar renovation and we’re addressing every issue you mention in your review. Thank you for your feedback and please know we’re addressing your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Excited to know that "Thursday Night Vibe" is returning. My wife and I enjoyed the series and purchased ticket to several of the shows. We love the atmosphere in the gardens. Good looking out Kyoto! We were sadden when we called the Kyoto to learned the vibe series was over. The only part that is missing with the Vibe is Kyoto needs to post a calendar so we can purchase tickets in advance to beat the crowd.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell L, Director of Revenue at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

We’re excited about having ‘Thursday Night Vibe’ back too! We’re looking forward to many happy Thursday’s with you and yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Checked-in past midnight. Front desk was amazingly receptive, courteous, & friendly for a 2am check-in. Room was exactly as requested, clean, value was substantial, and location is ideal, especially if you've got business in downtown L.A. Would definitely stay again. Would recommend to family & friends without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opineTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell L, Director of Revenue at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Nice hotel situated near some excellent Japanese places to eat and a Starbucks next door. Don't do as we did and try to walk down la street for somewhere else for breakfast. There isn't anywhere else close by. La street was recommended by staff for clothes shopping. Hubby and I walked,or should I say goose stepped as fast as we could to get to a nicer area. Awful place,at least in our eyes and we are well travelled. This street made us feel unsafe. Rubbish,urine and beggars abound in this strip. The clothes all appear to be mostly cheap rubbish.There may be great shops there but we just felt unsafe and cut a right up 7 th towards Macy's. On the way I asked two police about if it was safe or not for tourists. They said no.

Back to the hotel review,beds were comfy,nice sheets,clean. Shower very dated,think pink tiles,50s or 60s? Noise from traffic did diminish so we could sleep with the aid of earplugs. Staff kindly allowed us to check out 2 hours after normal check out.

Room Tip: Please ignore swimming pool and spa ratings, my iPad won't let me adjust values to n/a.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saltpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell L, Director of Revenue at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thanks for the great feedback. I believe the Concierge was trying to direct you to the “Fashion District”, which IS great shopping. http://fashiondistrict.org/ I will make sure the Front Desk and the Concierge are giving good and safe directions to this fun shopping spot. Thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,197 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#50 of 355 in Los Angeles
737 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#62 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,314 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#102 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown

Address: 120 South Los Angeles Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3724 (Formerly Kyoto Grand Hotel and Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#37 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $192 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Little Tokyo and less than half a mile from LA Live, our Downtown Los Angeles hotel features a beautiful rooftop garden and renovated accommodations with stunning skyline views. Each guest room, furnished with sophisticated Asian-fusion décor, features a work desk with basic Internet access, plush bedding, and a 42-inch LCD HDTV. Upgrade to a suite for a touch of indulgence and extra space with special amenities including a soothing whirlpool bath, sofa bed, and dining area. Additional on-property amenities include a 24-hour business center, a 24-hour fitness center, and dining options. With over 12,000 square feet of space, 14 meeting rooms, two ballrooms, and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment, planning a corporate seminar or holiday party is simple. Or, host a stunning wedding at Kyoto Gardens, our Japanese rooftop garden complete with cascading waterfalls, tranquil ponds, and downtown skyline views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Grand Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing