We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel - needs upkeep.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Ranked #123 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Pacifica
Level Contributor
212 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel - needs upkeep.”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were greeted in a friendly enough way, given a room that was 'clean' - the beds were nice, fresh sheets, smelled fine. One could tell it was freshly painted (but not patched). The carpet was worn and I wondered how dirty it was. Overall, it was fine. we expected the sirens and noice. I was a little shocked to come home on the second night to a dying swarm of ants in the bathtub (broken sewer line?). We called, they came, but didn't use any disinfectant cleaning up - they just swept it up, not even an I'm sorry. We stayed another night after that so one would have thought a manager might at least check in. The next night, just a couple of winged ants. Icky. I've stayed in worse ... I get the impression they really are trying, but... um... icky.

Room Tip: Choose a room as far away from the sirens (three medical facilities nearby) as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    453
    394
    89
    68
See reviews for
286
427
91
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SACRAMENTO
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Located in East Hollywood between Highway 101 and I-5, with easy access to the freeways, you couldn’t ask for a better location. The price is very competitive (about half) compared to other, more popular locations (West Hollywood, Santa Monica, etc.); and there is adequate free parking. The room we had was clean, quiet and a bit small. The internet connection was easy to use, but the signal was weak. As with many Travelodges, the continental breakfast was minimal but can get you going in the early morning hours. There are large Denny’s Restaurants within a mile or two. The restaurant located on the property, that was advertised on the web-site wasn’t open, but a new, great little Thai restaurant opened up almost next door. Close to the motel, there are a lot of restaurants, nice shops, drug stores, and hospitals. Even with the afternoon, check-in attendant with an attitude (like many in Hollywood, was young, and probably thought he was going to be the next Rock Hudson), we will be sure to include this motel in our future, business travel plans.

Room Tip: The rooms farthest from the street are likely to be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ValleyPrimrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The motel is well priced and the staff were very helpful, booking all the tours/activities we wanted to do. Downside is that after the cleaners come through the smell of disinfectant was quite strong, but with the windows open it soon went away. And even though we were in a non smoking room we could still smell smoke

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great location with free parking, and less than 1 block from a metro station. It's a cheap hotel so it's run down and dirty. Beds are ok, and the sheets were clean and there were no bedbugs so at least you could get a decent night's sleep and spend the day sightseeing. Free wifi (but slow), and a very basic breakfast buffet to boot. Fridge, microwave and coffeemaker in the room, which is more than some of the higher end hotels offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxxMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The guy on the counter was lovely and helpful with giving us directions. The room was nice... The only small issue we had was we never got a wake up call when we asked for one. But the ladies cleaning the room automatically changed the clock over for the end of daylight savings, so we weren't put out too much. Definitely recommending this place to other people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amzairly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#109 of 351 in Los Angeles
667 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#43 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,441 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#65 of 351 in Los Angeles
929 reviews
Harbor
Rodeway Inn & Suites Pacific Coast Highway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Property: Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Address: 1401 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-6023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset Hotel Los Angeles
Travelodge Los Angeles
Travel Lodge Los Angeles
Los Angeles Travel Lodge
Los Angeles Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing